We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
Steamboat Springs, CO
378
Reviewed May 23, 2005

This hotel is absolutely lovely. From the moment we pulled up in the rental car and were greeted with orchid leis to the checkout, our experience here was great. We were upgraded upon check-in (Starwood member) to an ocean view in Bldg #3 and the view was like a postcard. Nice size room close to lobby with large bath, the new Sheraton "Sweet Sleep" beds, nice (high threadcount) sheets and good size patio. It was relatively quiet while we were there (5 night stay), so we did not encounter any cruise ship folks on the beach. Spent one day snorkeling around Black Rock, walked to Whaler's Village for dining & shopping and had an all around excellent experience. The location of this hotel was great and the staff were top notch. As someone who has worked in the hotel and resort industry, I give the Sheraton Maui a big thumbs up and hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,059 - 4,065 of 4,460 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Menlo Park
111
Reviewed May 22, 2005

My wife and I just returned from four nights at the Sheraton. The hotel is nice, in a good location. It is also great that you can use the pool at the Westin. The level of service is downright horrible. The first time I heard a "thank you" was at checkout. At one point we had to go to the front desk, while in mid conversation, the lady at the front desk answered a ringing phone...the only problem was she did not say anything to us, just answered the phone. Then she proceeded to talk on the phone for a few minutes while we waited for her to hang up, and then there was no sorry or excuse me...At the pool, they try to sell you on the cabana's or chairs on the beach, when we told the pool attendant we weren't interested, we practically had to beg for towels. They try to nickel and dime you for everthing at the resort. We did not eat at the hotel as the menu's were very overpriced. Also, upon checkin, they upgraded us to an "ocean view" room, which sounded nice, but every room at the resort is ocean view so making a big deal about the upgrade was not necessary. For about the same price, just over $300 a night, check out the two resorts in Lanai, they treat you like royalty.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, Canada
113
Reviewed May 17, 2005

We spent a week at the Sheraton. Yes, it is a nice hotel but a few things put a sour taste on the trip. The big one was that the Sheraton allows cruise ships to use the beach so you get this influx of people who spent a few hours on the beach and left it looking like a pig stye! right beside our beach chairs some people left about 20 cigarette butts in the sand as well as garbage. Really low class I thought! The other was that they charge you for absolutely EVERYTHING! Don't think that the coffee and paper is complimentary, it isn't. As well as the chairs at the beach or umbrellas, everything has a high rental cost to it. The food was good but EVERY meal came to $50.00 for 2 people at the hotel! No, it was ok to go once but with the better deals of the all inclusives in the Mayan Riviera, we would suggest to go to Mexico! Oh, and if you don't like Mexico because of the "timeshare" sellers, don't kid yourself....they do it at the Sheraton as well........

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis, MN
232
Reviewed May 12, 2005

We stayed at the KBH for the first 5 days of our Honeymoon, then I had reservations at the Hyatt, Westin, KBH, and Sheraton for our last 2 days. The first morning in Kaanapali (after spending the night at the KBH), we walked through all of these resorts and requested to look at our potential rooms. We ended up choosing the Sheraton. I had booked an oceanfront room, but was upgraded to Deluxe Oceanfront being a SPG Gold member. It was an awesome room, on top of the black rock. We could sit on the balcony and look down into the ocean and watch snorkelers and sea turtles.

Pros: Best Location in Kaanapali beach. Beautiful relaxing grounds, not too centered on upscale shopping like the Hyatt. Awesome rooms and amenities.
Shared pool access with the Westin. Could charge at the Westin back to our room at the Sheraton. We actually preferred the Westin pool, so we spent a decent amount of time there.

Cons: Long walk to our deluxe room, had to go up 3 separate elevators to get there from the pool. Expensive room service and drinks.

The only other hotel I can truly compare the Sheraton to is the Kaanapali Beach Hotel. If youre looking to save some money, stay at the KBH. If youre willing to splurge a little, stay at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Maui for 6 days in April and it was perfect. When we arrived we were greeted with leis and they immediately gave us a double upgrade without us having to ask. We had reserved a garden view room and ended up with an ocean view. The staff was attentive and courteous. Fellow guests were polite - rooms were nicely appointed and quiet - and the pools were beautiful. The location of the Sheraton is awesme - one of the best snorkeling locations on Maui is right off shore at Black Rock. And the torch lit walk to Whaler's Village and the other resorts is a beautiful backdrop for the impressive sunsets. We didn't try the restaurant, but the poolside grill/bar was good. The hotel has a very imprssive collection of koi - and when you walked alongside the pools they would follow you! The gym had cardio and universal equipment - but no freeweights that I remember - it did have showers though which was nice. The only 2 things I would critique are: 1. on some days, there were not enough lounge chairs by the pool, and guests tended to "claim" chairs with wet towels and sometimes not return to use them. 2. while self parking was easy (and free!) there were a limited number of spots in our lot and we returned from a luau at 11 one night to find it full. But this was still one of the best hotel stays we've ever experienced and we will definitely go back with high expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Yvette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2005

We just returned from a week staying at the Sheraton Maui. The reviews here are mostly good and that's accurate. I had to register to post because I can't think of a single bad thing to say about the resort. The grounds and buildings are just beautiful, I've never stayed anywhere quite like it. Everything was wide open, there really are no "doors" anywhere, ohter than on the guest rooms. Breezes blew thru the lobby and all of the hallways. Even the elevator lobby areas were open to outside with beautiful tropical wicker type furniture. The grounds were paradise. The Sheraton really has a lot of land and is spread out...which we found to be a good thing. Walkways and tiki torches, greenery, flowers, palm trees, koi ponds, pools, waterfalls, lazy rivers...it all runs throughout the area. We walked down to the Westin one day to check it out...and while it is beautiful and the pools are something to see, we chose NOT to spend any time there. The buildings were darker and more closed off. They felt less tropical. Around every corner, Westin is trying to sell you on your next vacation with them in any and every state, plus they hit you up for timeshares. Also, the Westin is formed in a U-shape open to the ocean, so they are limited on space. Their pool area is crammed in and as one other poster noted, it's very LOUD at the Westin, with kids playing and waterfalls flowing. I know, this is not a Westin review, but I thought a comparison might be helpful to some. We went back "home" to the Sheraton fully glad it was the property we chose.

We got a lei greeting upon arrival and dropped our bags off in our room. They had is in a room with 2 double beds, not what we requested. But, they said to check back in the morning. So, rather than unpack and settle, we headed out to the cabana by the pool for our first Mai Tai. Sure enough, first thing the next morning they moved us to a room on the 5th floor with a king/sweet sleep bed, with a partial ocean view. The rooms are very nice and well kept. The bathroom is large with plenty of counter space for toiletries. It's so nice to be able to set things out and leave them there. The bed and pillows were very comfy.

The Sheraton is in the perfect location, it's beautiful with Black Rock right there and the snorkeling was great. It's also so nice to take the sidewalk path along the ocean to head to Whaler's Village and the restaurants down that way. Hula Grill, Lailani's, etc. Have some HULA PIE at Lailani's!

Also as other reviews have posted, if you're looking for some good meals to save a buck or two, Castaways was great for breakfast. CJ's deli was good for lunch. Maui Taco's was tasty. Dinners were pricey so we tried to save some on other meals.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Drinks the pool are pricey but good. We never had to hunt for a pool chair. And, we did get a late check out at 1PM the day we left, for no extra charge.

I suppose it depends on who you talk to/work with for service...room upgrades or late check outs. But if one person tells you no, I'd say it wouldn't hurt to ask someone else an hour later!

We had a great, laid back, relaxing, wonderful week in PARADISE and I hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank WendyB0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2005

We were married in October 2004 on the other side of Black Rock and stayed at the Sheraton out of convenience. We loved it! Our room was out on Black Rock and had a fantastic view. The room itself was sufficient but not over the top. We sat on the lanai having breakfast and watched numerous turtles swimming by. Beautiful! We snorkled and used the pool, which were both fantastic. Swam with turtles every day! We found the staff to be exceptionally helpful with anything. We had about 40 guests for our wedding and the desk staff helped with welcome bags for all . They were willing to help us in anyway. The staff constantly greeted us whenever they saw us. The bars at the pool were used alot by all of us and were great. Watch out for the Mai Tai'! Very good, still think about them! Had an outdoor massage the day of our wedding and it was wonderful. After our wedding festivities we went on our honeymoon to the island of Lanai and expected the same if not better service at the Manele Bay Hotel but it did not compare to the service at the Sheraton. Also, I had stayed previously at the Maui Westin down the beach and loved their heavenly bed program, their rooms were great, we visited their pool one day this time and found it to be so much louder than the Sheraton. Bigger slide and all but not as relaxing as the Sheratons pool.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank SeattleFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,212 reviews
23.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $323 - $931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing