We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you might want in a Ka'anapali Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose
Level Contributor
208 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Everything you might want in a Ka'anapali Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have just returned from six nights at the Westin Ka'anapali. It is one of the nicest places we have stayed on any of the Hawaiian Islands (we skip Oahu). In the past we have stayed away from Ka'anapali because of the rows of hotels and franchise shops and restaurants. The Westin is away from all the crowds and on the first turn-off from Lahaina. It is only 5 or so minutes from the center of Lahaina with all the restaurants and shops, but totally isolated if you don't want the hassle. It has an amazing pool, with water slides, but more importantly, it has an adult only pool too. For us, the water was a little chilly, but I suspect it will warm as the summer arrives. We used the outdoor restaurant for snacks, dinner and breakfast a few times. It bothers me to pay $30 per person for breakfast so we did that only once. There is a small refrigerator in the room and we kept some milk there to go with some corn flakes and coffee from the in room machine most mornings. We went out to dinner most evenings, but did try the hamburgers on site one night. They were excellent and certainly worth the $16 (it is Hawaii).

Rooms were promptly made up and there was an adequate supply of soaps and shampoos at all times. The concierge was always available their advice was accurate and right on. The suggestions for dinner places were excellent and they didn't push the hotel restaurants.

Room Tip: Ocean facing is clearly the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Halems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,029
    1,504
    703
    387
    210
See reviews for
1,514
2,121
77
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

After reading all the bad reviews about this resort we had just about changed resorts a couple of times. Glad we didn't as we had the best time. We spent 10 days and didn't want to leave. The resort itself is a bit dated but still beautiful, hence all the construction going on. We were in the beach tower and had been upgraded to a deluxe ocean view. The room was dated but clean. The bed was comfy, towels were thick. We had great housekeeping staff and when we asked for anything it was tended to quickly. Hairdryer stopped working and called desk to get a new one. They were at our door within 5 minutes. There was little noise that we heard from construction and 1 day at the adult pool we could smell adhesive or something. Construction was not an issue. Pool staff was awesome. We didn't have one staff that didn't treat us with respect. We were only approached once about timeshare and still got our free beach bag. We didn't get the free picture though. Spa was ok but if you want to indulge in a massage ask for Paris. I pulled a muscle in my leg and he really helped my out. Food was ok. Restaurants in the area pricey unless you want to eat a Subway or McDonalds all the time. We went to Lahania a few times to eat. Be prepared to drive to cheaper eateries. Beach was awesome. We splurged a rented beach umbrella/chairs a couple of times. Nice treat. All in all except for the price of food in Ka'annapali, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view worth the extra money especially on floors 7 and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I vacationed here July 2013. We got a partial ocean view room. The room was very dated. Carpet not so clean. There was a microwave and small refrigerator located next to bathroom which reminded me of a cheap motel room. We paid about $300/night. However, the common area facilities were very nice. Lobby had large koi pond, water fall and birds. The gym was clean. Their breakfast buffet was excellent and the pool had great ocean views. The location is excellent. Walking distance to snorkeling by the Sheraton hotel and close to all the shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boni74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed here for a week in October, 2014.
The resort is absolutely beautiful.
Plenty to photograph - plants, flowers, waterfalls, fish, pools, beach, sunsets, landscaping, lobbies, - just everything!
After spending a somewhat diaappointing week on Waikiki Beach, my expectations of "Paradise" were dashed.
When we arrived at the Westin Maui - I truly believed that I had landed right in the middle of Paradise.

Being from New England, I was disappointed that there aren't any seashells on the beach - a boat load of chunks of coral, but no shells.

I loved this resort, but not sure I will ever make the extremely LONG trek back there.
Believe me, that was the only drawback.

Go and enjoy - you will not be sorry.

Room Tip: If you have travelled all the way to Maui, you need to have the ocean view. There is nothing like g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here, albeit a few years ago. What a disappointment. Our check in was at three, but we had to wait until almost six before they got us into a room. The room was small, cramped and smelled like dirty diapers. When we asked to get comped for the delay, we were essentially told no, not even upgraded cable. Talking to someone else who had complained about their room, they suggested we not bother because they had and were given a second room, which was worse than the first.

We had booked this hotel because we had two preteen boys with us and thought the pool would be great. The pool was closed the whole time we were there for some undisclosed reason. You can be fooled by this hotel. The lobby is awesome, the pool area is awesome, but the room we had literally and figuratively stank. Considering the price of rooms, this hotel was a giant waste of money. And since we weren't Asian, we were pretty much treated like second hand citizens. While visiting Hawaii, I've found the best value at Outrigger hotels and resorts. This place, discounting outward appearances, can't hold a candle to them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katheen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. As it is our commitment to provide you with a positively memorable stay, we realize that we fell short in your case. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced. We can only imagine how frustrating this must've been. We would be happy to welcome you back for a re-do, should you decide to return. I have sent you a private message with contact information to let us know if we will have the privilege of welcoming you back. We sincerely apologize that we did not, at the very least, meet your expectations. Thank you again for your review and feedback. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Staff is friendly and the rooms are newly renovated and simply amazing. Can't wait to come back. The only drawbacks are the resort fees of $30 a day and the parking situation. Overall a great place to stay and the beach is superb. Walked off the beach and went scuba diving around black rock. We saw 6-7 Sea turtles and lots of fish. The hotel can set you up with all your excursions which are very reasonable. Book it, you'll be glad you stayed at the westin!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coryturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our fifth day is coming to an end. Departing tomorrow for Hana.
This a lovely spot, and the prices are there to match.
View on the ocean side is great, we moved from the mountain view side to the ocean side and paid a $150.00 a nite premium to do so. The parking lot mtn. view was not going to do.
Well we were in for a penny, and its our first week.
We have just one meal on the property, splitting a burger and some ahi poke. Tasty, very good.
Had a snack at the associated restaurant to the north. They were trying a new chicken satay, and the first try flopped, but they did redo the dish and did not charge us for it.

Pluses: front door valets, setting, waterfalls and pools, access to the coastline.
Rooms are fine, housekeeping is very good.
Pricing is higher than I expected, i think it will be over 500 a night by the time we are done, thus my average rating. That's a lot of dough. The atmosphere does not have the same warmth of say westin princeville or my fave the moana surf rider in Honolulu . Service is friendly and perfunctory but does not knock it out of the park.
I would return, but will certainly work on the rate.

Room Tip: We chose the ocean view 8th floor, that worked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
5.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing