We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Vacation!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular Vacation!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Sheraton is awesome, great location, great beach and incredible snorkeling experience directly in front of the Sheraton at Black Rock. It was our 15 year anniversary and as we love beach vacations and live at the beach in San Diego, why not Maui again for the 5th time. This time was special, the Sheraton was the first Hotel in this area 50 years ago, of course it has been remolded. We love the pool, the fact that it is not a High Rise, the staff was excellent, and the food and drinks were great. We decided to upgrade to the Deluxe Ocean Front top floor in building 6, we could not have been happier. We had a large room, patio, and were overlooking Black Rock and the snorkelers every morning while having coffee. We were able to see the turtles coming up for air and the Spectacular Sunset every night. We loved our Room!! The only downside for some people, would be to get to the pool or beach it takes a little walking and elevators. Normally we like to walk out and be on the beach, but, our room location was so great it did not bother us. I talked to our Housekeeper and she said she had been there 26 years, she loved working for the Sheraton, she said they were very good to the employees with food and great benefits, Health Care, etc. I have always been in the hospitality business so am always happy to hear of an excellent work environment.

We went snorkeling every morning, the sea life was so good this time at Black Rock we went there almost everyday. Normally we travel around a bit, but, we could not top what we saw here. Of course we are always impressed with the Giant Turtles, so many this year, the Beautiful and graceful Spotted Eagle Rays. Our biggest thrill came one day at around noon we were out by the point of Black Rock and spotted what we thought were several Dolphins, we were so excited only 10 ft. away, to our surprise and delight there were about 100 Dolphins swimming by. We were shocked and thrilled, never encountered any sight like this in all our Snorkeling adventures around the world. What a wonderful Anniversary Present, we could not ask for more. We still can not stop talking about it and luckily since my husbands Go Pro Froze, we met another man who saw them and since then has sent us the footage.

We went to the Sea House for dinner in Napili. went to Honolua Bay for snorkeling which is always great, afterwards stopped at The Gazebo for breakfast. Dinner for our Anniversary at Ruth Chris, always good. Dinner at all the Restaurants at the Sheraton was excellent, we were not disappointed. Golfing in Maui is always a treat even though our Home Course in San Diego is Torrey Pines.:) We golfed at the Plantation Course in Kapalua and played King Kamehameha, closer to the airport.

We love the location of the Sheraton because it has the beautiful walking path for miles, easy to walk to Whalers for shopping and restaurants. Easy to get to Lahaina. We have been to all of the Island, but, Maui is our favorite, because we like to have more choices, yet it can be calm and quiet when you want it to be. The only thing I need to add is there is not enough umbrellas by the pool, and you must rent the Umbrellas on the Beach. The weather was wonderful, but, you could not sit on the beach or near the pool for any length of time without an umbrella, there is no shad to be found.

Thank you Sheraton for making our 15th Anniversary a special, we can't wait to come back.....

Room Tip: We loved building 6, but, not easy access to the beach. building 4 is good too, but, smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lm13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Aloha,

Happy Anniversary! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It's always exciting to hear about snorkeling adventures at Black Rock, and we are happy to hear you were able to get video footage of the dolphins from a fellow guest! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,849
    1,487
    603
    241
    172
See reviews for
1,051
2,311
66
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,072)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stafford
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A lovely location for the hotel the evening sunset ritual of the lighting of the torches down the cliff face and the cliff diver is a spectacle and sunset is sublime (tip go to the old part of the hotel and with back facing to all the buildings /the whole resort watch the sunset . The beach is good , swimming pools excellent - somehow this resort manages to make you feel that not to many people are sharing your holiday ! It is quiet and relaxing. Good facilities computers , restaurants, bars inside and out.
Food is good , drinks not too cheap but tempting especially the cocktails ... Only downside is the outside bar appears to shut early even at weekends.
Walk to whalers village about 10 mins and exhale at price tags .
A lovely hotel lovely helpful staff

Room Tip: Watch sunset from behind block 4 old part of the hotel Enjoy cliff spectacle lighting and diving
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weetys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are excited to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay at our beautiful resort and the surround area. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I could not have been happier with our stay here! I booked an overnight stay for my boyfriends birthday and the staff from the minute we pulled up were so incredibly friendly and helpful. We were offered an upgrade to an ocean view room but decided to stick with the partial view because of the king bed and it was perfect...still had amazing views of the ocean and the west Maui mountains as a bonus, The room was clean and the bed soooo comfortable! The pool area was great, maybe not as impressive as other resorts on the island, but having stayed at the Grand Wailea and others I would still pick the Sheraton just because the staff is so much friendlier and I would say the view of Black Rock and the ocean is what makes the Sheraton's location so special. It was really nice to have a separate kids pool area- I love kids but when you want to just relax it's nice to have an adults only option. The pool bars are expensive, but they are pricey everywhere on Maui, so we just forgot about prices for an afternoon and enjoyed the delicious drinks and relaxed by the pool, swam in the lazy river and watched the cliff dive ceremony at the cliff dive bar at sunset. I had initially planned dinner off the property but since I had signed up for their SPG program we got discounts on dinner at their restaurant and 2 for 1 breakfast so we ended up never leaving the hotel! Breakfast was delicious, they had a huge selection of foods in their buffet and a great omelet bar. They were very accommodating with a late checkout so we could enjoy our morning and held our bags for us after checkout so we could go walk up to Whalers Village for the afternoon. Overall we had such an amazing time here and I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juljea Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking a moment to share your experience. We are excited to hear how much you enjoyed your last minute stay at our resort, and that you were able to enjoy the perks of becoming an SPG member. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

When we made our reservations, we booked for Ocean Front. When we got to the hotel we were offered an upgrade from a king bed room to double queens in a better location. We took it and it was fantastic. The room was big and comfortable and we had a gorgeous view of the sun setting in the west from the patio of our room. Plusses - we were treated like royalty by staying in that room. Minuses - we were in a building high on a cliff away from most of the action. We had to take our car just to get to the main lobby of the hotel. We would not want this room again but it was great having it once because of the way we were treated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_and_Jo_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha,

We are thankful to hear how much you enjoyed the view from your upgraded room and that you had a great stay at our beautiful resort. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Enjoyed our stay immensely! What a wonderful place and location. The staff was very friendly and the facility AWESOME. Snorkeling at Black Rock was cool, saw lots of different fish and swam with sea turtle. If snorkeling make sure to go in the early morning as the later it gets the more the sand gets kicked up because of the increase of people. The pool was big and extremely clean. Whole facility was great. Would go back again and again!

Room Tip: Any room on the ocean side would be good. Little tip do not expect to check in early if booking fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful resort and swimming with the turtles at Black Rock. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again!

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

From the minute we arrived at this hotel we knew it would be special. Our room was part ocean on the 4th floor with views to die for. The grounds are magnificent, The pool had 2 bars with happy hour at each one at different times. The restaurant had an extensive menu and our dining experience was made very special because of the excellent service given by the waiter staff. Breakfast was a delight with a large variety of dishes.
The sunset was truly spectacular. The beach was a few steps down from the pool where you can snorkel, we even experienced a huge sea turtle swimming with us. Maui is a very special place made even better by staying a this beautiful hotel. Cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conso7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to swim with the turtles at Black Rock! We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I are completely blind. I must say that even though this is a huge property and even if we had stayed here and had an orientation of the premises every single day we would still have trouble learning this resort. We had to rely on the staff to help us each time we needed to get out of our room for every place we wanted to go like: restaurants, to catch the shuttle, pool, beach, boardwalk and much more. Every time we called for an escort a staff member was happy to see us and truly want to help! So eager and willing to help the both of us with our special needs. I love the fact that the pool is so close to the beach and it's fabulous boardwalk, which continues on for a while taking you to restaurants and canoe beach. The room is exceptionally clean! I love the shuttle which takes you right in to town, where there are plenty of shops and more restaurants. The fitness room is awesome too. I would recommend the pool side bar they have a great mahi mahi sandwich a bit pricey, but worth it! The entire staff is awesome, but you must meet Kalani he really knows his way around that property and loves to give you some Hawaiian lessons. I learned only afterwards that the "deluxe ocean view" is great, but if you are into hearing the ocean than opt for a ocean front property. Oh well next time.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front instead of ocean view. Worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha,

We are delighted to hear how wonderful your stay was and that our staff was able to assist with your every need. Thank you for taking the time to share your story. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
23.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.8 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Property: Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing