We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous pools and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Gorgeous pools and location”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is our second visit to the Westin Maui and it really works well for traveling with the kids. The pools are definitely the prettiest on Ka'anapali and the beach right out back is perfect. We loved running on the boardwalk every morning. Our teenage son loved the location because he could wander next door to Whaler's Village. We stayed in a superior ocean view room in the renovated Ocean tower and having coffee on the glassed-in balcony every morning was wonderful. A bonus is that the glass walls shield you from the crazy Maui winds. The rooms are very small…the other tower, which has not been renovated, has much larger rooms. The workout room is great. The restaurants are mediocre at best but we never eat at the hotel. There is a fridge in your room so we bought cereal and yogurt and had breakfast in the room. This is a great way to save some money since breakfast out for the three of us the first morning was $70! I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway since it's very busy but don't hesitate to bring your family here.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,087
    1,540
    718
    394
    218
See reviews for
1,556
2,183
78
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Our US Airways flight was cancelled, and we were given 2 days of lodging, transportation, and food credits for the Westin. Check in was very slow, but friendly. I was surprised we didn't get a better orientation to hotel. The 2 rooms we recieved were remodeled, and looked very nice. We had a balcony that overlooked the parking area. One of the rooms had an extremely itchy bed. I looked for bed bugs, but didnt see any. We slept in the other room with double beds. The shampoo, conditioner, soap, and lotion supplied were exception (White Tea). We were given a $5 credit a day, for reusing our towels. Food was expensive. We passed the $30 breakfast buffet, and went next store at the Whalers for an omlet that was $7. We at the onsite Burger place called the "Relish". Service was so...slow and the online prices were a dollar cheaper than the menu prices. The food was good, an at $17 a burger...it should be. Go to burger place in Whaler for much better prices, entertainment, happy hour, and food. Westin allowed us to use their microwave , located near Starbucks. I really appreciated that! Swimming pool had a 120ft slide, but was not heated as stated. The beautiful grounds had waterfalls, koi, swans, beautiful birds, and flamingos. The shuttle to each of their hotels was nice, as well as to lots of shopping areas. Two bottles of water, wiifi,use of pool and yummy coffee were provided in resort fee. I would have given a 5, but not sure why we hot bites while we laid on one of the beds, and an area of the hotel was vovered with left over food from a banquet for 1/2 near where we went in and out of to get to Whalers. Overall, I loved the location, and the beautiful grounds. Would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toughone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Westin Maui could not be more perfect! Perfect pool for kids and adults right on the best beach in Maui. Within walking distance to shops and yummy restaurants and a close drive to downtown Lahaina. Bkfst buffet was delicious. Will def be returning in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjnewlywed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
What a great tagline! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to have been your home away from home. We will certainly be here to provide with yet another Westin Maui stay that you will LOVE, LOVE, LOVE! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2014

First time we went we stayed at the Hyatt. This time we stayed at the Westin and can not stay anywhere else. The view is beautiful and the people are so friendly. Additionally, we love the sandy beaches and beautiful water.

Room Tip: Get one that faces the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieO35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Mahalo for your review. We are delighted to hear about your amazing vacation. We hope you left with wonderful memories that will last until the next time you are here. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We await your return. A Hui Hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Located on the best beach in Maui (Ka'anapali) you're walking distance and a short drive from abundant dining, shopping, and activities. The resort designed to be open, lush & tropical, as well as family friendly. The service is friendly and accommodating. The rooms have been updated in the ocean tower which can't be overlooked. They did a great job with the appointments and design. The Westin rewards Platinum guests with little bonuses and expert service throughout the trip, you will feel very taken care of.

Highlights : Swimming with sea turtles at Blackrock, lounging by the beach or pool in a private cabana, relaxing in the newly renovated ocean tower rooms, taking our breakfast every morning at Relish Bistro.

Room Tip: Request a room in the newly renovated Ocean Towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge City, Kansas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I am a Starwood Platinum so do 25 stays per year at their properties. I also travel enough to accumulate quite a few stays with Hilton, Marriot, independents, etc., so the opinion below isn't completely baseless. In summary this hotel is merely ok and it's hard to justify given the other properties you find in Hawaii and the travel burden associated with getting here. To show some good faith, I'll highlight pros as well as cons.

Pro

1. Pool area - very extensive and beautiful layout
2. Beach access - easy and the hotel is obviously well located
3. Views
4. Geography - it's in Maui, which is a good start
5. Gym - nice fitness center and spa area

Cons

1. Service - hit or miss in terms of whether you get a helpful staff member or a rude and irritable one. Not something you find at true luxury properties. We left our room yesterday at 9 a.m., returned at 2 p.m. and hadn't been serviced. They didn't seem to find this odd.
2. Food - Few options on property. Breakfast is a real joke. It is served in a ballroom which is cavernous and dark. You sit at huge round tables where they will also stick people from outside your party. Feels like a cruise. The breakfast buffet is also not good. Much of the food is cold and of low quality. There is no indoor meal option otherwise. Not great for rainy or windy days. Right now there are 30 mph wind gusts, which makes dining outside at 7 p.m. less than ideal. The restaurant next to the poor is just ok and has a pretty limited menu.
3. Rooms - They're ok. Small cramped bathrooms, the decor looks very institutional and uninteresting. They're functional, but don't expect to be impressed.
4. Pool - I know, I said it was a pro. But the pool temp is too cold. This is a large property, and it's not uncommon to see very few people in the 5 or so pools that they have. I think a large part of it has to do with the fact that the water is frigid. The ocean water is dramatically warmer.
5. Staffing - lots of areas seem understaffed. Front desk check in took a long time. There is always a wait at the Starbucks on property (which is the only plausible breakfast option unless you want to sit in the ballroom and eat cold eggs). It seems like ownership has a decent asset here, but is trying to cut corners to make it work.

As I said, it's Maui, which is great, and it's an ok hotel, but given the travel time, etc., I can't imagine coming back. We still have 5 days here, so things could change, and I will report back if they do.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Being a Starwood Member guarantees an automatic upgrade if available, which one was when we checked in. We were placed right in front of the waterfall with a peekaboo view of the ocean. The waterfall provided a beautiful backdrop to our view along with the soothing background sound. If you ever tired of the sound, the sliding glass doors immediately cut it off when closed, but we had it open for most of our vacation. The Westin provides 4 different pool areas as well an adult pool where we hung out when we weren't on the beach. Every morning I'd sit on the balcony with a good book and a cup of coffee waiting for the husband to wake up. When he did, we would take a walk along the beach. One morning we saw a huge tortoise who had climbed up the shore to rest for a while. Other times, we walked over to Whaler's Village for a meal or to shop. Our room came with all the basics of hotel living along with a small refrigerator which we made good use of. The hotel also provides a free shuttle to the other Westin properties as well as into downtown Lahaina at regular intervals. Self-parking is included in the $31 daily resort fee should you rent a vehicle. The only thing that could have been a little more consistent was the housekeeping service. There appeared to be minimal cleaning. Not used to that at Starwood properties. Overall, the location, accommodations and general atmosphere of the Westin Spa and Resort is excellent!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
6.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing