We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plantation Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Plantation Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Nice rooms with A/C and fan. Pool and hot tub are open 24/7. The best part is the location. It is close to town combined with free parking (parking throughout the town you have to pay for). Free breakfast included (but not gratuity - it is table service).

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EchidnandKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    108
    24
    14
    3
See reviews for
21
309
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mantua, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Plantation Inn from 11-4 to 11-9. It is hard to find at night, especially if this is your first trip to the island. But once we got there, we found the staff courteous and friendly. We had a poolside room. Parking was in the back. I was amazed at how quiet it was by the pool, considering that you are only a block from Front St. Front St. at night is like a big block party. Breakfast in the morning was around the pool, with four choices, which served up plenty of food. It was also nice to be centrally located on the island. They also share a resort, The Ka'anapoli Beach Resort, is a sister property. So if you wanted to lay out on the beach or enjoy a little more of what a resort has to offer, this is just a short drive up the coast. Room key works for the parking garage and anything you might want to purchase. All In all I recommend Plantation Inn for overall comfort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markinmantua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here for the first time in a poolside room. We were given a warm welcome on arrival and this spirit of aloha carried over the next three days. We were happy with how quiet it was here, and only a short block and a half to Front street action. Breakfast was around the pool in the morning with four choices of main course. Had three different ones all very good. We ate one evening at the on site french restaurant. While it was expensive, the food was excellent. We didn't use our car as there are plenty of shopping and food/beverage options a short walk away.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tk4683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Not a huge fan of large resort hotels so we chose The Plantation Inn for 3 nights after spending a night in Hana. Unlike many B&B's this one feels more like a hotel than staying in someone's home. I'd never before stayed at a B&B that had a breakfast menu - usually you get a so-so buffet or you're fed whatever's on the menu that day. This menu offered many choices and all of the ones we tried were excellent. I loved that it was only a short walk to the craziness that is Lahaina, yet it was so peaceful. I took a swim each afternoon and we always had the pool to ourselves. While we were there Lahaina celebrated "Plantation Days" - a fun local even that was a short walk away. The free parking was appreciated although the spots were tight. We liked the ones on the side street where there were only 3 spots. One of the best things about staying here was the use of the ability to use the Kaanipalii Beach Resort - with some limited validated parking. The beach near the Resort was perfect and the hula show in the evening was fun. The resort's grounds are beautiful - but I think the rooms at the Plantation Inn are nicer. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16 which had a lanai and overlooked the pool. It was a beautiful room and didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JM1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just spent our 7th straight vacation at the Plantation Inn (Oct 26-Nov 5). With new manager wasn't sure if the inn would offer the same "warm, cozy, personal atmosphere" (as in past years). It was excellent as always. Sam, the new manager has excellent personality (fits like a glove with rest of crew!!!). Nancy had the grounds and pool picture perfect (as always). Donna is so accommodating at breakfast. She never makes you feel rushed (even with the other tables demanding her attention). She treats each guest, as though you are the most important guest there. I value Donna's friendship. I enjoy talking with Donna and Nancy - I feel as though I know their families . I don't like BIG RESORTS - The Plantation Inn - is the perfect fit for cleanliness, friendly staff, great location, spacious rooms, excellent breakfast.

Connie

Room Tip: All rooms 18 rooms are great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you like being close to town (one block) but want to feel like you are in a private oasis of calm. Our room was spacious (#16) and was in the section we requested--back building, second floor overlooking the pool. The room had everything we needed: lovely soap, shampoo, lotion, hair dryer, ironing board, iron, air conditioning, flat screen TV, a desk, a chair with a footstool, two larger dressers, a refrigerator, a safe ($1/day if you want to use it; we did not), and the beautiful lanai with comfortable seating, an extra chair and a drying rack for wet towels, etc. The morning breakfasts (included in the price) were very good and more than we needed. As several people have said--it's the most amazing French toast and the eggs Florentine are also outstanding. I usually can only drink espresso (which they don't offer at breakfast) but their "regular" coffee (Hawaiian) was very good. But if you need an espresso fix, go to the "Cafe Cafe" a half block down the street--charming and excellent coffee.

The staff of the Plantation Inn were all friendly, but low key--they were there if we needed them, but we didn't really other than check-in, check-out and reserving dinner at Gerard's, the onsite restaurant. Yes, it's pricey; but we ate outside (on the front porch of the Inn) and it was intimate and friendly. The overhead fans kept the temperature very comfortable the whole time we were there. The service (wait staff) were outstanding--every one of them. Three were working that night and they all wait on you to ensure you get what you need as quickly as possible. They were personable and attentive. The food was excellent (we had the fish of the day--mahi mahi). If you want a special dinner, spring for Gerard's because the food, service and ambiance made a wonderful evening. I will agree, though, it was really too much food with the requirement of ordering an appetizer, entree and dessert in order to use the $50 coupon.

As mentioned above, this Inn is in the heart of Lahaina, so you can walk to all the shopping, oceanside, the famous Banyan tree, the pier where the whale watching boats depart (we did not see any--too early in the season, really). Lots of shopping, but mostly standard tourist fare (but really, I needed to buy a coconut bra for a gift).

If I return to Hawaii, I would like to return to Lahaina. It's a charming, small, older resort town. I would definitely stay at the Plantation Inn, which met all our needs and was cozy, comfortable and very clean. The king size bed was great (I'll post photos soon). It was truly an oasis to come back to each day. Well done to the staff!

Room Tip: Room 16 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsGo2Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

positives: in town location, pool, parking, friendly and helpful staff, we didn't eat there, so can't comment on that. Bed and sheets were ok, bathroom shower was perfectly fine. Air con was up to the task and helpful but did spit out water at one point when changing temperatures.

negatives: not on a beach, says no kids, but a kid with parent in the pool (he didn't bother me, playing moderately loudly but sounded like he was having fun), the lanai had bird and birds nest (didn't feel clean with coffee, if you like birds a lot you might be ok), could hear between rooms (our neighbors were fairly quiet), breakfast is not a buffet, you have to sit down and give an order, etc and we are too busy for that, I think it started at 7 or 7:30, with coffee available earlier - 6:00 am or so. WIfi only worked around the pool and not in the room for us. There was a stink off our lanai (above the garbage? only an hour during the day...)

Probably the biggest gripe I had was tiny ants in the bathroom and on the nightstand. They have bug spray in the closet (good idea) but we didn't really want to spray in a room we're sleeping in and it creeps me out a bit putting my glasses on a side table with a few bugs or the toothbrush in the bathroom. Now, you will read folks defending the bugs as "this is hawaii" but I would not agree. I believe bugs are a challenge in hawaii, but nicer accommodations manage to avoid this problem.

Summary: Maui is overpriced at the moment, but we will pay up a bit and stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefriendlytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,819 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
5.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Inn

Property: The Plantation Inn
Address: 174 Lahainaluna Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1576
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plantation Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romantic getaway you deserve at Maui's Premier Bed and Breakfast, The Plantation Inn. With plantation-style architecture and décor combined with modern amenities such as dual rain showers and whirlpool hot-tub, guests relax in a tranquil oasis in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town. The Inn is situated conveniently less than two blocks from the Lahaina harbor as well as the famous Front Street, known for its range of shops, restaurants, gallery walks and museums. The Plantation Inn is home to Gerard's Restaurant, voted OpenTable's Top Most Romantic Restaurants in North America. Chef Gerard's Contemporary Island French Cuisine consistently earns some of the highest ratings in Hawaii. Come discover why Hawaii Magazine readers named The Plantation Inn "No.1 Best Bed and Breakfast" in Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Expedia so you can book your The Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Lahaina
The Plantation Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing