We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hotel, Great Location, Staff Lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami
Level Contributor
875 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location, Staff Lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just spent four nights here celebrating our silver wedding anniversary with my brother and his wife also visiting with us from England. Sadly due to a huge group from T-Mobile visiting the resort, we did not get our SPG Gold Elite upgrade to a better room but that's ok, we know it's on space availability only and Gabe at the reception desk did his best to help us. The hotel itself is great, the beach, bars and pool are terrific (although there was a stinky gas leak from a tiki torch by the pool bar when we arrived which I think got solved). The problem is with customer service inside the hotel. My boss ordered champagne, cheese and crackers for my husband and I as a silver wedding anniversary gift which was supposed to be waiting for us upon arrival, we never got it and never found out about it until we got home to Miami and he asked us what happened! Another friend in Palm Beach had sent us a wedding anniversary card and gift card that was supposed to be handed to us upon arrival, Jon one of the managers did not get it to us until the next day and our friend had to call multiple times to solve the problem and was very upset by the lack of service. The hotel management did send us a a couple of nice gifts to wish us well for our anniversary, which was appreciated, but of course I would have liked to have received my boss's gift which I never got! Another friend in Ft. Lauderdale called to send us something but said the lady she spoke to made it sound like she was a nuisance and she said she had a bad vibe about sending anything to us at the hotel. She ended up sending us something at the Royal Hawaiian in Oahu (where we also stayed) instead and said they were far more helpful. So there are issues at this hotel which is a shame as the hotel itself is very nice. To finish on a high note, the staff at the pool bar, especially the nice lady from Peru whose name I forgot were excellent! The Starbucks breakfast cart was also very good and had different specials each day and the hotel is walking distance to Whalers Village restaurants and shops (Go to Hula Grill - excellent) so it's conveniently located. I would still return here to stay again because the resort is so nice, but all this issues did somewhat marr our special celebration unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mwooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking a moment to share your experience and feedback from your recent stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our resort, but do apologize for the inconveniences and lack of customer experience you experienced during your stay. We truly appreciate your feedback and will be addressing these issues with our team. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,684
    1,345
    525
    210
    140
See reviews for
911
2,075
58
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sheraton the week of May 13th. This was our first trip to Maui. I was not sure about the Sheraton because of some of the reviews I had read on Trip Advisor. My wife and I enjoyed ourselves so much at this resort. It is absolutely beautiful there. The buildings, rooms, grounds, pool area, and beach are wonderful. The staff was very friendly and made our stay relaxing and comfortable. We were very pleased with the restaurants and bars at the Sheraton. We also dined at restaurants at the Whaler's Village and in Lahaina. The prices were reasonable and food was very good. We went shopping in the area and took a drive on the Road To Hana, both enjoyable and the scenery on the road was breath taking. We also took part in the Old Lahaina Luau and it was a great experience also.
We hope in the future that we can go back to Maui and stay at the Sheraton because they met all our expectations. I consider myself to be a pretty honest person and I can not imagine you would not be thrilled being at this resort. I read some reviews that were not very kind to the Sheraton, but seriously, if you were not happy here, you probably were looking for something to be wrong, or just in general, not a happy person.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking a moment to share your experience and kind words. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at our resort and the island of Maui. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the future.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a week in January. Our 3rd time in Maui and 1st time at the Sheraton. This resort is fantastic! The breakfast buffet is a must! Expensive but well worth it.(we had it twice cause it was so good) The torch lighting ceremony at dusk was awesome. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshineTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Aloha,

We are excited to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosville, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in May 2013. We are SPG Platinum. Used points. We were upgraded to an ocean front in building 6. It is a little bit of a hike but we didn't mind the extra walking. May is a slower month in Maui. Each restaurant we went to on Front St we were able to get ocean front dining. The hotel is nice, clean. We didn't have any problems. The beach is perfect to swim, snorkel, boggie board right there in front. It really is on the perfect beach front. We will return. We declined our welcome points for continental breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sksanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton and would stay here again if we wanted to be in West Maui.
We had a deluxe oceanfront room in Building 6 on Black Rock that was large and well-maintained. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were soft (something my wife always notices). The balcony was large and had a good view.
A minor quibble is that we wished there would have been a separate stall shower because when we wanted to shower we had to take down everything we had hung up to dry.
Also, to get from Building 6 to the pool, beach, lobby or breakfast we had to take 3 elevators. It was annoying at first but then we decided it was worth it for the view and peace and quiet.
The staff members were very competent although they sometimes seemed a little rushed because the place was busy.
We did resent the daily resort fee here after having just stayed at the Makena Beach and Golf Resort that does not have one. Even after paying a resort fee, there were additional charges for beach chairs.
The snorkeling at Black Rock was excellent and was a major reason we chose the Sheraton in the first place. When not snorkeling we lounged by the pool rather than the beach because there were umbrellas there (although not enough which would be a problem when the resort is full). We didn't try snorkeling anywhere else while staying here because it was so good (we saw turtles every day) and we liked having chaises, an umbrella, restrooms and a bar handy when we were finished.
The pool complex was large and very nice. There were two restaurants by the swimming pools that served different things. That was a little strange and inconvenient.
We got a package that included the breakfast buffet and enjoyed it. Some of the items were changed each day so there was sufficient variety.
We enjoyed the walkway that runs behind the hotels in the area.

Room Tip: This is a sprawling resort so choose carefully depending on your patience and mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Aloha,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the snorkeling at Black Rock. We apologize for the small inconveniences you experienced, and will be sure to share your feedback with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort for your next West Maui vacation.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We arrived on a Friday night and I was expecting the worst since I wasn't going to really be able to see our view from the room. We booked an Ocean View King. King was not guaranteed and we ended up with two doubles. That was disappointing and thought maybe we should have been comped a breakfast but when we woke up the next morning to the view .....WOW! We were in building 2 3rd floor and the view was fantastic and we totally forgot about the two double beds. The room was clean and nice. The balcony was large and nice to sit out and look at the view. The resort grounds were fantastic and from what I could see for others in the area, this resort had better grounds than most. The pool was clean and the water was fantastic. The activities desk by the pool were friendly. The beach was beautiful and the night cliff dives were magical. Snorkeling right there at Black Rock is a must. We saw the turtles which was awesome. We ate and had drinks at the pool bars. Food was okay, the drinks were great. We did have dinner at the seafood restaurant which I thought was good and they even had a discount on dinner. The resort is within walking distance of Whalers Village which we walked there several times for shopping and dinner. We did not eat breakfast on the resort as it was very expensive. The resort fee covers parking and Internet so to me that was reasonable. We went to the local grocery store and got breakfast food. We would definitely stay here again. This resort did, based on appearances, appear to offer more compared to the other resorts we walked past on the way to Whalers Village. Forgot to mention, I got a pedicure at the spa. Awesome! All in all, I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REBECCA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Aloha,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, and that your first trip to Hawaii was great! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for your second Hawaiian vacation!

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I read one negative review, and it misrepresented this place, I suspect, because the writer was just angry. Not only is this hotel beautiful, clean, and current its decor, it is a special place. The pool and grassy area between the hotel and the pool are immaculate. The beach is gorgeous, and there is a unique lava cliff formation on which a special cliff dive ceremony takes place every night at 6:30 p.m. (Kids will love this.) Any person who wishes to dare to jump or dive off this cliff can do so (I walked out and made the 15 foot jump into the water and it was a fun thrill). You can find some decent snorkeling right off the shore. The rooms and bathrooms appear to be recently renovated, and are very clean. The property is across the street from a golf course. There is a profession "kids club" that can provided fun activities for kids for a half of full day with meals. It is a beautiful and special hotel. You are lucky if your live leads you to the Sheraton Maui at Lahaina.

Room Tip: Even the golf view rooms had ocean views. You cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OrlandoTraveler32814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property. It's great to hear how much you truly enjoyed your stay at our resort. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful resort again someday.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.4 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,443 reviews
5.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Property: Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing