We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really relaxed no better place to do this”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was our first time visiting Maui and we were very impressed with the Westin. Great service, food and location. our room met our needs and we slept so well. my only criticism was not enough drink service in the adult pool.

Room Tip: Ocean View is nice to wake up to and see the sun set
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,107)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,124 - 2,130 of 5,107 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

There is no better location than the Westin. You are right next door to the Whalers Village which offers great dining choices as well as shopping from high end stores to the ABC store. I stayed at this Westin before the remodel and was not thrilled with the room. However, the location was enough to bring me back to the hotel again. I was overjoyed to see my room this year. The remodel has made it not only a great location but now I even enjoyed the room. The shuttle service is very helpful for those who do not rent a car. The hours of operation were perfect as well. My entire trip was perfect. If available in your package I recommend taking the offer of the free breakfast buffet each morning of your stay. It has everything one could imagine and is of good quality. it saved us a lot of money. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: It does not hurt to ask if there is an upgrade available when you check in. I was upgraded to a gard...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Recently here for a wedding. My husband and I love to travel and usually prefer smaller properties. Most of the wedding party was staying here and we wanted to be with friends, etc. Beach is beautiful and a few times we wanted to be up at the pool and enjoy the hot tub. BUT, the adult pool was enforced. Mind you - we love kids and have children. But, sometimes you want a little break and you DO NOT get this there. Most adult only pools are one entry and an attendant monitors. We went to sit in the hot tub and one couple even asked the attendant - "is it ok for her to sit with us" and next thing you know their daughter (about 10) is in the spa and two of her friends come in with her. The next day, we walked by and there were probably 5 teens in the spa. The grounds here are beautiful - well kept, and the property is well staffed - attentive, smiles and more. Would we go back? Probably not - just too big, too busy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpa2az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

When we first checked in, we were placed in a lower category room. (We had CALLED and upgraded to a Premium Deluxe Ocean View - mainly because of reviews on Trip Advisor, and how folks felt there might have been a bait and switch) Did not realize this until in the room and went directly to the front desk and then was placed in the "correct" room category. That being said, when in a premium deluxe OCEAN view room, one expects to see the ocean, not palm tree frondsand the roof of the mezzanine level. Being exhausted from traveling from the East Coast, we did not have the energy to ask for a different room. However, the next morning (first thing) we did and we were moved in a very acceptable room, many thanks to Wayne for his assistance. The housekeeping basics were done, but anything that needed to be restocked; glass ware that was used, ice bucket liners, etc, was never done. The chair back cushion was missing. We found it tucked in the curtains. Do not know how this was unnoticed. Had to ask several times for additional towels. Not sure why four bath towels are not stocked in a beach resort location daily. Arriving up to the hotel's entrance was always interesting, and we don't mean good. No direction was given to guests as they were pulling up. This led to people parking across the expanse of the wide driveway, which lead to a complete shut down, no one could move. This happened several times during our stay. We needed to have some laundry done, jeans, shorts and a couple of tee shirts that had spots on them from traveling (all very removable) - was returned that day, and unfortunately we did not look at the items until we were packing and realized that all of the spots were still there!!! The blame should fall on all management. The hotel employees that we met all seemed to care. Having a superior to double check their work, to help them and the hotel work better, would be a good thing.

Room Tip: If you request a premium deluxe ocean view room - make sure that is what you receive!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was our first time visiting Maui and we were very impressed with the Westin. The grounds were meticulous, the rooms were comfortable and very clean. The view was spectacular. We were there when the humpback whales were mating. We simply sat in beach chairs around the pool and watched as they breached.

The staff was very friendly - everyone in Maui seemed to be. :) The hotel sits along a beautiful walking path along the beach which leads to shopping, restaurants and a Starbucks. The only thing I would say is that the breakfast buffet was very expensive. Towards the end of our stay we would go for a walk and just grab a coffee and bagel at Starbucks. Along our walk we realized this was the prettiest hotel along that beach. We rarely left the hotel as all the amenities we were looking for were right at the hotel.
We definitely want to go back to explore more.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun4shore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Truth is I love this place. It's been recently remodeled and the room I'm in right now is much better than the rooms I've stayed in the past 3 years. Yes, this is my 4th year in a row here. That might be enough of a review for many. Last year my stay was marred by being moved from one room to another, twice. I've no doubt this is a rare occur here, or anywhere, but it did happen to me. It was awful.

But, the resort has been remodeled and they recognized the mistakes of last year and are bending over this year to make it great. And it is. I'll be back next year.

This us probably the best kid friendly in Lahina. If my kids were not young I'd probably stay somewhere else just for variety but this pool and the kids club are hard to beat.

Caution, they might try and pass a partial ocean view on the tower side off as an ocean view. Don't let them. They will call it an Ocean View Deluxe. The rooms are bigger. You can see the ocean over the strip mall and if you are on a lower floor you'll hear all the AC units from the same. Don't be fooled, that is not the ocean and an ocean view from the left of your lanai over a strip mall is not an ocean view in anyone's book.



Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Benny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear 485Bob,

We sincerely apologize for not meeting the basic expectations of your stay. We are disappointed to read what must have been an upsetting experience. Please know that your comments have been forwarded to our team leaders for immediate follow up. We have sent you a private message requesting to personally discuss further details of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Again, we apologize and look forward to speaking with you. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Arrived on a late Thursday night. They checked us in without an issue with great Aloha. Then Friday late afternoon as we returned to our room there was a bad smell of epoxy paint in the room and corridor. So they offered us a room change but we said we wait till return from hoping the smell would go away. Well when we got home there was a bottle of wine in the room but it was still bad so we ask to move.

In the new room I noticed a smell in the area where our bed was but didn't say anything. We woke up the next morning and it was pouring rain till about 2pm. We got back to the hotel from our day at the Maui Aquarium. The sun was out we took the kids to the water slide getting there at 3:30pm. Well at 5pm they closed the water slide, it's a Saturday at a resort hotel sun still out and they close the water slide. Ask the pool attendant what was up they said "we don't work for the hotel and we close at five see at 9am tomorrow." What resort hotel closes the water slide at 5pm on the weekend. Unreal

So Saturday night we get back to the room and now my GF smells something in the room but we can't find it. Well we found it Sunday morning it smelled like piss under the sheets. So we left a note.

With a resort hotel you expect better but this was more like a motel.

Room Tip: Check your room thoroughly before unpacking
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 485Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

We sincerely apologize for not meeting the basic expectations of your stay. We are disappointed to read what must have been an upsetting experience. Thank you for allowing us to speak with you persoanlly and making things right. Your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated and has been shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back for a better, different and special stay in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,066 reviews
22.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $328 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing