We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Plantation Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lahaina Inn(Lahaina)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort(Lahaina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kaanapali Alii(Lahaina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveler rating
319
127
29
18
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
127
29
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bfront streeteggs florentinelanai roomkilohana suitebed and breakfastpool and jacuzzisister hotelclose to towncomplimentary breakfastdowntown lahainatwo blocksstandard roommain buildingthe ground floorwould definitely stay here againthe location is perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 498 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

While the Plantation Inn is officially labeled as a B&B, it really is an inn, with its 19 rooms, gardens and pool area. Three different parking areas are provided on the property, which is very convenient as parking in Lahaina is otherwise quite difficult. Location is ideal, just two blocks away from Front Street. Lahaina is a beautiful and very walkable town, with a real historic character and many nice shops and restaurants – perfect for those who want to get a different experience of Hawaii than that provided by the standard and impersonal seaside resorts. The Plantation Inn’s nice gardens, the nostalgic colonial style of the buildings, the quietness of the place make it very romantic. We were occupying the Kilohana suite on the second floor, which is decorated in “island tropical style” and provides some 600 sqft and a separate bedroom, as well as a lovely lanai overlooking the pool. The shower was absolutely HUGE, with two overhead rain showerheads. Other amenities are provided like a small fridge, microwave, a safe and free wifi (albeit quite slow). Complimentary breakfast is provided on the poolside terrace, which is great – the only issue being the limited number of tables. The property includes the very reputable Gerard restaurant, however this being a French restaurant we didn’t try it as it didn’t seem to make a lot of sense to us to travel to the opposite side of the world and eat what we had at home… I warmly recommend this place to anyone who prefers intimate, charming places of character over big resorts, despite the higher level of comfort and service which the latter can provide.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lablanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the plantation Inn, in lahaina, maui April 2013. We arrived at the Inn and was greeted immediately, the staff made us feel very welcome. We received a free upgrade to our room and stayed in a beautiful suite. The room was spacious and beautiful. The location is the best by far. Everything was with in walking distance. We rented bikes and snorkels from across the street, and were able to go to all the beautiful beaches. The price of the inn can't be beat. The staff were so kind and helpful to us. There is a beautiful pool and hot tub all private. The pool is opened all night and so we had a few drinks while relaxing in the pool. I loved the plantation inn and all it had to offer this will be our maui vacation choice forever!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As good as ever. We've been at the Plantation Inn a couple of times, interspersed with a staying at the Hyatt Regency. The Plantation Inn is just the right mixture of location and ambiance. The rooms are clean, lovely with the just the right touch of Aloha. In pricey, pricey Maui its great to have a small fridge in the room. The pool is refreshing, as is the hot tub. Breakfast is great and the servers, both Donna and Rose, are warm and helpful. We would much rather stay at the Inn than the Hyatt. Its much more a vacation than a room where everything costs extra. At the Plantation Inn you can park the car (FREE!) and not have to move it for days....restaurants, activities, even a perfect view of the sunset, are steps away. New tip: when you go to return your rental car, fill up at Costco! Gas in Maui is pricey!

Stayed: April 2013
2  Thank H4CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was our first B&B experience and the best part was Gerard's restaurant,which you can't miss. The location of the inn is PERFECT, you can walk to everything. It has that nostalgic old world Hawaiian feel with modern amenities. We chose the Lanai Suite with the king bed and lovely balcony sitting area overlooking the pool. We actually slept with french doors open at night. Breakfast is included at pool side and the pool and jacuzzi are adequate. No children are allowed, so if you are looking for some romantic, alone time, this is the place and there's free parking. However, my husband and I are really "resort" people. I like large suites with ocean views, being on the beach, having room service in the room and by the pool, large soaking tubs,onside golf and spa facilities, so this really wasn't for us, but I can appreciate what it offers.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room in the back house, preferably overlooking the pool, the front is off the street and noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Whenever we visit Maui, the Plantation Inn is the Only place that we will stay...we have even worked out our trips based on Hotel availability. The service is excellent the property while small is beautifully kept and tranquil, and the Breakfasts- the hidden gem. It's a quick walk to Front Street Lahaina so it's very convenient and you won't have to fret about parking. Your trip would not be complete without having dinner at Gerards, to make your vacation a 10 out of 10 when staying at the Plantation Inn

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Islandburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews