We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale watching at its best”

Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The BEST small group ocean rafting tours since 1982, Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel invites you to snorkel Lanai with us, as well as share photographic, non-threatening close-encounters with Dolphins, Whales and Turtles! Our rafting vessels host less than 26 guests per trip, creating a fun and uncrowded experience with Maui's marine life! We offer two different Lanai snorkeling tours, 4.5 and 6.5 hours on the water! Our snorkeling tours include snacks and meals, gear and multiple snorkel stops where you will be able to spot a variety of marine life along with our most beloved ocean friends, the dolphins! From December through May, Humpback Whale encounters are guaranteed and the crystalline offshore waters frequently provide a passing subsurface eye-to-eye view as we host tours, photography session and research groups. Make a difference and experience one of the last remaining great migrations of the Animal Kingdom. Your ticket supports freeing of entangle whales, whale research and education on Maui! See you out on the water!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Whale watching at its best”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Excellent morning out with Noni and Ryan. We had six in our party aged 19 to 80! We saw lots of whales up close. We took videos and many pictures. Crew was very knowledgable about whales and whale behavior. The boat ride was a blast and having only 18 on the boat made it a much better trip ( no crowding) . Everybody loved it and we highly recommend this trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jools7leblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,072
    67
    22
    9
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, IA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My adult daughter and I took an 11 am departure with Ultimate - we were not disappointed. It was a 20-25 minute high-speed ride (only slightly bumpy) out to the whales. Spent well over an hour and saw many, many whales as well as a number of dolphins. The small craft makes it highly maneuverable. Crew were pleasant and knowledgeable. There was no attempt to cut short the experience - we didn't disembark until about 1:20 - we certainly felt it was a good value. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BettendorfTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must go !”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I went with my wife and we had a wonderfull time. We saw huge whales and they were jumping out of the water ! The skipper, the boat, the ride, everything was perfect. Thank you all!

Helpful?
2 Thank Gusmera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ultimate Whale Watch”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you want an up close and exciting whale watch experience, Ultimate Whale Watch is the way to go. This is a Zodiac type boat so you are literally right on top of the water. The boat was able to travel and maneuver quickly to find the whales. When the whales moved we were able to respond much better and quicker than the large boats.
Captain Ryan and first mate Noni are well informed and provide valuable information about whales. Their love for the whales is obvious. They were as excited about seeing the whales as the rest of us. They are friendly and personable, calling many of us by name by the end our our 2 hour experience.
We were expecting 2 hours in the sun, but most of the boat is protected with a sun shade.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank trentandcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Snorkel tour with a side of whale watching”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Really enjoyed our time with Ryan and Noni. While the weather was a little grey and damp, the fact that we ended up having a close encounter with several whales (swam up to and under boat) made up for the weather. The boat is very intimate and much more fun than on a big catamaran or ship. Highly recommend and we chose them based on reviews on trip advisor. Well worth it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank osubeaver87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel also viewed

 

Been to Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing