We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good but could be better with a few changes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good but could be better with a few changes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

My significant other and I spent a week at the Sheraton Maui resort. We had a great time in Maui and would definitely go back and even stay at the Sheraton. We checked in on Friday into building 2 but requested a room change because our view was a bit obstructed... Overall the hotel is very good and below is an accurate overview:

Positives:
Great customer service especially from Irene at the front desk. She was extremely helpful is helping us to pick out another room and to pick the best building. I was not disappointed with my new room or her excellent customer service. She was also so pleasant and knowledgable! We stayed in 6518. The staff was very friendly and helpful with questions. They also provided a complimentary bottle of Champagne since I was celebrating my birthday!! Much appreciated.

Room- we stayed in 6518... Building 6, 5th floor... Great views of the water, we saw the whales one morning and turtles another morning. Great views of the sunset and peaceful! The rooms were equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Decent size room.

Cleanliness of the property- the property is well maintained including the house cleaning staff.

Spa- the spa was great... Open air rooms and the service was very good. My therapists name was Elizabeth. Tranquil close to the beach, good service and reasonably priced.

The shuttle services was a value add... It was great to have options since we didn't have a car the entire time. Very convenient and could get you to the main parts of Lahina. Recommendation may be to run the shuttle 2x an hour instead of 1x per hour into town.

Pool and beach access: the beach is pretty calm and close to black rock there is great snorkeling. You definitely need a cabana on the beach as the sun is pretty hot... So great for tanning. The pool has service for lunch and drinks and both restaurants have happy hour at different times. It's pretty easy to get a beach chair with an umbrella as long as you get out by the pool by 9... After 9, you'll need to search hard for a chair with an umbrella.

Location- the location of the resort is convenient to the town of Lahina, the Whalers market, the golf course and other hotels including the Westin (other Starwood property). The Whaler's market has an ABC store, restaurants and a few upscale stores. There is also an Enterprise rental car onside... Super convenient!

Opportunities for improvement:
When we arrived, no one greeted us with a Lei, cold drink etc... This is an opportunity for setting a good tone upon arrival.

No cold drinks or refreshments in the lobby only the Starbucks cart that's not always open. When we went over to the Westin the had refreshments and a different vibe in the lobby... More welcoming.

Lei making class and other resort activities should be complimentary... The price is nominal but it should be included.

Cocktails were a bit overpriced... Average of $11-13... And $7 for a beer... Prices were cheaper offsite. Even mimosa at breakfast were $10 but $5 off site. I saw other reviewers complain about the cost of breakfast $29 per person but breakfast was good but the mimosas should've been included at that price.

The food overall was reasonably priced but would've loved to see more variety especially by the pool restaurants.

Overall the resort itself was very good, convenient location, clean, very friendly staff, great customer service, decent rooms with great views. We would come back and stay at the property,

Btw, if you rent a car, definitely take the drive to Hana and stop at Coconut Glens for the fab coconut and pistachio ice cream... To die for!!

Room Tip: Building 6... Has full ocean views and views of the sun set... A bit further walk but worth it... Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki19128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your detailed review from your recent stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time on Maui and your stay at our resort. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,795
    1,430
    573
    232
    161
See reviews for
994
2,232
65
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,031)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here many times but the best time of year is during whale season. Great views. Awesome walking path right out the entrance of the hotel. Pool if very nice and beach front. Beach is perfect white sand. Waves are perfect and a great little snorkeling area right next to black rock.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoy staying at our resort and especially during whale season. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We live in Oahu, so wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle so we flew to Maui for 3 nights at the Sheraton Maui. Booked a garden view, but for upgraded to ocean view with a view of black rock. Gorgeous. Beds are soo ooooo comfy and rooms are well equipped and clean. Drinks and food are amazing. The only negative comment I have is the issue with the available chairs. When we arrived at the pool at 9 am, they were all out of towels until noon and there were no chairs available. People had come down early and saved chairs and than left to go to breakfast or workout. They have so many cabanas that you have to pay to rent out, that they don't have enough chairs available. Since this is a big portion of our time? It ended up starting the vacation on a negative. We found out later that the valet has towels that are available all day. We went down at 6 am the next morning g and scored a great spot. Overall, great experience...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corexecution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are happy to hear you had a nice stay, and appreciate you taking the time to share your honest feedback. We will share your feedback with our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was our first trip to Hawaii & it was amazing!! We cannot wait to go back. The food was great & our view of the ocean was beautiful! You didn't really ever need to leave the resort :) We will definitely go back & stay at the Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa! Thx

Room Tip: I think any room here would be good. Our room was clean & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Aloha,

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our first time to this area of Maui and the Sheraton offered great rates, but what a surprise to the perfect view and 4 star rooms. There are many upscale options on Maui, the Montage/Ritz, The Westin, The Four Seasons but for this price point and if you're a fan of West Maui, I highly recommend.

Also, the pool service, towels and staff were very nice and helpful.

Black Rock snorkel destination is right in front of your hotel. It was spring break, so definitely crowded, but if you get out to the snorkel spot before 9am, you'll have the place practically to yourself.

The only negative is the food, however in all fairness, we only ordered lunch once. But it was bad, really not good. Nachos, with canned everything and cold. There is a Starbucks stand which comes in handy but be prepared for the extra high prices for a latte.

Again, the views and grounds are beautiful and for the rate, I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the location of our resort. We will be sure to share your feedback with our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Love the location and the beach is fantastic. We enjoyed watching the people jumping from Black Rock. The service was good but food and drinks are high so I suggest you pick up some snacks some at a local store to keep in the mini fridge. Go elsewhere for breakfast unless it's included in your package. The pool is pretty cool. This is not a luxury hotel by any means but it's a decent place to stay if you want a nice beach and pool and to be close to restaurants and shops in Lahaina.

Room Tip: We had booked a king island view but when we arrived they did not have any available so we ended up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the location of our resort. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just got back from Maui! We got a room with a Ocean view in the fourth building YOU COULD NOT ASK FOR A BETTER VIEW! With that starting the trip all was up hill the staff was great! Just went to relax! The only thing that could have been better is if they had better HAPPY HOUR prices:)
Over All the hotel is one of my favorites.

Room Tip: Ask for the fourth building! Room 4413 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Aloha,

We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed the view from your room during your recent stay, and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We appreciate you taking a moment to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.4 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,826 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Property: Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Starwood and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing