We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many to choose from”

Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The BEST small group ocean rafting tours since 1982, Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel invites you to snorkel Lanai with us, as well as share photographic, non-threatening close-encounters with Dolphins, Whales and Turtles! Our rafting vessels host less than 26 guests per trip, creating a fun and uncrowded experience with Maui's marine life! We offer two different Lanai snorkeling tours, 4.5 and 6.5 hours on the water! Our snorkeling tours include snacks and meals, gear and multiple snorkel stops where you will be able to spot a variety of marine life along with our most beloved ocean friends, the dolphins! From December through May, Humpback Whale encounters are guaranteed and the crystalline offshore waters frequently provide a passing subsurface eye-to-eye view as we host tours, photography session and research groups. Make a difference and experience one of the last remaining great migrations of the Animal Kingdom. Your ticket supports freeing of entangle whales, whale research and education on Maui! See you out on the water!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Taos, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So many to choose from”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

When it was time to book a whale watch adventure there were so many companies to choose from But taking the advice of others on trip advisor I did an early morning whale watch on their yellow zodiac style raft. Knowledgeable captain, nice size group of 20; they amplified the whale songs going on below us and found us plenty of whales. 5 stars.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank J87571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,077
    67
    22
    9
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome Adventure!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

If your looking to book a whale watching tour....look no further. These guys are amazing. Ryan and Noni did a great job getting us super close to the whales. We even had a large group of male whales following a female that a bunch of them swam directly under our raft. Unlike the big boats that carry 100 plus passengers the competition for photos on those boats can be a big challenge. Their rafts only carry 18 people max. You won't miss a whale jumping...everyone gets the pictures they want. We were so impressed at how well they navigated the waters and how friendly they were, we booked another tour with them before we leave. We visit Maui every year and always book whale watching tours...I know for sure we'll be booking with these guys each time we come! Mahalo!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ral05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Amazing experience!!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a MUST do!!!! Went out with Captain Ryan and Noni and had about 10 whales within 200 metres of our boat including 3 that kept swimming under us.

It was an amazing experience to see the whales up close and breaching all around us!!

Would highly recommend Ultimate Whale Watch - it's a smaller boat so regardless of what seat you are sitting in you will have a good view of the whales (much better than the bigger companies that have 100+ people on board). UWW only have a max of 18 people on board and I do believe because it's a smaller boat, it does go faster and can go further out to see where all the action is while other boats can't.

Definitely a must do when visiting Maui!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank age_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“This is the Ultimate in Whale Watching”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been to Maui many times and have gone whale watching on many different boats. This is by far the best experience you can have. Their small fast boat allows them to position you to always see whales up close and personal. Their crews understand how to position the boat for you to get the best views and best photographs. I do a lot of serious photography, and Ultimate Whale Watch was suggested to me by a professional photographer in Hawaii, who uses them exclusively for his work. We had such a great time last Thursday that we signed up for the following Tuesday as soon as we got off the boat ( with a discount for the second trip, I might add). Don't miss this chance of a life time to really enjoy whale watching!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dlevitsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Adventure!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a great time today. We saw many whales and got as close as possible. One whale swam under out boat. This tour is so exciting because the pontoon boat in small so you get close to the water and they know where to go. I highly recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taryn-Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel also viewed

 

Been to Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing