We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“This was the best place we stayed on our trip to Hawaii” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plantation Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Plantation Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
asheville, nc
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“This was the best place we stayed on our trip to Hawaii”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We came to Hawaii for the Maui Classic and to visit National Parks. We stayed at 5 hotels and b&bs. This was the nicest. Our room was nice size and beautifully appointed. It is quiet at night. The breakfast is excellent. If I ever come back to Lahaina. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: We had Lanai room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    102
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
18
287
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have had several stays at this property and can say that the staff and atmosphere is wonderful. The rooms are starting to need updating as of a couple years ago. The on Site french restaurant is fantastic and you must have the frois gras, truly decadent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captaincasual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

While it is a small place, only a few rooms, it offers a nice pool to lounge, great breakfast in the morning and a nice restaurant to dine.
We like to stay here for a few nights to just relax. Located steps away from shopping and dining, you have everything you need, no need for a car. I usually get up early at sunrise and walk down to the shore where there is a place to get some coffee and bagels. Get to watch the boats leaving the harbor and sun come up.....beautiful, just beautiful. Read for awhile and then off to start another day in paradise

Rooms are theme furnished and clean. Good for quite relaxation, but I like to go to the big resorts after a couple of nights to enjoy the other side,

Worth checking out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jer7Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

First stop on our trip to Maui after loooong flights from Phila, PA. Too tired to follow up on reservations at their restaurant. Staff welcomed us in, even upgraded our room because of our anniversary. Breakfast was very good though one reject on the bland yogurt and granola (go for the french toast, much better choice). Inn is conveniently located in downtown Lahaina. Staff can/will make recommendations for excursions and dinner choices. Very comfortable room, pool looked very clean. Would recommend as very viable choice over big resorts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterthorsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed for 1 night, great staff upon check-in enjoyed the property and room, but a little pricy and contact with the Manager Herb was a rude experience and his demeanor was to say the least very tactless. Upon check out I was advised by Herb that the property was an adult only property and that I should remember that for future stays and for the properties other returning guests. I was unaware that it was a adult only property and that nothing was said to me upon check-in, yes we had our 10 month baby with us and received only complements from the staff and other guests as to her behavior, but now I was being told to return but my child was not welcome. Really? We will not recommend this property and felt that it is over rated for the price and the treatment from its management staff; it’s a good thing that the staffs have better people skills then Herb the manager. My recommendation is that the organization send Herb to sensitivity training and that they continue his people skills training.

Room Tip: Do not recomend property,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TGallegos41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here five nights in lanai room 16 above the pool.

Room service was excellent and seemed to have a sixth sense about when we were leaving. We'd go out for breakfast and come back to a spotless room and fresh towels. We had high hopes of eating breakfast here but gave up after day two of inedible food and rude service. We did ask the reservation assistant before hand if they could accommodate vegetarian and lactose free and they assured us it was no problem...but that was far from the case. Horrible breakfast. Staff were extremely rude, laughably so actually, we escaped to our room in awe of their lecture about "fixed menu means fixed menu, so you can order your eggs poached or poached, which do you want?"

That said, this location is incredible and there are some fantsastic spots to eat nearby. Try Lahaina Coolers for breakfast or lunch and Lahaina Grill for dinner...amazing food and service at both. The plantation inn cost us 191pn, which was reasonable considering we could walk to everything including the docs where our snorkeling tours left from.


So, we probably won't stay here again and if we do we will prepare ourselves by lowering our expectations before arriving.

Also noteworthy is that the Internet is free because it doesn't work. Free parking is a big bonus.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raynettejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I really have come to love the relaxing atmosphere of this property. Unlike large hotels, the ambiance is very relaxing and the breakfast prepared by the restaurant Gerard's on site is delicious! Recommend walking along Front Street in Lahaina after the great breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
8.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
5.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Inn

Property: The Plantation Inn
Address: 174 Lahainaluna Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1576
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plantation Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romantic getaway you deserve at Maui's Premier Bed and Breakfast, The Plantation Inn. With plantation-style architecture and décor combined with modern amenities such as dual rain showers and whirlpool hot-tub, guests relax in a tranquil oasis in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town. The Inn is situated conveniently less than two blocks from the Lahaina harbor as well as the famous Front Street, known for its range of shops, restaurants, gallery walks and museums. The Plantation Inn is home to Gerard's Restaurant, voted OpenTable's Top Most Romantic Restaurants in North America. Chef Gerard's Contemporary Island French Cuisine consistently earns some of the highest ratings in Hawaii. Come discover why Hawaii Magazine readers named The Plantation Inn "No.1 Best Bed and Breakfast" in Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Lahaina
The Plantation Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing