We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lahaina Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lahaina Inn
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My boyfriend and stayed here for one night. It is a pretty interesing place to stay and has a lot of history. The hotel is exactly what we imagine the Eagles' song Hotel California would be. I was waiting to see a ghost... anyways, great location!!! Right in the heart of downtown Lahaina. You could walk to all the shops and restaurants right there. There are no elevators, so we had to lug our bags up to the room. The room was prety small and there really isn't much privacy. The patio was in the back near the parking lot and very early in the morning, its very noisy with tash trucks and gardeners. The hardwood floor was super sticky and we did NOT like walking around barefoot. We kept our flip flops on at all times except for in bed. Still at times, we thought our feet were going to slip out of flip flops because they just wanted to stick to the floor. Overall, it was okay. We would stay again if we had to for a couple days, but would rather try other hotels in the aea.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    65
    47
    28
    23
See reviews for
13
113
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Yes, the location was convenient and easy, but the next trip I will find another accomodation. There were little ants all over the chest of drawers, the wood floors appeared not to have been cleaned or buffed in years, the bathroom could have been better maintained and cleaned, the shower molding around the glass was falling out, the bathroom shelf between the mirror and sink was shifty and ditched items into the sink if set off balance. Supposedly the Royal Lahaina Resort either owns or is affiliated with this place. The inn has boutique qualities, but these little nuances bring it down. 2 of 3 staff encountered were awesome and helpful, the other was not wanting to be there and showed it, which was odd, because the front desk attendent hours were very limited for this establishment. The inn has great potential, it just needs more care and attention.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAR_INTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Lahaina Inn at the tail in of our stay on Maui. This property has lots of character and is centrally located in downtown Lahaina.

The check in process was painfully slow for reasons I could not comprehend. There is a charge for parking and the parking lot is located a short walk down from the hotel. They still use real room keys and tell you that its a $100.00 charge if you lose it!

Finding parking near the hotel can be challenging. The rooms are located upstairs from the lobby, and there is no elevator. This makes for a good workout if you have heavy bags! The rooms are tiny but clean. This is a very old property and the decor reflects that. The beds are not Starwood or Marriott class, but better than expected. Our room had a covered balcony overlooking the street and had a view of the ocean to the right. This allowed us to see and hear the evening sounds of downtown Lahaina which are abundant.

The room is not the quitest, the walls are thin, and we were awakened by the sounds of garbage and delivery trucks each morning. The rooms are well air conditioned, and the fans make white noise cancelling out some of the exterior noise of downtown. There are few amenities, but staying at this property is about location, location, location. The famous Lahaina Grill restaurant is located on the first floor.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the Hotel if you are looking for street action. The rooms at the back loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BruceS911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

It's in a perfect location. Well worth the price. I loved the real keys you get and the porch rocking chairs. Best part is, we paid a 1/4 of the price as their sister resort goers and got use all of the same amenities!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smsmsm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel was in a perfect location. We walked to our luau and beaches. Don't miss the banyan tree and the Buddha statue that is close. The hotel rooms are somewhat small, but have beautiful balconys with ocean views. Very clean and comfy bed. Great place to lay your head.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I always try to look for the positive first in my experiences... and there are lots of positives about this place. There are, unfortunately, some pretty big opportunities for improvement as well. The pros: the location can't be beat! This hotel is right in the center of the bustling tourist town of Lahaina. Surrounded by fun bars and restaurants, and the surf roaring just across the street, you really can't find a more prime location to stay as a tourist. The architecture is gorgeous... dark wood and a regal staircase greet you. All rooms are on the second floor and there is no elevator... so for some it's a challenge with larger luggage, however, I enjoy the exercise. The rooms are small by American standards, but really very cute, with the "ocean view" rooms boasting lovely balconies with rocking chairs overlooking the side street off of Front Street. The slat blinds provide good protection from the heat and provide more than adequate privacy. The cons: I can overlook a lot if the hotel bed is comfortable. This one is not so great. And that's being very generous. I see this has been addressed in other reviews. The sticky floor is also a little disconcerting. Cleanliness in the bathroom could be improved around the shower area. Wifi is $9.95 per day. To me, given the size and condition of the rooms, this is a bitter pill. Free wifi would be one of the perks that would make some of the other shortcomings far more manageable. We decided to park on the street 2 blocks away to avoid the $15 per day charge. The noise in the morning from the garbage and delivery trucks is really frustrating, but truly short-lived as long as you're tired enough to fall back to sleep. None of these things are absolute deal breakers for me, especially in a surf town with limited accommodation options, however, I might opt to stay a bit further out of town next time if it meant a quieter, far more comfortable sleep. The surf beckoned, though, from my balcony... which overall, makes the Lahaina Inn an attractive, quaint little gem for this beach babe!

Room Tip: The junior suite is apparently the largest room, but doesn't have the ocean-view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babybee236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is charming and is right in the middle of Lahaina! Rooms here are quite small, but each has a lanai with rocking chairs where it's great to hang out and watch the action in Lahaina. Best regular room is #7; be sure to reserve a room on the street side...provides a great ocean view, too. If you want to spend a little more, ask for the Makai room...it's bigger and has a bigger bed. Also, bring earplugs. The street is pretty noisy in the morning. One caution...the desk is not staffed after 7pm or on weekends...plan for this when you plan your check in time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.0 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 31 in Lahaina
3.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aina Nalu
Aina Nalu
#22 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
8.1 mi away
Napili Shores
Napili Shores
#19 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Lahaina House
Old Lahaina House
#7 of 13 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Inn

Property: Lahaina Inn
Address: 127 Lahainaluna Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lahaina Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique inn was recently remodeled and is situated in the heart of historic Lahaina Town. Just off of Front Street guests enjoy easy access to the many local restaurants, bars, art galleries, shops, historical sites, and Lahaina Harbor. Lahaina Inn guests enjoy complimentary shuttle services to Kaanapali Beach and full access to the resort amenities and prime beachfront location at Lahaina Inn's sister property- the Royal Lahaina Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lahaina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Inn Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing