We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location and beautiful beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome location and beautiful beach”
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Our party arrived late at the hotel. Check in was pretty easy, the Aussie valet was extremely nice & very helpful. When we got to our room, the beds looked so inviting until we laid down. But we were so tired it didn't matter until the next couple of nights. The pillows were great but the mattresses were not so. The room was very clean, though, and the bathroom was ok. The refrigerator was sooooo useful... a microwave would have been excellent, but it was only a standard room, so it didn't come with one. The $25 daily resort fee was a bit much but it did provide daily parking and internet access (ok, but sometimes slow to connect). We self parked everyday and I found it funny whenever we dropped off our party in front of the lobby, the valet always welcomingly rushed to open one door but as soon as we told them we were only dropping off, they rushed just as fast to leave!

The spa just opened but we didn't get our massage there. Instead, we went up to the Westin Ocean Resort & Villas. The smell of eucalyptus welcomed us into the relaxation lounge. After our lomi lomi massage, we stayed in the sauna for about 10 minutes and that was just incredible. Starwood gets 10% off so that helped.

The beach was nice, the water was cold, and the best was our daily distant view of humpback whales!!! Snorkeled at Black Rock which was great! Water was pretty cold though and towards the afternoon, the waves were higher which made it a little more difficult. The hotel grounds were nice, the pools were clean but was kind of a bummer when I went to get towels and found out that they don't rent floatation devices (they sold them for $7+).

Overall, the location along Ka'anapli Beach was a great great thing. Distances from other places were short but took a long time to get there because the speed limits were low. That's fine though because you are in Hawaii and the views are not comparable. Can't really point to one best experience in Maui... was it seeing a humpback whale for the very first time breach straight up during a luau (open bar), was it climbing the stairs in magical & spiritual I'ao Valley, was it sitting at Big Beach in Makena with a clear view of Molokini, or was it feeling the cool ocean breeze while watching it graze the hills and mountains at the southern tip of Maui on the back road from Hana??? Too hard to decide.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,858
    1,498
    606
    242
    172
See reviews for
1,059
2,321
68
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,076)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We just got back and loved this Hotel. It was our anniversary so we were upraded from Partial Ocean View to Deluxe Ocean View. The room was large,clean,well maintained and beautifully appointed. The view on the balcony was beautiful-The resort was simply "out of a postcard". They sent us snacks and Champagne on the house to help us celebrate. Heather Yap at the front desk made us feel so welcomed. The pool was very clean and at a nice temperature for swimming-it was like a big lagoon with waterfalls-we liked the hot tub too. The beach was the best on Maui and we swam and snorkelled in the clear water every day. We got a great deal with Daniel at Great Hawaii Vacations for $840 for three nights including taxes and fees and that included breakfast for two daily. We were able to eat any any of the Starwood properties. The Westin had an amazing buffet and we ate there twice-The Sheraton buffet was OK but nothing like The Westin. We did like the Friday dinner buffet at The Sheraton in fact it was my favorite meal of the trip-the buffet server was really nice too. The service at the restaurant was slow and inattentive (but they were nice) it wasnt really up to par with the rest of the resort though. The bed was very comfortable and the huge flat screen TV was great too. The internet never really worked right though. We walked into the other hotels on Kaanapali and the only other one we liked was the Westin which was very upscale though it felt more crowded. The KBH and Hyatt looked run down and I am glad we chose The Sheraton which had a real Hawaiian feel that was elegant yet simple and unpretentious-it was so relaxing. The Sheraton is on the best beach too. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone-We LOVED IT!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Liked location because it is at the "end" of the beach and gets less pedestrian traffic. Grounds were very nice. Food is a little pricey but good.
We really enjoyed out stay here.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucky_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We had a tough time choosing a hotel to start our trip. We were not dissappointed with the Sheraton. Check in at night was quick and friendly. Our room had a superb ocean view on a high floor. Some other feedback on the property; valet parking was used and $25/day, the spa was closed, the walk to the lobby was far, check out was bit lengthy. The Whaler shopping center nearby was obnoxious since the merchants would not validate your parking ticket if you did not spend say more than $35 at a store.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2009

The Sheraton has the best location on Kaanapali. An easy walk tothe Whaler's Village shopping area and a short drive to Lahaina. Rooms were clean and bathrooms were fairly large and very clean. We were upgraded to a deluxe oceanfront room. We had booked oceanfront through Expedia. The view was amazing. Saw whales and turtles right under our balcony. The whales were so close you could hear them blowing from inside the room.. We did have to use several elevators to ger to beach and pool but the walk was enjoyable. The hallways are open air and the views on the way were spectacular. Pool is gorgeous but was cold. The ocean was warmer. We were there after a period of iffy weather and did notice that once the sun came out the pool water began to warm up. Drinks and food by the pool were yummy if a little pricey. The waitresses there were very good and super friendly. We ate breakfast and dinner away from the resort as prices for those meals were high. We booked a whale watching trip and a helicopter van trip to Hana through anita at the concierge's desk in the lobby. She was super helpful and followed up promptly on our questions. Both trips were awesome. We had a wonderful time at the Sheraton and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfingshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2009

The rooms are very well laid out, clean, tidy, bright and warm. The resorts has lots of amenities and is very popular. The staff are friendly as expected. But it is a huge resort. Too big, in fact. There's always going to be a lot of people (and children) about. Our Saturday brunch at the restaurant on site required a 45 minute wait. The jacuzzi is most often packed. And this is low season.

The food is excellent. Try to have dinner at Teppanyaki Dan at least once -- it is the best dinner of our entire trip. The whole setting really is as gorgeous as all the photos they have presented.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueWhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I LOVE this hotel! it is in the best location on Kaanapali. The service is great, the space is very open and the beach is the best in this area. I did a spa day with my husband 2 yrs ago at the Hyatt a few hotels down, and the beach was so much smaller and that area is super congested. The Sheraton is the only hotel on the beach that has so much space. Love everything about it!! The Sheraton in Wakiki has an awesome location as well.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AngLovesHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#15 of 32 in Lahaina
2,534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Property: Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing