We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
Reviewed April 16, 2006

My husband, my kids( aged 8 and 10)and I stayed at the Westin From March 31 till April 7 2006.We had an awesome time.

Check in was easy and the upgraded us from a partial ocean view to a full ocean view over looking the pools. It was Beautiful! the only downside was the millions of birds squaking as soon as the sun rose.

The rooms were a little on the small side but the beds were great ( the most comfortable hotel beds that I've slept in. Also the shower has 2 shower heads that were a nice treat.

We put the Kids in the night time kiddie Kare the 2nd night and they kept bagging to go back. They loved Ester Lynn and the geko hunt, not to mention the x-box, air hockey, foose ball basket ball games and crafts. They ended up going there 3 times. (bonus alone time for Mom and Dad!!!)

Other than the birds the only other downside was that the resort food was very expensive. I would recomend stopping at the local safeway and picking up some breakfast food. Also the whalers village is next door and there is some great restraunts there.

Aloha

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,112
    1,554
    728
    397
    220
See reviews for
1,588
2,202
79
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2006

This property is beautiful and looks exactly like all the best photos you've seen of it. Unfortunately, we were not thrilled with it, as it was MUCH too 'busy' to be truly relaxing -- and we were very turned off by the theme park nature of the design and layout. (We are well traveled, early 40's) Shops and internet cafe are located in the open air lobby, which is just steps from one of the pools... this design makes it seem as if you are "relaxing" in your bathing suit, with book and tropical drink: in a busy shopping mall! This seemed very weird to us. We prefer much more secluded and peaceful (authentic) island resorts -- and realize we made a mistake choosing this property. This is not, therefore, a negative review, simply our 'take' on this property to help those still deciding. Be advised: this is a very popular, busy property. Finding a chair to layout was a bit of a trick. There were hundreds it seemed, and all were full. Service was excellent, we were always brought tropical drinks, and even served lunch right in our loungers, and the beach is simply terrific. But, this area is certainly not the lovely, quiet, peaceful, "Swaying Palm Trees" Hawaii you may be dreaming of....we found other less crowded areas to be much more our style. Here at the Westin were lots of kids, families, and busy-ness. It was actually hard to concentrate on reading a book by the pool, with all the commotion... bring some VERY light reading, that doesn't take much concentration! Our room was spectacular, bed, design, decor, view, all top notch. We just would rather not vacation at a "theme park" and prefer the 'real thing' to the 'fake thing'. That said, the waterslide WAS fun. But, we found it annoying to wear bright pink bracelets to allow you to use the pool and slide; if you did not wear it, you were not allowed to go down the slide(!) I actually had to make my way back down the steps, and hike over to the water sports pavilion, at one point, since I forgot my bracelet, and the attendent wouldn't let me go down... so -- paying upwards of $350 a night, plus an average of another $150 for poolside drinks and snacks, per DAY.. and being reduced to a "pink plastic bracelet wearing just-a-number", is a bit of a downer.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank karilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 13, 2006

My boyfriend and I were looking for a quiet getaway, and I insisted on Westin for their Heavenly Bed, my favorite. I was disappointed to find that my favorite fluffy bed was hard, lumpy, and not heavenly at all. The hotel was besieged with families with screaming children. Maybe it was the place to be, because the Westin has a lot of pools, and lots of animals in their courtyard lagoon (parrots, flamingoes, koi fish, all kinds of birds). The breakfast buffet was average in quality, selection, and flavor. Also, when we went to the beach, we waited 10 minutes for someone to set up chairs for us (since we weren't allowed to do it ourselves). Finally, we grabbed them ourselves, only to be chased after but the cabana boy. We explained how we waited, then he let us go with no charge for the chairs. Not sure I'd stay here again.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2006

after reading all the reviews before our trip. had to share our experience. we had a very smooth check in and were upgraded to the Beach Tower. this is the tower with the larger rooms and a real closet. I would definitely try to get into the newer tower.
we got a few postcards at our door to get us down to see the timeshare but we picked up our
free gift and just declined. no pressure or problems.
Just like Maui, the Westin restaurants are pricey BUT if you have kids, the kids eat free part does save you some money. we loved the food at tropica. we loved the bath products, good sized room, the property is clean and friendly, staff is nice, spa is beautiful, great location, close to whalers village.
pool chairs are padded and comfy.
CONS: the pools, the pools. the pools at Westin are freezing. they were freezing every day and many guests were annoyed. the kids still go in and come out with their teeth chattering. one day someone is going to get sick..the front desk, etc gave us different excuses but this has been posted so much that its got to be the Westin. we walked down to the other resorts and all other pools were so much warmer to the touch!.
all in all, we did have a nice, pleasant stay but for the high room rate. cold pools, and the ridiculous resort fee, they didn't help us gain any loyalty to this particular resort.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Oshkosh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2006

We received an offer to go to the Westin Maui a few months ago, so thought we'd enjoy a quick trip during spring break this year. Since we own a Marriott timeshare on Maui, we are very familiar with the Westin's location, and Maui in general.

Pros: Checking into the Westin was very easy, and we were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a 9th floor room with a view of the mountains. We had 2 queen beds and plenty of space to move around. We didn't feel that the room was undersized at all, and the Heavenly Bed was everything the Westin says it is. The grounds were gorgeous and very clean, and the pools were loads of fun. Self-parking was very easy and we never had trouble finding a spot. We had a refrigerator and safe, both of which I think are "must haves" on Maui. The location on Kaanapali beach is the best, being next to Whaler's Village and in the middle of the "strip". They offered a shuttle to the other Starwood properties so we could have used the amenities, but since pool use wasn't part of that, we didn't see the point.

Cons: We opted to sit through the timeshare presentation for an extra $100 voucher. This was a mistake as it took far longer than 90 minutes and at the end the finance guy immediately began pressuring us. They started out telling us how unique their Starwood program was, but the more they talked, the more it sounded like the program we have with our Marriott timeshare. When it was all said and done, we simply couldn't see how spending $45,000 plus a yearly maintenance fee of $1800 was a "bargain".

The daily resort fee was $18 and paid for water, a newspaper, parking, and admission to the workout facility. It would have been nice to be able to opt out of it and pay a $3 a day parking fee instead. I found it amazing that a resort that charges $350+ for a room will nickel and dime people the "resort fee". For $350+ a night everything should be included IMO (except meals).

I've read reviews here about kids running up and down the hall. We had the exact same experience, including a family who fought so loudly that we could hear them through their door as we walked down the hall.

All in all we had a great time at the Westin. Would we go back? No. We felt that the property seriously overcharged for the rooms and amenities, and we were so turned off by the pressured sales pitch that even if we had been interested in a timeshare, we likely wouldn't have purchased from them because they made us so uncomfortable.

Helpful?
17 Thank Warmwaterdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2006

AFter reading a lot of the reviews on the Westin I felt a need to chime in. We stayed there in September of 2001. We were actually just waking up as 9/11 was happening. We also got married there. We found the hotel to be great. The rooms were just slightly smaller than I expected, but hey guys when your in Hawaii, are you really staying in the room that much? I thought the hotel was beautiful, the staff very helpful, specially considering the circumstances during our stay. The views were breath taking, we had poolviews, mountains to one side, and the ocean to the other, all from our balcony. We used the laundry service..to press dh suit and my wedding gown..without problems. We also used their wedding services and everything was excellent. The photos, had my makeup and hair done in the room, the flowers, the video, the wedding, perfect. By the way our wedding cake...made by the Westin..the best!!

  • Stayed September 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crewsrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2006

My wife and I were at the Westin for a night because Hyatt had overbooked. The Westin provides free internet access as well as free bottled water in your room. They gave us a ocean side view room and it was great. We hung out at the bar and played some pool. Honestly, it's the same as the Hyatt with the exception of free internet and bottled water.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beanstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing