We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Welcome Surprise!”
Review of The Plantation Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Plantation Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Welcome Surprise!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I love staying in B&B's and decided to forgo the big resorts for a couple of nights at the Plantation Inn. By far the best B&B we have ever stayed at. We loved the place and would stay here again. It is a great value: room cost, breakfast included and free parking. All in the heart of Lahaina.

Room/Suite: phenomenal! Loved the one bedroom suite on the bottom floor that walked right out to the pool. The bathroom shower for two with two rain fixtures was a nice luxury that was unexpected. Comfortable and clean.

Breakfast: Gourmet, plated breakfast from one of the best restaurants in Lahaina can't be beat all pool side

Service: Excellent. Made you feel at home and showed you where everything was.

Pool and hot tub: late night swimming, basically you feel like you have the place to yourself

Do yourself a favor and stay at least two nights in one of the suites before or after your resort stay. Otherwise, just stay here your entire trip if you don't care for beachfront.

Room Tip: Book the walkout suite by the pool! You'll love it and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpf60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    110
    24
    14
    4
See reviews for
22
319
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Thought this place charming and a great start to our honeymoon. Gorgeous cool room, massive comfy bed and quiet. Had brekkie most days which was v nice and pool lovely. Great location for Lahaina town and we were so keen to stay in a place that seemed more Hawaian than a million of these resorts where you could be anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: We stayed in main building and had a lovely time but some other reviews don't rate this. The big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Couples need look no further than this gem of a hotel in downtown Lahaina. Having stayed at one of the big Kaapalani resorts before I can say I enjoyed this hotel much better, especially because we paid about half the price we would have otherwise. We can't wait to come back here!
Pros:
The location is great, with all of central Lahaina's great restaurants and activities within easy walking distance. As soon as you walk out the front door you're looking at the beautiful harbor.
The rooms are large, clean and well-appointed. We had a second floor lanai room with king bed overlooking the pool and enjoyed relaxing on our lanai as much as anything else. From my limited perspective, it seems as though rooms 15-18 are the most desirable so I recommend trying to get one of those.
Privacy: we often felt as though we were the only people staying at the hotel, especially if we were in during the day. Over the course of six days we only once shared the gorgeous pool with any other couple. And the pool is open 24 hours so we could go for late night dips like it was our own.
The breakfasts are included and are delicious. Gerard's, the onsite French restaurant, prepares them to a high standard and they are served poolside. The quality of dinner at Gerard's is excellent, and the chefs created a custom meal for my vegetarian wife that was very appreciated.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Lynette in the front office. There wasn't anything they wouldn't help us with.

Cons:
If you have kids, this isn't the place to bring them. If you're a couple looking to escape for a few days, then this is perfect.

Additional:
Room rate: We got a good deal through Kayak and Otel.com and paid less than $200/night, however the standard rate is well over that.

Room Tip: I recommend trying to get any of rooms 15-18, which are the second floor lanai rooms overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiMike99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you're looking for a B&B Inn, Look no further! Located in downtown Lahaina, just a couple blocks from the waterfront with it's shopping and dining. We had a large, second floor, end room with a sizeable lanai so it was very comfortable for relaxing and enjoying the breeze. Late night swims in the large pool were great to cool off after the hot days. The staff was very friendly and housekeeping was excellent. Breakfasts were great if you enjoy a large meal to start the day. However if you prefer something smaller and quicker, they will provide that as well. Dining at Gerards on the premises was very tasty - especially the deserts - but very pricey. This Inn is not the least expensive but in our view, was well worth it.
The Plantation Inn is easy to get to from the main highway and parking was very convenient - in our case, right outside our room. It is also central to pretty well any activities on the west coast of Maui. Other parts of the island are easily accessible as well.
Would we go back to The Plantation Inn? Absolutely, in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Recommend second floor, end unit - quieter and nice breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_aka_Pricerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Old world feel in a hotel with new world conveniences. Lovely swimming pool. Very comfortable room and reasonably good parking. Convenient to downtown Lahaina; fun to watch surfers and waterfront, where boats leave for lovely snorkeling areas. Good breakfast, though expected gratuity a bit high. In fact, room rate quite high for no-ocean-view. Service by the staff very efficient and accommodating. Overall quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms provide easy access to breakfast and refreshments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We spent the last phase of our honeymoon here and are already planning to return. We enjoyed being walking distance from the energy of Front Street, yet enjoyed the romantic quiet setting when we finished our daily activities. The staff was especially friendly and helpful. We ate several meals based on their recommendations. The poolside breakfast (included in the price) was a great way to start the day. The Eggs Florentine were our favorite.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeandphilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our third time staying at the Plantation Inn. We had a ground floor Lanai room, just off the pool, and were absolutely delighted. Again! The Plantation Inn is located a couple of blocks off of Front Street in Lahaina, so you're only a few minutes away from shopping, restaurants and the ocean. The room was cozy and comfortable and we both slept very well in the comfortable king sized bed. The included breakfast (after all it is a B&B), were delicious. We were there for 7 mornings and between my wife and I, just about covered every item on the menu. The ladies serving breakfast, Delores and Rose, were delightful conversationalists and had lots of insight on where to go and what to see.

Another reviewer mentioned problems with the wireless. There were some issues with the wireless connection (it kept dropping out), but since we weren't there to be connected to the world all the time, it was really a non-issue.

You can bet that we will be returning to the Plantation Inn on our next trip to Maui.

Room Tip: I would suggest calling a good deal ahead of time to reserve and ground level Lanai room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvjneuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
5.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Inn

Property: The Plantation Inn
Address: 174 Lahainaluna Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1576
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plantation Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romantic getaway you deserve at Maui's Premier Bed and Breakfast, The Plantation Inn. With plantation-style architecture and décor combined with modern amenities such as dual rain showers and whirlpool hot-tub, guests relax in a tranquil oasis in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town. The Inn is situated conveniently less than two blocks from the Lahaina harbor as well as the famous Front Street, known for its range of shops, restaurants, gallery walks and museums. The Plantation Inn is home to Gerard's Restaurant, voted OpenTable's Top Most Romantic Restaurants in North America. Chef Gerard's Contemporary Island French Cuisine consistently earns some of the highest ratings in Hawaii. Come discover why Hawaii Magazine readers named The Plantation Inn "No.1 Best Bed and Breakfast" in Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Lahaina
The Plantation Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing