We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean, quiet getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, quiet getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Sheraton Maui. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a Deluxe Ocean View…which was a very nice touch. The room was large, comfortable and clean. There was no outside noise, other than the crashing waves when we left the patio door open.

As we had a long travel day we were fairly hungry (and a little tired) and went down to the lounge, there was one waitress and the service was horribly slow. (Aside from this – the service was great!)

The grounds were well kept and not overly crowed. And the location is wonderful – at the end of the beach and within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kari l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,805
    1,447
    586
    233
    162
See reviews for
1,015
2,249
65
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
211 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We live on Maui and often stay at a hotel for a change of pace. The Sheraton is a mature property that has lovely gardens, a great swimming pool that connects two large pools by a water way that has bridges, slides and shady areas. There is also a pool bar with a good food service that goes late into the evening. Our room was on the first floor but we still had a view of the water and gardens. The beds are excellent!!! We were close to the elevator but it was quiet. There is a small general store that a fairly good selection of things you might need. We ate at Japengo-awesome sushi bar and view at sunset. There is a daily charge for internet access and you cannot hook up any devices to the TV.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsborough, north carolina, usa
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

A wonderful hotel! Right on the beach and in a small cove. The swimming is spectacular. Great family place. Lovely pool but we preferred ocean. Vey large resort and spread out. Wonderful breakfast buffet. Our only complaint was at check in the reception was disappointing. He was a bit short with us and seemed impatient. They were supposed to show us around but did not. Otherwise we were completely pleased. Rooms are spacious and clean. Nice balcony. We faced the ocean.

Room Tip: Facing the ocean is beautiful but on the backside of the hotel we kept seeing rainbows!! But it doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and do apologize for your welcome experience. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and will review it with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at this resort in Sept. 2013 and enjoyed five wonderful days. Beautiful room, clean and spacious. The grounds at the resort were immaculate. Pool was clean and sparkling. Bar service impeccable as well as breakfast buffet. The yellow shirt beach crew were amazing and always checking to see if there was anything they could do to help.Cliff diving ceremony at night was great fun to watch. Snorkeling around Black Rock was great, saw tons of fish and turtles as well. We could walk to shopping and other restaurants so location was great. Sat on the beach one night and watched the moon set. It was a great vacation and we would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Aloha,

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay and found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

First off, the hotel staff was really friendly and trying to be as accommodating as possible. However, the facility clearly needs a refresh. Old carpet everywhere and it feels like it has never been touched after it opened.; feels like the top of the line circa 1985.
We have been asked to upgrade the room for an additional 25$ to get a deluxe Ocean View but other than being at the very last building (the far end of the hotel) the view wasn't better than the standard ocean view. For everything we wanted to do and everywhere we went there was an absurd extra expense. The internet, for which we paid in the resort fee, was really slow and barely useable. After talking to the reception they recommended that we pay an additional fee of 16$ for a faster connection.
I am a Gold member of SPG but apparently it didn't show up in the reservation system and therefore didn't get any of the benefits. I stayed at another SPG property the week before where I was properly recognized as a Gold member.

All in all, a bit disappointing and the first answer the staff was giving us at the reception was: you can get a better deal by paying more.

Room Tip: Ocean View is perfect if you don't mind having the room overlooking the resort. Don't pay th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank licertune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are happy to hear you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, but do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We will review your feedback with our team. Thank you for being a loyal SPG Gold member. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed 10 days at this Sheraton Resort and were pleasantly surprised on our reasonable room upgrade when we decided that we preferred an ocean view when we arrived. We were also blown away at the wonderful customer service we received from their yellow shirt beach crew, specifically Anuhea and Jason were extremely helpful and incredibly nice people. You could tell that they enjoyed what they do. Thank you for taking good care of us and making our trip special. Our room was very clean and had an amazing view. We will be back. Mahalo!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view on upper levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking a moment to share your experience from your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We will be sure to share your kind words with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We travelled as family and booked two rooms and were pleasantly surprised to receive an upgrade to the cliff top rooms with a stunning view over the ocean and very quiet area. It was some distance to walk to the pool and beach, but nothing to complain about. The resort is big so at first it was a bit confusing to find our way around but the resort is lovely and open aired areas looking out to the ocean with stunning views. There is a drugstore/convenience store located near reception, tennis courts and the Sheraton definitely has the best location right on blackrock with turtles swimming amongst the shore, and coral and an abundance of fish. We loved walking up a 5 minute walk along the beachfront path to Whaler's village. I found the grounds beautiful with frangipani and other trees, manicured lawns and generally well kept and maintained. I surveyed the other hotels along the strip and would most definitely return to the Sheraton because of it's location and beauty compared to the other hotels. The rooms were also clean and well maintained. As for the resort fee, whist it is annoying, it is charged at all the hotels, so doesn't single the Sheraton out as being different. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning on going to Maui. This view is also held by many of our friends who recommended this hotel and have stayed in most hotels on Maui.

Room Tip: On the cliff next to Blackrock - queit and great view of sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamcurlcurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay in our Moana building. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Property: Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing