We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best, there must be better options.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average at best, there must be better options.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

For a Westin this was highly disappointing. The food and beverage selection were well below average and not acceptable for Westin. The service was good at the restaurants but the selection and quality not up to standard. My room was not cleaned the day as my check in was not registered?? Was given a non ocean view even though this was part of my reservation. Room keys failed to work on third day and was forced to spend 15 minutes in line to get this fixed while carrying my golf clubs from the golf game and wasn't even given an apology or explanation. Pool was freezing and appeared to not be heated.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ASMWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Aloha ASMWalter,

We are saddened to hear that your experience was average at best. Please accept our apology for the occurrences that did not make your recent stay an outstanding one. Your concerns are certainly valid and, again, we are disappointed to hear that it went this way. Our leadership team is following up on these issues so that we may prevent this from happening again in the future. Thank you for choosing us as your resort destination. We hope that we may welcome you back to provide you with a completely different experience. Mahalo for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,025
    1,503
    702
    387
    209
See reviews for
1,509
2,121
76
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

After 50 trips to Hawaii, this was only our second visit to Maui. Being quite the Maui "newbies", we did quite a bit of homework prior to making our decision to stay at the Westin Maui Resort. Kaanapali was the right choice for our family based upon what we were looking for, and the Westin proved to be a "home run" in terms of accommodations and location. All the resorts and time share properties at Kaanapali enjoy the spectacular beach. What sets the Westin apart is its central location and proximity to all the shops and restaurants that Whaler's Village offers. The resort pool complex is spectacular, offering a serious water slide as well as quiet adult pool. Our ocean view room in the Beach Tower was adequate, but somewhat dated. After reading a few negative reviews, I was a bit on guard when we checked in. We didn't experience any of the issues that were the subject of those negative reviews. Specifically, staff... including front desk, concierge, pool attendants, and housekeeping... all exemplary. Check-in and check-out was a snap. As an example, I had a bit of a "glitch" at check-in regarding what I though my prepaid rate included. I admitted that the misunderstanding might have been mine alone. Nonetheless, a very helpful, very professional young lady (Gentry Goslin) assisted and the issue was remedied. Based upon a very few reviews, I was expecting to be "blown off" by staff. Rather, Gentry's expert handling of the situation was exemplary. My family enjoyed many long walks along the beach path. We visited virtually every beach front property in Kaanapali, questioning ourselves as to whether or not we'd stay at the Westin on our next trip... or perhaps a timeshare... or maybe one of the many other resort properties? Some of those other properties are pretty darn nice!... but we all agreed that everything considered, the Westin will be our spot in Kaanapali.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed here February 01 to 08 on a convention. The location was fantastic the staff very friendly and helpful . We did have rain almost every day however it didn't affect the trip. The facility has very limited restaurant options but there are options a five minute walk away. The tower has been recently renovated and the rooms are great the older portion is more dated but still nice. It's Maui so everything is expensive but beautiful

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gregfromthepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, I was nervous about the quality of this resort. We had an ocean view room that was newly remodeled. Ocean view is anything 7 floors and higher. We had considered upgrading to ocean front but did not as the ocean view was stunning. The balcony opens up to the indoor atrium with ocean views beyond. Another review mentioned how loud the atrium can be. It is loud with hundreds of birds singing at times. We enjoyed the birds as the noise is not constant and can be silenced by shutting the balcony doors.
The food everywhere is very expensive but quite good. At least 5 restaurants are within walking distance. Our favorites were lelianas on the beach (not exact spelling but close). Upstairs is formal and downstairs features a more casual menu...both delicious.
Relish has a small menu but good food. Tuna and hamburgers were the crowd favorite.
The pool are crowded and full of kids. If that is not your idea of vacation (and it isn't mine) an adult pool is also available and offers a quiet alternative.
It is well worth the 50 dollars to rent a cabana shell for two. The shells face the ocean and offer wait side service. Hint...After 12n the price drops.
Humpback whales jump out of the ocean Dec-April. Theses chairs are the closest lounge chairs the resort offers. Spend a day watching the ocean for these amazing creatures.
The spa is nice but not exceptional. The lounge room offers a beautiful ocean view but the actual facility features a small sauna/steamroom/hot tub.
Loved this resort and would come back again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngpuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
208 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have just returned from six nights at the Westin Ka'anapali. It is one of the nicest places we have stayed on any of the Hawaiian Islands (we skip Oahu). In the past we have stayed away from Ka'anapali because of the rows of hotels and franchise shops and restaurants. The Westin is away from all the crowds and on the first turn-off from Lahaina. It is only 5 or so minutes from the center of Lahaina with all the restaurants and shops, but totally isolated if you don't want the hassle. It has an amazing pool, with water slides, but more importantly, it has an adult only pool too. For us, the water was a little chilly, but I suspect it will warm as the summer arrives. We used the outdoor restaurant for snacks, dinner and breakfast a few times. It bothers me to pay $30 per person for breakfast so we did that only once. There is a small refrigerator in the room and we kept some milk there to go with some corn flakes and coffee from the in room machine most mornings. We went out to dinner most evenings, but did try the hamburgers on site one night. They were excellent and certainly worth the $16 (it is Hawaii).

Rooms were promptly made up and there was an adequate supply of soaps and shampoos at all times. The concierge was always available their advice was accurate and right on. The suggestions for dinner places were excellent and they didn't push the hotel restaurants.

Room Tip: Ocean facing is clearly the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Halems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

After reading all the bad reviews about this resort we had just about changed resorts a couple of times. Glad we didn't as we had the best time. We spent 10 days and didn't want to leave. The resort itself is a bit dated but still beautiful, hence all the construction going on. We were in the beach tower and had been upgraded to a deluxe ocean view. The room was dated but clean. The bed was comfy, towels were thick. We had great housekeeping staff and when we asked for anything it was tended to quickly. Hairdryer stopped working and called desk to get a new one. They were at our door within 5 minutes. There was little noise that we heard from construction and 1 day at the adult pool we could smell adhesive or something. Construction was not an issue. Pool staff was awesome. We didn't have one staff that didn't treat us with respect. We were only approached once about timeshare and still got our free beach bag. We didn't get the free picture though. Spa was ok but if you want to indulge in a massage ask for Paris. I pulled a muscle in my leg and he really helped my out. Food was ok. Restaurants in the area pricey unless you want to eat a Subway or McDonalds all the time. We went to Lahania a few times to eat. Be prepared to drive to cheaper eateries. Beach was awesome. We splurged a rented beach umbrella/chairs a couple of times. Nice treat. All in all except for the price of food in Ka'annapali, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view worth the extra money especially on floors 7 and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I vacationed here July 2013. We got a partial ocean view room. The room was very dated. Carpet not so clean. There was a microwave and small refrigerator located next to bathroom which reminded me of a cheap motel room. We paid about $300/night. However, the common area facilities were very nice. Lobby had large koi pond, water fall and birds. The gym was clean. Their breakfast buffet was excellent and the pool had great ocean views. The location is excellent. Walking distance to snorkeling by the Sheraton hotel and close to all the shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boni74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
5.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing