We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Below expectations”
Reviewed July 22, 2005

Not what we expected. The room was not ready upon arrival and after waiting to check in, we found out our type of room (king bed) was not available even though we'd made the reservation a year in advance. The staff must be overworked; when we got to the room, the prior occupant's half-eaten breakfast was still outside the door. We were able to change to another room the next day, but were disappointed in the overall condition -- soiled and stained carpeting in the room. The Sheraton's web site advertises a "stay at one, play at all" promotion that listed use of the nearby Westin's pool. After we walked down to the Westin, we found out that policy was changed the first of the month and were told that Starwood "really should update their web page". The daily resort fee left us feeling that we were being "nickled and dimed" from the start. On a brighter side, it's an awesome location and beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,839
    1,471
    597
    239
    166
See reviews for
1,034
2,293
66
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,061)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2005

My husband & I stayed for five nights at the Sheraton Maui. I purchased way in advance (8 mths) our Deluxe Ocean Front room and it came w/ a convertible car. We paid less than $400.00 a night.

Upon arrival we were greeted w/ flower leis and given our room keys. Our room was located in building six overlooking the Black Rock & outer islands. It was very secluded and quiet I might add.

Due to the prices, we never ate at the hotel but did have cocktails there. I recommend CJ's Deli for yummy food. We ate there twice and it was good both times. It's quite close too so be sure to ask for directions. We ate breakfast twice at Cheeseburger in Paradise and it was very good. Gotta try the Macadamia Nut Pancakes or Eggs Benedict (w/ potatoes!)

The first two nights we missed the lighting of the torches and dive mostly because it didn't sound like that big of a deal. Wrong. It was beautiful w/ tradition and we made a point to catch it the rest of the time we were there. Get to the pool area about 30 min before the ceremony so you can relax and really enjoy it. For those who enjoy adult frou-frou cocktails - I highly recommend the Lava Flow; they are a tad expensive and light on the liquor but ask for an extra shot of 151 and they'll take care of you w/ a smile.

We snorkeled one day and rented our equip. from Boss Frog's next to Bad Ass Coffee just a short drive from the hotel. The hotel wanted around $9 for the day; Boss Frog's was $1.50.

Only a few minor issues ocurred. One was the Wireless Internet that did not work for two days and a Cafe au Lait at their 'coffee bar' was $3.00.

Everyone was very nice at the hotel and no one tried selling us anything. We had a romantic time and look forward to going again some day.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MommyofTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2005

Our family of four, including boys 12 & 16, stayed at the Sheraton Maui July 6 - 10 and found it to be very nice. We were in the central building facing the pool and ocean (an oceanview room) and that location was perfect. We could be at the pool w/o elevators in 60 seconds. This resort has the best location on Kaanappali beach since it does not share a neighbor to the North. Black Rock is beautful and the snorkeling right on the beach is good. We swam w/ a huge sea turtle two days in a row! The resort itself is a beautiful setting and the pool is above average though not as awesome as the Westin next door. The deluxe oceanview room we stayed in was fine...clean...functional, etc. You ARE paying for the location, location, location staying at a resort like this. Don't expect a luxury suite for $350 a night like you'd get at home where you live. Do expect a beautiful facility, a very nice pool, a terrific beach, and a convenient location just 5 minutes from Lahainia to the South. Unlike other reviewers, we had zero pressure for timeshares or any other sales-related options and the staff was friendly and competent. The resort was not overly crowded when we were there...but certainly there's a lot of people around the pool...don't be unrealistic...it IS a resort after all! In Lahainia, we loved Cheeseburger in Paradise as a fun family place but at BJs Pizza had a HUGE wait for pizza that wasn't close to being worth it. If we return to Maui, I would be happy to stay at the Sheraton Maui.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank EricMedina_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 21, 2005

We stayed here for our honeymoon during July. It seems that we experienced the same poor service and amenities that others are reporting. The employees and management are a joke.

The internet in the rooms does NOT work and they would not admit it. Instead we moved our room 3 (THREE) times to try another internet connection only to find out it wouldn't work anywhere in the hotel.

The rooms in Building 6 (Luxury Oceanfront) are filthy and disgusting for over $400 a night.

Our A/C broke down and a maintenance person spent 3 hours trying to fix it from 9pm until after midnight...only to say it was over his head. Then the front desk could not move us because they had no other rooms. (A/C's were broken all over the place). We had to try to sleep in the 90+ degree room for close to $500 that night. All that management offered was a free breakfast (wow $40).

Needless to say, this property RUINED our honeymoon on Maui...I would select the Hyatt or another hotel on Kannapali before even thinking about this property!!! BUYER BEWARE...

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2005

Just returned from our stay here. Had to wait 2 hours to be checked into our room (the room was supposedly not ready and we were being "upgraded.") Room itself was very nice (ocean view of Molokai in building 6--on top of Black Rock), except for the smelly toilet!!! It constantly smelled of the sewer! Absolutely nasty. It was nice that the toilet had its own room (a true WC), but there was no fan to air out the smell. You can tell the room had been remodeled, but it was already falling into disrepair. We were on the first floor, so we encountered a few bugs in our room, including small roaches, moths, ants, and other creatures. There was a small lizard in our room, too, but this is all part of staying in Hawaii (believe me, I've seen worse in the Hilton Waikoloa Village at the Big Island). The resort itself, though, is fabulous. The best location on Kaanapali Beach--the beach is widest here, and is so clean and beautiful. Further south is much more crowded. I stayed in the Westin in Sept. '04, and I would rather come back to the Sheraton. The room is much bigger and quieter. If it weren't for the toilet issue, I would have rated this hotel higher.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lawahoo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We stayed 10 nights at the Sheraton Black Rock and we loved it. Our room view was absolutely gorgeous in Bldg 3 on the 3rd floor, in the middle. We could hear the music at night, see the nighly dive, the pool, birds, palm trees, it was beautiful. The hotel had upgraded us to one of the rooms on the Black Rock, but we didn't like this at all. Took three elevators to get downstairs (really). And there is no view at all except water!! Love ocean, but need palm trees, lights, life. Pitch black view at night. So they moved us after our first night. Hotel staff was very accommodating. The restaurant had buffet breakfast and buffet dinner. Very good, and we loved eating outside. Waiters all so friendly. The hotel was open and NOT crowded. All the other hotels down the walkway to Whaler's Village are on much smaller property and all CROWDED. Snorkeling is fabulous and we saw turtles. Big B I G turtles. Amazing. Grandkids loved it and will never forget it. Tennis courts that no one uses except us. Room service food is fabulous, but very expensive. Parking couldn't be easier from Bldg. 3. Loved hotel and would love to go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2005

This was our sixth visit staying at the Sheraton Maui, once before the tear down and remodel ten or so years ago and five time since. I am SPG Gold but no room upgrade - we booked Oceanview and got it.

We were in building 4 and feel that - short of a suite - it's the best location in the resort. You're convenient to the pool and ocean, and a quick walk to the parking lot past the tennis courts. Thanks to an earlier reviewer for the tip that first day's valet is complimentary. Take advantage of it, particularly if you're just coming in from a Mainland flight.

The room is unbelievably small. We didn't care because we weren't there much, but they are tiny!

Greeting and check-in were great, Lei greetings and helpful staff. The room has an open fridge and, other than the obligatory $5 bottles of water, was free of high priced food traps. WiFi didn't work well but we could get a limited signal; room had a wired connection that worked about 75% of the time.

We came here from Kauai, and immediately noticed the change in the staff and the guests - no eye contact and very little interaction that we didn't initiate. If you're from Southern California, you'll be very much at home here. If you talked to a fellow guest about where they were from, it was almost always Marin, Oakland, Orange, Riverside, or LA county.

Ditto the other comments about guests getting up at the crack of dawn to secure a shaded pool chair. We were out at the pool around 9 or so and managed to find a spot but the choices were very limited after this. We knew better than to eat at the hotel's restuarants since no food was included in our package (we had a convertable car packaged with the room). Since our flight left late, we checked with Dollar about how much more we would have to pay for a couple hours that weren't included in the room package. First hour was $25 (acceptible), 61 minutes or longer less than a day is $76 plus all the airport charges (not acceptible). No budging on this, so we checked our bags early and traded Dollar for Hertz ($42 for 3 hours of a car, but just not giving any money to Dollar was worth it).

We knew where the fitness center was, but it's tough to locate for new guests (2 or 3 elevator rides) and it is thankfully open 24 hours. The equipment is in bad need of repair and looks horrible. The elliptical machine's electronics and resistance didn't work at all. Hello Sheraton, if you're going to charge us a "resort fee" and tell us that it includes this, how about popping for some maintenance?

As others have said, the Timeshare ("Sheraton Vacations") were located where you were forced to walk by their desk to go anywhere from building 4. Although they weren't obnoxious other than the fake smile and "Aloha" when you walk by, come on, Sheraton. Give us a break from this junk. There were two luaus going on both nights and we could see as much as any guest (more than we wanted to see) from our room.

The Sheraton had always had a great fireworks show, and that was one of the reasons for staying there over the 4th (because of our past experience). We were disappointed to find that they discontinued this, starting this year. Lahaina had a great show that was visible after a walk down the beach.

The coolest side trip we took was with Kahi Sindiong - he operates Ekahi Hawaiian Canoes at the end of the walkway (the other end of Kaanapali Beach away from the Sheraton). He charged us $50 a couple for to paddle along in an authentic Hawaiian outrigger racing canoe, complete with Hawaiian sea-turtles and great scenery. Find him if you can, you won't regret it.

Best food on Maui is still Mama's Fish House. It's an hour ride from the Sheraton and worth every mile. They have lunch and dinner - we made it to one of each. There is a Roy's up the road to the left and in Kihei / Wailea that would be second choices to Mamas. Also great food and service at Ruth's Chris in Wailea, Good experience at Lelanis, so-so exeperience at Kimos in Lahaina, poor experience at Rusty Harpoon, and a bad experience at Bubba Gumps.

Our flight was much later than the checkout, and the hotel offered us 1 pm checkout and access to the fitness center facilities after that (showers and towels are already there). No recognition of SPG Elite status. Bottom line, this is likely to be our final stay at The Sheraton Maui. Sad, because the property is in a great location and is well maintained. Fix the fitness center, train the staff, dump the Timeshare scum, and recognize your loyal guests. You've just lost one of them.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank RussMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.4 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Property: Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing