We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay if you know what you're getting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent stay if you know what you're getting”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We, family of 4 with 12 & 17 year old boys, stayed at Sheraton between 8/5 and 8/12 in the middle of Iselle and Julio storm.

This is our second stay at Sheraton and third time in Kaanapali area.

There's no question about why people should stay here -- the location. You cannot beat the proximity to black rock and whaler's village.

Also, most of issues or complaints are all legit - resort fees for stuff that you don't need, wireless internet that didn't work, the classic magazine on the lounge chair, rooms getting a little older, ... But, you can say that for many other hotels.

For us, we had another excellent stay at Sheraton since we knew what we were getting into and what we normally do at the hotel itself.

Service - Bell service was prompt and friendly. They provide first night valet included in the resort fee so we use that. Check-in took a little time but that was because they were trying to get us a better room. Cleaning service was very nice and friendly. We moved to another room after first night by our choice and that was pretty smooth. I had to call the front desk to inquire about the status but I kind of expected that.

Room - Nice, clean & comfortable and after the upgrade, spectacular view. We got upgraded to delux ocean view in building 3 (Lahaina) and it was awesome. We stayed in the same building last time and really like the convenience of being next to the self parking lot.

Food - I have no idea since we didn't eat at the hotel. Decent options at Whaler's and food is one thing we try to explore so usually don't eat at the hotel.

Pool - We don't hang out by the pool. Kind of defeats the purpose of being within few steps from one of the best beach in the world. So, we didn't have any issues with people "reserving" lounge chairs by the pool.

Beach - We rent the beach cabana when staying at the hotel for the day. It's $45 per day and well worth it because it not only protects you from the sun but the wind when it blows. Much better than umbrellas. Kids go back and forth between the beach and the pool all day. I usually grab some lunch from local joint and we have them on the beach. They don't have drink service on the beach so we usually pack our ice box with what we need. Yep, the rental ends at 5p but we're normally done for the day around 3:30 or 4p to get ready for nice dinner. One thing we did notice was that the beach is MUCH more crowded than 2 years ago.

On the day of check-out, I stop by the front desk and get the final invoice and check that over. It did have charge for pool towels but it got cleared up pretty quick (we had to return the towel from the place we checked out from).

So, for what we normally do -- beach cabana for 2 to 3 days, 2 days at kapalua bay and few excursions or hikes, this hotel fits the bill perfectly.

Room Tip: Building 3 is near the self parking and most are quite a bit larger than standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank xvisto2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Aloha xvisto2000,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and experiences. We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and time on the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,803
    1,447
    584
    233
    162
See reviews for
1,013
2,248
65
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,037)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed July 30 to Aug 4, 5 nights. Hotel is in a very nice location, beach, snorkeling, giant turtle.
I had a disturbing experience in the pool area. Hotel management posted a sign that the recliners at pool area are for guests usage and cannot be reserved without usage. Personel items can be removed. So I did not do that, thought about doing it before seeing the sign though. When we arrived with children and babies in 9:30 in the morning, all the recliners had been covered with beach towels, some with sport shoes, newspaper. But most of them with towel. I took some pictures if management wants to see. The hotel must either follow the rules it put or remove the sign so that people are not confused. Please do reserve your recliners at the pool site and don't bother the signs hotel posted.
My second problem is, I have a charge in my second room that is nothing to do with me. I signed all the charges in one room, especially to be able to track my expenses. We express checked out and I did not realize it until its too late. I called the hotel twice, both times they promised they would look into it and contact me back however it is 4-5 days from my second call (today 15-Aug) and did not receive a call or email. It is really disturbing that a reputable hotel chain can have such customer service attitude. Although we had good time, it left a bitter taste.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HakanTolgay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Aloha Ismet Hakan T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our resort. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our pool and will be sure to share your feedback with our management team. It's regrettable to hear how about the charge and lack of follow up from our team. Please email us at sheraton.maui@sheraton.com if this issue has not been resolved and we will be sure to follow up.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel is very nice with scenic views, close shopping areas and restaraunts, with lots of things to do. The majority of the staff was friendly until you started going up in rank. The bellhops, servers, pool attendants, and maintenance workers were some of the nicest people you'll ever meet but the desk workers are some of the worst. There were lots of hidden fees and random fees as well. There is a $290 inescapable fee just for coming to cover activities that are offered even if you don't do them and for sitting around the pool. They also try to charge more as well. We went to checkout and they said that they never recorded the $290 when we clearly paid it and could prove it. Once they finally "found" the money they charged another $60 that they could never explain what it was for. They kept avoiding the question of what the fee was for and continued to say that we will receive it back in 2-3 business days, but it was unnecessary money being taken out. This happened to 3 other groups as well and these are just ones that I noticed. The desk workers would never answer what it was for and kept denying that they took it even when their were records from us and every other to prove that the charges were indeed from them. Overall it is a very nice hotel or resort but I would rethink staying here because you can find a hotel with views and a good location anywhere in maui and can easily escape these uncalled for and ridiculous fees.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryangomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Aloha Ryangomez,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the location of our resort. We apologize for the confusion at the front desk and the deposits that were taken on your card. There should have been better communication from our staff at check in. We will share your feedback with our management team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I am currently staying at the Sheraton Maui in a $700-plus junior suite with my family, and I had expected it would come with wireless connectivity! But no, it doesn't! There is a fault with the connection in the room, although I can connect in the lobby, from where I am writing this review. I reported the problem 3 days ago and the hotel has made no effort to fix it. Really poor guest service and lack of follow-up. I recommend you look at other hotel options if you want to have in-room wireless internet. Martin Evans, Room 2504.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Aloha Bella E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience with the internet and the lack of customer service you experienced. We appreciate your feedback and will review it with our management team.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

the hotel and view are amazing ,the staff are friendly and great always in a great mood , one thing that bug me was some off the fees that I think should be removed like the beach umbrella rental for the people that are staying in the hotel .other one was I stayed the same week the hurricane warning was issued so they closed the bar and everything else so the food choices was very limited they had a buffet but only had 3 choices of food so was not really a buffet I ended up paying 100% for a fruit plate and some cold pasta lol.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ohmarcito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Aloha ohmarcito,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are happy to hear enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We appreciate your feedback on areas that could use improvement and will share it with our management team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Great location, right on Black Rock, walking distance to shopping and a few restaurants. The Resort charge is questionable, as our wireless internet never once worked in our room. The Sheraton did deduct 2 days of this charge without hesitation. The pool area is small for the number if guests and at times it was kind if a 'rough' crowd. They only asked if we were hotel guests once and did not ask for any proof. I suspect that non-guests were hanging out at the pool, which wouldn't bother me, except there was rarely enough seating.

The view and room size was
nice, but I think I'd try out another resort on my next rip to Maui.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank heaterxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Aloha heaterxxx,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of the resort, but do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Your feedback will be reviewed by our management team and used as a tool to better serve our future guests. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future and exceed your expectations.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I have just returned to the UK from my honeymoon of which 7 nights weren't spent here!
I cant say enough good things about it.. Great location.. the beach and snorkelling on the hotels door step are amazing, the rooms, views, pools were all great. Now I have travelled a lot, but I don't always stay in top class resorts, but this really is one. I found all the staff very friendly. We were given a room upgrade from ocean view to ocean front which was really kind, they didn't know it was my honeymoon so I got very lucky im sure. Whalers village is a short walk away, lahaina town was a short car hop away and very nice for dinner and shopping. We both loved the resort/hotel. The snorkelling here was better than anywhere else I went on the island and I could be snorkelling - sunbathing at the pool - and back in my room all effortlessly.. I only have 1 or 2 small cons about this place which are only fair to mention. The cost of eating within the resort is too high, we ate only 1 breakfast and one dinner here.. just because it was too expensive for us.
The other was there could be more sunbeds, I did ok, I only got caught without one a couple of times, but I guess being up early in any resort is key to getting a sun lounger etc.. but in conclusion I really I hope I get the opportunity to go back here in my life, I loved it, you wont be disappointed in my opinion!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank fowler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Aloha fowler23,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon stay at our beautiful resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again for your next Maui vacation.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.4 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,874 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Property: Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing