We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Lahaina
Open today: 7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel
from $73.30
More Info
from $104.42
More Info
from $129.22
More Info
from $103.11
More Info
Reviews (2,116)
Filter reviews
2,116 results
Traveler rating
1,944
101
33
15
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,944
101
33
15
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain ryan whale watch small boat vip tour zodiac boat tail slaps hour tour active whales larger boats whale activity fast boat whale behavior small group baby whale mother and calf great trip great whale
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 2,116 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed 12 days on Maui in December, and did six whale watching tours with Ultimate. Every single one was superb!

I like the improvements to the check-in process, where you’re given a number based on the order you checked in. This stops people from crowding around at departure time. All seats are great though, so you can’t go wrong.

I also like their policy of advising people on the whale side of the boat to stay seated, and people on the other side to view over top of the seated people. So civilized!

All of the captains and marine biologists / naturalists on board were excellent. They all have a lot of experience, and tons of information to share. I learned a lot!

We saw whales on every tour, and even saw a huge school of spinner dolphins on one tour. We covered a lot of area, heading in every direction from the marina, so each tour was unique.

We did mostly 2-hour tours, and one 3-hour tour, at various times of the day, in various weather. No specific time was better for seeing the whales. I would recommend that you spend as many hours as possible on the water, and book with Ultimate, for fun and adventure!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank KLM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_Team_Ultimate_, Manager at Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Mahalo for your feedback, great info on everything from the check in process to weather and time of day for whale watching (its all great)! So stoked you came out with us! see you next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

They promised whales and they delivered. I lost count of how many we saw. The highlight was a group of competing males who were slapping tails and heads on the water and breaching repeatedly. The pilot and naturalist were skilled and knowledgeable. We’ve done whale watch tours in New England, CA, Alaska, and Iceland. This was by far the best.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Jenni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_Team_Ultimate_, Manager at Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So stoked this was your best tour yet! Comp pods are so exciting to watch! Mahalo for going out with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Have had two great three hour trips this week and we are finishing our Maui vacation with a final “ultimate” trip of fun. Both captain Nick and Gabe have been great as were the naturalists Emma and Hanna. It seems with this company that they ever disappoint. We really appreciate knowing how far they venture to thrill their customers. Kal halo in advance of our third trip for another great year! A hue hou!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank ResourceTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_Team_Ultimate_, Manager at Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mahalo for being dedicated whale lovers like us! Stoked you had fun and saw a lot of whales on both your 2 hour tours! see you next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This was the second whale watch we did with Ultimate during our most recent 10 day stay on Maui. The Captains and Naturalists on board are awesome! Our first trip was with Captain Amy and Bo was our naturalist! The Captain did a great job of getting us on whales and Bo did an excellent job, as always explaining everything “whale”. We had 8 breaches on that trip! Our second trip was the 3 hour morning tour with Captain Gabe and Hannah as our naturalist! Again, outstanding boat skills by the Captain and he and Hannah did an awesome job spotting whales and getting us close to them to watch all the activity! I love the small, fast Zodiac rafts for their maneuverability and speed and for letting you be so close to the water! Book a tour and see and learn about the Humpbacks!

Thank RhondaMathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_Team_Ultimate_, Manager at Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow 8 breaches!! Thats incredible! They must have been showing off a little bit for you guys! Mahalo for going out with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

One of the best times of my life. The captain (Joel) and the marine specialist (Brittany) knew exactly where to go to find whales. Two juvenile males played around our boat for probably 45 min, coming almost close enough to touch. We even got the opportunity to put snorkel masks on and put our faces in the water- almost face to face with a humpback! Couldn’t have asked for more!

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank 348erinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_Team_Ultimate_, Manager at Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow so epic you got mugged! Love when the whales decide to come check out our small little boats! So cool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews