We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We just finished a five night stay at the Sheraton Black Rock. We travel extensively and found the hotel to fit all our needs. We had an ocean front room which was very roomy and nicely furnished.Our beds were very comfortable. Yes, we have stayed in fancier hotels but found the Sheraton to have a good ambiance.The staff is very accomodating. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The beach is wide and beautiful, although I thought that lounges should have been offered as part of the resort cost and not charged. We loved the convenience of snorkeling. I thought the snorkeling was good, but not the best i have ever seen. I liked that the two pool bar/restaurants had different menus to offer variety. Walking down the paved ocean front path to Whaler Village gave us additional dining and shopping options. We stayed at a more expensive hotel after on the other side of the island and found that the Sheraton was more pleasureable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back again to our beautiful resort soon!

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,483 - 2,489 of 4,555 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

This resort was absolutely beautiful. It did however have two major drawbacks. It's so large and we stayed in the building that was farthest away from the main hotel. It was a long walk! The other major drawback was the price of restaurant meals. The buffet breakfast was immense and, of course, you could have all you cared to eat but for anyone with a smaller appetite it was very expensive - $20. Dinner ran close to $100 and there were no other options at this hotel.

Room Tip: Although we were in an auxiliary building we had a balcony right on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwwtarpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

When can we come back? The room was spectacular with a great view of the ocean. We loved the cooking demo and tour of the kitchens with Chef Brian and the luaua was great, amzing quality of food for so many people. Learnt how to snorkel in their pool and was given lots of advice about snorkelling on the beach by the lovely Caroline in the beach hut. Black rocks is a great beach you can just walk out and swim to a reef and see fish straight away. Would recommend without question. Aloha and maholo

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for an ocean view
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank royalgala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are excited to hear you were able to enjoy some of our complimentary activities during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The customer serice is the best . Housekeeping is impecable. Resturants a little expensive but many resturants are of walking distance. Rooms are big with incredible views of black rock.
Shopping also within walikng distance. This hotel gives you the true Hawaiin experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherri w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great area. Close to the Whaler's village for some light shopping. Ate at the Tiki terrace next door. Less expensive than the resort and very good food. Visited the Cannery Mall which is not much to talk about. Seems like some of the small malls at home that are struggling to survive. Ate at the Aloha Mixed Plate right across the street from the mall on Front Street. Good food and right on the waterfront. Lahaina is nothing more than t-shirts and jewelry. Probably the best place we found to eat was called C.J.'s diner. It's at 2580 Kekaa dr., strip mall in the fairway shops you can see the golf course when leaving the resort. Loved Maui because of this resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a good time at the Sheraton Maui. The bed was extremely uncomfortable but we had guest services bring up a mattress pad to add some comfort. Luckily, the upgraded room with ocean views and the amazing snorkeling by Black Rock, made up for the not so great bed. Overall the resort is clean, relaxing and very nice with a super laid back vibe.

We def recommend going to Pineapple Grill for dinner. The views and the food were absolutely amazing! Longhi's in Lahaina wasn't that great, so I would say don't waste your time. We craved Italian, but would have been better off skipping that place. As for Mexican, Polli's had ridiculously good salsa. The fish taco was ok and the enchiladas were also ok. It was def traditional Mexican but I think we enjoyed the salsa the most. It's worth trying, but don't waste the drive time if you are really hungry or have a closer location in mind.

And we've heard nothing but awesome reviews about Mama's Fishhouse but our reservations are for tonight so we do not have a review yet. I am sure the review is going to live up to the hype.

Basically, I would recommend this resort. You won't be disappointed in the view or surroudnings.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to building 3 with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Aloha,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! We are delighted to hear you are enjoying your honeymoon here at the Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa. We apologize our bed was not up to your standards, but are happy that our guest services team was able to provide you with some extra comfort. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The rooms were a great size and the decor was good for Hawaii as they are usually very dated. Make sure you stay in block 2 or 3 as the place is way too big and you spend half your time trying to get along the extremely long corridors and up and down lifts to get to your room. I had to go down one long corridor, then up the lift to the 8th floor, along another lonmg corridor down the lift to 3rd floor along another corridor and down a flight of stairs!!!
The views are good, location good I just didn't like the size of the place - way too hard to get around.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KazNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Aloha,

Mahalo for your feedback. It's nice to hear you enjoyed our location and the views. We are sorry our resort is more spread out than you prefer. Your suggestion to choose building two or three is a great suggestion for those looking to stay closer to the lobby and pool area. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,341 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
1.3 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $400 - $817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing