We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My family and I stayed from June 17 - 23, 2014.

The location was ideal: in the middle of the beach activity and in the center of where you want to be.

The staff obviously wants to be there and enjoy what they are doing.

The concierge staff is very thorough and there are a lot of them available. Mike in particular is very helpful.

The Sugar Shack is the weak spot but the Starbucks, and Relish are both very accommodating especially the server Oswaldo.

The pool is incredible and has areas for everybody to enjoy.

Housekeeping staff has to deal with a lot including beach sand but they keep the place beautiful.

General Manager, Gregg Lundgren and his team are first class.

Don't think twice about whether or not to stay here, it is incredible!

Room Tip: Book the ocean view side on the top floors even if you pay the premium it is well worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick_J_Lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to provide your review. We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time. We are appreciative of your kind words and thank you for recognizing Mike, Oswaldo, and of course, Mr. Lundberg. Our team could not be prouder to say that we are passionate about providing you and all of our guests with a unique and memorable Westin Maui stay. Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home. We look forward to many more welcome backs. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,107)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,982 - 1,988 of 5,108 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

My family and I stayed in a newly refurbished Executive Suite (Room 1109) from 22 June 2014 for 7 nights. The room is brand new, air con is good, beds and pillows are good, the shower is immaculate with no mould anywhere, housekeeping was generous leaving extra towels/shampoo/conditioner given there were 4 of us (without me asking for it, they just did it voluntarily). Note only 1 of the 2 towers in this property is refurbished, and rooms in the new tower probably cost more, but they are very nice and modern and clean. An Executive Suite is perfect for a family of 4. Second note - reception often has very long queues, although some people are so rude to the staff (these people are on holiday apparently - REALLY?) that by the time I got to the front of the line 40 mins later I felt more sorry for the staff than myself! Staff are good too - very polite, speak nicely to them they respond in double. For those of you who have read my other reviews, this hotel is NOT the Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong nor the Four Seasons, but it doesnt pretend to be a hotel for serious exec/work travel, it is an excellent choice for this part of Maui and I feel it is currently best choice available in this area. Beach is to die for - forget the pool (although the pool at this hotel is nevertheless a good one). H.

Room Tip: Get a room in the newly refurbished block, higher floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zxcbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We hadn't been to Maui in 20 years so we were excited to go and bring along our kids (ages 13 and 9). The resort is beautiful with lots of pools, a water slide, pool volleyball (you have to bring your own volleyball or pay $20 for one there). There's even an adult only pool with bar which is nice and quiet. We had room 858 which was considered the superior garden/partial ocean view. The view from our room was stunning and the sunsets even more. It's spacious with 2 double beds and it was clean. The beds are small for 2 people and they don't offer a king bed/queen sleep sofa unless you get a suite. The resort sits right on the beach and there's a long walkway/running path. Whaler's village is right next door and the coffee place in the village offers great coffee, and breakfast (we ate Acai bowls a few times and it was delicious). There's a shuttle bus that takes you to Lahaina but we had a car so we didn't use it. The gym is nice overlooking the pool area with lots of cardio equipment, free weights and a few machines. The food is good but pricey. There's a Starbucks on the premise but it's outrageously expensive. Two venti regular coffees, 3 ham and egg croissant sandwiches will set you back $42.00. There is a Starbucks down the road about 10 minutes but you have to drive there. Well worth it if you're there for 10 days like we were. The coffee in the room is terrible if you're used to strong coffee. The resort restaurants close down early (10:00pm and the cooks are out the door at 10:00pm) but then again so does Maui so if you want to eat you're best bet is to take advantage of the many Sunset specials (eat before 5:00 or Happy Hour from 2-5pm for 1/2 price items). Otherwise, like us we were too busy enjoying the beach/pool to eat that early so we always missed the specials so that was another downside. Overall the resort is worth it for us. Our kids got to enjoy the pool and beach, we got to relax and it was a beautiful run in the mornings along the board walk. The only major downside was there was no bar where you could sit and watch the sunset or enjoy the view. It would be so nice to sit and relax at the end of the day, watch the sunset and enjoy a cocktail. The ambiance is more family oriented but even those of us with kids enjoy a great view with a cocktail every once in awhile, especially when we're in Maui.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains have a better view higher up, the ones on floors 1-3 have a view of the p...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ntaormina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I travel a lot and stayed at a number of properties on Maui. I was a little concerned by some of the reviews when I booked this hotel, as it seemed a mixed bag.

Overall, the property was fine. It's well located on "the hotel strip" and right next to mini mall of shops / restaurants. The free shuttle bus to Lahaina was a nice plus, would recommend making use of it.

The rooms were ok, but not spectacular. I'd usually expect more when you're paying $300+ a night, but this is Maui. The pool was great, and busy as you'd expect. I will agree that on weekends there's an influx of locals that makes it even busier which is a little annoying. However, we always manged to find a chair although shade may be a scarce commodity. Their cabana rentals seemed reasonable, although did not take advantage of it. Pool service was hit or miss, with some servers friendly and fast while others were slow and surly.

Breakfast was great and included in the room rate that I had. The burger bar is OK and as others have noted a little pricey. Check out the happy hours at the various restaurants on the property, they are quite reasonable.

The beech is awesome as is the trail that runs in front of the hotel.

I'd stay here again quite happily although would most probably avoid peak season as I can see how it would get busy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TelfordAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

After having two children just 17 months apart, our family treated us to time off to visit Maui sans children. The Westin Maui Resort did not let us down. The location is perfect for diving at nearby Black Rock. The Whaler's Village has great shopping. Numerous restaurants are near-by. However, do NOT skip eating at the Westin! This was such a treat. The service is the best. They will remember you by name. The breakfast buffet is delicious: tons of fresh fruit (papaya with lime), omelets made to order, excellent salsas, jams, etc. You can not go wrong by frequenting this breakfast hotspot, located outside along the pool area. If you are a breakfast person like I am, you will be singing high praises. And you will thank me. Guten Appetit!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingGrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

We can't blame you for your tagline. Breakfast certainly can't be missed at the Westin Maui. We are so glad that you enjoyed not just the food, but our team members who go the extra mile to make you feel at home. Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again soon. A Hui Hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was our first stay in Maui, and I'm glad we chose the Westin Resort and Spa. Their Luau was fantastic, and Ty was extremely helpful with our rentals for swimming. Ask for him when you check out towels and equipment. Walking down the beach, no other place compares to The Westin.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pandabear1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. Just as you said, we too are glad that you chose to stay at the Westin Maui. Thank you for your kind words about Ty. We are truly lucky to have him and others who go above and beyond to provide extraordinary service. We will be sure that he is recognized. Thank you again for your feedback. We can't wait to welcome you back to Ka'anapali again, soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel was busy and parking was always a zoo. Structure feels dated, however for the price you can't beat it's location to the beach and great snorkeling at Black Rock. Save money at meals, go eat at Whaler's Village, which is almost attached at the north side.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,066 reviews
22.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $328 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing