We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach, Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I had never been to Maui before this trip. My friends had recommended that I stay near Kaanapali beach and the Black Rock. I wasn't disappointed.

The room we booked was an ocean front room which was a good choice. I wouldn't want to stay at a hotel like this on a great beach and not be able to enjoy the view as much as possible. The room was clean and the staff thoroughly cleaned the room everyday of our 5 night stay. We were always well stocked with towels, bath soap, shampoo, etc. The bed was comfortable and inviting. The only disappointment was the balcony. It was very small. There was only one chair and a small table. My wife and I had to open the door and slide extra chair in the room over to sit together. We were unable to close the door with both chairs outside as it was impossible to fit them both on the small balcony. We were on the 6th floor of building 3. It appeared that the higher up floors had smaller balconies.

With Black Rock right outside our window, we always had easy access to the beach and snorkeling. We actually got to get up close and personal with the sea turtle that often visits Black Rock. It is a must do if you visit this beach.

One of the biggest drawbacks of the hotel was hidden charges. There was a resort fee of $30 per day charged at check out which I was made aware of before booking but it's something to keep in mind. Also the restaurants and shops are unusually expensive even by Maui standards. Take the time to walk to Whalers village and visit the ABC store or the other restaurants there instead. Hula Grill, CJ's Diner and Castaway Cafe all had great food, were walking distance away, better atmosphere and reasonable pricing. WiFi was free but bandwidth limited unless you wanted to pay more. Using the Link cafe to print our boarding passes almost cost me $4 per sheet until I realized that I could print black and white for free. Valet parking was free but just for the first night only. Be cautious so as not to needlessly throw your money away.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view. It's worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to swim with the turtles around black rock. We will be sure to review your feedback with our team. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,172 - 2,178 of 4,460 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

The botanical grounds, the music the staff made this a perfect evening. We listened to a one man band that wowed us. Ate some delish nachos, Yay! No fish in them! The winding brightly lit pool was very inviting with private little coves throughout the curving pool. Our waitress was so nice, attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prankstermary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Aloha and thank you for taking a moment to share your kind words about your experience at our resort. We are excited to hear you enjoyed a wonderful evening at our Cliff Dive Bar. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel sits on a really nice beach that is easy to access unlike some other beachfront hotels. It is a large, spread out property that can be be a bit overwhelming at times. If your room is close to the beach you have quite a hike or a walk and an elevator ride. The check-in was painless and everyone was really nice. However the gentleman who saw us to our room explained that there was no internet access in the rooms after renovation. We were shocked. When we got in the room we found there was internet. And it is fast enough to stream movies! So maybe the training of staff on the accommodations needs to be more detailed.

Parking was a breeze. You are only charged an additional $5 a night for valet parking here (in addition to the "resort fee" of $30 a night). Unlike the Fairmont in Wailea, where we stayed last year, who charged an additional $20 for valet (oh please, give me a break!..Kind of summed up that entire property for us..) The rooms are quite small but nicely done. Hope you don't have a lot of luggage! Nicely equipped but small.

Dining options seem limited. Cafe is only open in the morning for breakfast. During the day it is room service or poolside. Food we had a couple of times was ok at best. We were with a group and they catered 2 functions and we had a couple of meals there outside of the business meetings. Room service was very good and speedy.

Grounds are ok. Nothing really exceptional garden wise. Smaller pool area than some hotels. Cabana type seating by the pool or on the beach is extra. Seems like a number of things are extra which is curious when you are being charged a resort fee....The nickle and diming of large resorts gets so tiresome in this respect. The spa was nice and I had a good facial there. The rooms are partially open to the outside which can be nice or not depending how many people and children are poolside. Can be noisy and distracting when you are seeking bliss!

Staff in all areas was just outstanding. Everyone was always so pleasant and helpful. That was what really stood out for us. This was in marked contrast to the Fairmont (again) from last year. In all a pleasant stay. We have been to Maui with a group the last three years and this was probably our second favorite hotel. The first was the Hyatt near here (smaller rooms but beautiful grounds and service). And dead last was the Fairmont (large dated rooms, ok grounds, great pools, horrible service, poorly maintained grounds and buildings). It's all a matter of taste....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poodlehell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time so share your experience and feedback with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We will be sure to refresh all associates about our inclusions for guests. Thank you for letting us know. We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful resort again sometime soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon week at the Sheraton Maui. The pictures and descriptions do not do justice. We were upgraded rooms to a beautiful room overlooking the ocean with the most gorgeous sunset. The fitness center is very nice and has quite a few pieces of equipment...definitely more than most hotels. Each morning we looked forward to the delicious breakfast. The staff was so friendly and made the experience even more memorable. The helped us set up afternoon activities and were always available to help. Each afternoon we enjoyed the pool and floating in the bean bag chairs. Our last night there we attended the hotel's luau and had a blast. It is definitely worth the money. We would definitely recommend this hotel and plan on going back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Aloha and Mahalo for sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful honeymoon at our resort! We look forward to welcoming the two of you back again soon!

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa is a beautiful,clean, well maintained resort with a friendly and always helpful staff. The service and facility generally can not be beat. The price per night is not low but includes many things that cost extra other places, pool cabanas, snorkel equipment, bottles of water, fitness classes,an outrigger canoe ride, sunscreen, a beach bag to use, towels and water at you car to take places, hula show and torch lighting ceremony every evening, etc. The service is as good as it gets. Whether at the lovely beach or in your cabana, your water glass is never empty. Cold towels and small snacks are passed periodically. The well-appointed room itself (not even a suite) is a good size and even has a couch so there is somewhere to sit besides the bed. My one minor complaint is that the complimentary kids' program is really just childcare. My boys really enjoyed the Ambassador's of the Environment program at the Ritz Carleton Kapalua the year before. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I love the Sheraton Maui, it's a great hotel with a great location on Kanaapali Beach. The grounds are beautiful, great spot for snorkeling at black rock. Walking distance to Whalers Village where there's several good restaurants and that whole stretch of beach is just beautiful!

The only thing we found was the prices at the hotel, they are very expensive for meals, you're better off going out for meals. Lahaina has some great little places and its 10 mins down the road.

We had a wonderful experience, you definitely have to try The Lahaina Grill, the best restaurant in town literally!!

We celebrated our 15th anniversary and couldn't have picked a better place to do so!!

Room Tip: If you're paying for a room with a balcony make sure you ask if its a full balcony, the first ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us for your anniversary. We hope to welcome you back for another anniversary soon!

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is well located in maui ! right on the beach and the property itself is beautiful. Theres a complimentary bus that takes you around the main areas of maui which make it very convenient for travellers (like ourselves) who don't drive.
The only fault I would point out is that the rooms are a little small (as is every sheraton though). However they were well appointed and newly renovated.

If you come to maui its comes down to should you stay at sheraton or the westin which is next door. Don't bother looking at any other hotel !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itsbui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy our complimentary shuttle services during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort again soon!

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,213 reviews
23.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $323 - $932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splitty, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing