We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the Sun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
New Hampshire
112
Reviewed January 2, 2005

just got back from 8 days at the Sheraton with out 3 kids. Our room was great overlooking the pool but set way back so as not the be a problem with noise. I was expecting the sweetsleep mattresses but alas I guess they haven't made it as far as Hawaii yet! As mentioned in a prevous post the staff went around and gave you these plastic wristbands to wear showing you were a guest. These really didn't do much to keep away people who weren't guests because we were never asked our names or room numbers when we were given them...just if we were guests or not. Somedays we were given them others not. It was strange. 2 days out of the 8 the Sheraton allowed cruise ships to access the beach in front of the hotel. By 11 a.m. about 200 or so more guests were using the pool and blocking out any access to the beach that guests had! I was pretty upset with this! It was impossible to get any service from waitstaff around the pool, you were better off going to the bar yourself. Breakfast buffett was fantastic with kids eating free. Location was wonderful being right at the end of the hotel strip. Great access to Whalers Village with wonderful shops! Grounds IMPECCIBLE! Rooms OK with very small bathroom with NO fans so putting on makeup after a shower was frustrating. Hotel nice and spread out so you don't feel crowded even though the hotel was to full capacity. Would i stay here again? Probably....

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,069 - 4,075 of 4,441 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2004

Just returned from an eight day stay at the Sheraton Maui - the resort is terrific! Great location, terrific breakfast buffet that will last you until dinner... and great place to snorkel, play tennis or lounge around. Maui is not cheap - so don't expect 1.99 breakfast specials... but, the quality is well worth the extra $. We had spent last year at Kapalua - and Kaanapali (spelling?) beach is better for walking, strolling and running. It is great to be able to walk along the beachwalk - and get to Whaler's Village (great shopping) - plus all the other hotels on the beach - Hyatt, Marriott, Westin - they're all off this beachwalk - and they're all nice as well - but this location for all the hotels is great because you can get into Lahaina fairly well by shuttle (one dollar per person) - or by taxi... the shuttle stops at most of the hotels on the beach strip. Maui is the best - and this area of Lahaina has much to offer.

5  Thank mrscomics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2004

What a beautiful hotel. We visited most of the other hotels and this was by far the prettiest hotel on the west side of Maui. We got a deluxe ocean view room and it was perfect, quiet, clean and nice. We even saw whales out of our balcony. Hotel is well laid out, staff is very friendly, very nice pool, right next to the best beach in Maui and there is lots to do in and near the hotel. You're not stuck eating every meal in the hotel. There's a nice walkway in front of the hotel to the other properties and whaler's village is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Overall an excellent hotel - we were there 12/19 - 12/24 and we'd go back. Also they let you use the hotel facilities (pool, showers, etc.) after you check out in case you have a late flight. So that was very nice since we had to check out @ 11 and our flight wasn't till 11pm. Highly recommend this hotel.

3  Thank barramundi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2004

My Wife and I stayed five nights starting 11/26 and were very happy with almost every aspect of the Sheraton Maui. It's spacious grounds and location on Ka'anapali Beach are the best. It is much less cramped feeling than most of the beach hotels. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We also felt the Terrace restaurant was very good for both the one dinner and lunch we ate there. The room was nothing special for the price, but the king bed was comfortable and everything was in good shape. Will stay there again the next time we are in Maui.

2  Thank Across
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
st louis, mo
19
Reviewed November 29, 2004

Celebrated our 25th aniversary here (oct. 28 - nov. 1) and all we can say is wow!!! Bell staff started everything off with great service. The room was more than we ever expected, ocean front view in build six. There was some rehab going on in one build, but it was empty and closed off, and all work ended by 500pm. i see some people complaining about the walk to the pool and beach, we were just about as far away as you could be and it never took more than 5 minutes to get there, it was a very east walk. the pool/beach staff was friendly and professional. The pool is large with waterfalls and slides, and a great kids area away from the adults.

Didn't use the restaurants at the hotel, we drove into lahaina. Great night life and all the shopping you would ever need. Hard rock cafe, bubba gump shrimp, chesse burger in paradise great places to eat. also mc donalds, pizzahut and taco bell if you have kids with you.

We are planning to return in the next 2 years.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hinsdale, IL
13
Reviewed November 24, 2004

We have stayed at this resort on three separate occasions. As to the quality, this resort ranks high on our list. One must know what they are expecting when they go to Maui. A relaxed, laid back type of vacation. Our first visit three years ago, we had a beautiful room overlooking the ocean. It was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Our next visit one year later, we booked three rooms, and took some friends. Again, accomodations were the same. Then, last year, we went with another couple. Our room was great (garden view), as was our friend's.

My wife and I do travel often, and do expect to find some things that we wish were different. But at the Sheraton Maui Hotel, we would not change a thing. If you are looking for the best beach in Kaanapalli, 5 minutes from Lahaina, at a fair price for a resort, this is the pick.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2004

We stayed here the 2nd week of November 2004. We booked a package deal that included car and came with a $100 hotel credit, which was nice as the restaurants are pricey. Upon check in we were given a garden view room with two double beds in building 3, I asked if we could be given a king. They didn't have anything available but said they would move us the next day. We said fine. Next day, we were moved to a wonderful room on the second floor in building 4 that overlooked the entire beach and ocean. The front desk also gave us two free drink coupons to be used at the two bars located poolside, which we thought was very nice. Our new room was very convenient to pool and beach. We did not expect to be given such a nice room. I have read complaints about bathrooms w/ mold and tired worn furniture and beds but our room was none of those things. The bed was very comfortable.

If you get building 4, the rooms closer to the beach are the nicest. Building 3 faces directly towards the beach but is set back about 100 yards. Rooms ending in odd numbers in bldg 3 are mountain/garden views. Even face the ocean. The higher up the better and the closer toward the beach, the better the views.

We ate at the hotel terrace restaurant once for dinner and once for breakfast. The breakfast was $47/2 persons and was buffet style w/ made to order omlettes. It was not too bad as far as buffets go but a bit over priced. Head up to CJ Deli and Diner on Kekaa Rd, it's a left turn right after The Kaanapali beach hotel as you are heading south toward Lahaina. Best breakfast for the price plus they do box lunches for $10 that come with a cooler, so you can take it to the beach. Really large portions and very good food.

I thought all the staff at the hotel were friendly. I would second the comment about the resort fee. You have to pay for the cabanas and lounge chairs on the beach. $30 for the cabanas and 15 for set of 2 lounge chairs on the beach. At least parking was included. I've stayed at many resorts with the resort fee that did not include parking. The exercise room is also lacking. Needs at least a rack of dumbells. Several exercise bikes, treadmills, stair master but only one set of machine weights. We would stay here again.

11  Thank Toadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,169 reviews
23.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $305 - $782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing