We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pools and grounds, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had a great time with our kids (2 and 5). Every staff member was friendly and accommodating, our room (we asked for a renovated room and had a mountain view, which was also beautiful) was new and spacious (they brought a "real bed" rollaway and a smallish but "real" crib and it still felt roomy). Westin Heavenly beds are just that. Beautiful shower. Of course, the beach is exquisite. And the pools, waterfalls, water slide, etc. were the coolest place my son had ever played in chlorine!

If you don't want an old room, say so at check-in. If you want to make sure you're not near the construction noise, say so at check-in. ENJOY!

Room Tip: If you don't want an old room, say so at check-in. If you want to make sure you're not near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeattleTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,341 - 2,347 of 5,207 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

love having a nice place that has a kitchen and plenty of space.Everything you wanted to rent for the day or week was there for you. Great location close to Lahaini and has a shuttle to this town. You will love this place the beach was wonderful they had different things everyday and it has a spa too

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We really wanted to like this hotel. We chose to ignore the bad reviews and we shouldn't have. The construction noise in the Ocean Tower is truly awful. On top of that, the rooms are very small. The food at the resort is not very good either (except for the fish tacos by the pool) and it really is overpriced.

The pool area is lacking for how many rooms they have, it is very small when you compare it to other hotels on the Kaanapali strip. If we were to go back to Kaanapali, we would stay at the Hyatt next time. It is much more spread out with lots of pool space.

Very mediocre stay. Kaanapali itself is very touristy, I would pick Wailea next time for sure.

Shoutout to Andrea, the manager of Relish though - best employee at the Westin by far. She truly cares about the customers.

Restuarant tips - go to Paia and check out Mama's Fish House - expensive but worth it. In Kaanapali, go to Hula Grill and Leilani's.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
5  Thank Bessca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your comments. We'd like to apologize for providing you with a less than perfect experience for being affected by our Guestroom Refresh Project. As it is our commitment to provide you with a renewing stay, we understand that this was not the case for you. Your review has been forwarded to our leadership team and has been taken into great consideration. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for a much better, different and special Westin Maui experience in the future. Thank you again, for your valuable feedback. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel gets away with a lot of things a similar hotel never could because of its awesome location. Seriously its Maui-right on the beach. Its way overpriced for what you get-but we LOVED it anyway. We paid extra for a ocean view deluxe room-however they put us in a room overlooking the parking lot. They had given away out room to locals for a prom. I had to haggle with them and then the pain of moving our room and getting the extra charges removed was not a great way to start a vacation. I resented being put in that position in the 1st place. The rooms have been remodeled recently, however lanais are really old and outside lanai furniture is disgusting. Dirty, cracked and broken furniture- We had to try to wipe it down and clean it up so we could sit out there. Pools are great-especially for kids, be warned it gets SUPER crowded, I was a little peeved to find out that they sell day passes to folks that aren't staying there so it gets EVEN more crowded- on the weekends there were several local families having kids birthday party's there. That being said its a great location

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fairbankssheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We just returned from a 7 night stay at the Westin Maui Resort and Spa. This is a great place to bring the kids. Our kids are 4 and 8 and had great time in the pools and at the beach right in front of the hotel. The highlights for the kids were the water slides at the pool and playing in the sand at the beach which is just a few steps away.

I spent a lot of time back in July reading reviews of the Kaanapali resorts on this site in preparation for this vacation. Overall I think my expectations were met. We also considered the Sheraton and Hyatt, which are both just a short walk from the Westin. For location, the Westin and Sheraton both have a much better beach than the Hyatt. The beach in front the of the Hyatt is receding and there is very little sand. The beach near the Sheraton is very wide and also offers some of the best snorkeling in the area next to "black rock".

I was a little surprised at first that it wasn't as crowded as I expected (there was never an issue finding chairs at the pool). However after a couple of days I realized that it wasn't at capacity because of all of the rooms under renovation. Our room was in the rectangular shaped building next to Whaler's Village. I don't think any renovations have occurred in this building. They were working on the lower floors of the S-shaped building while we were there. They work from about 9 to 5 and it is loud. If you are someone who likes to sleep in or spend a lot of time in your room during the day you definitely need to look into this. I think they will be continuing work over the next few months.

As I said above, our room wasn't a newly renovated room, which was a little disappointing given how much this trip cost but wasn't a critical factor in my rating. The downside of the room was that the carpeting was so old that it was worn, stretched, and was loose in places. The air conditioning never seemed to get down to the temp we set the thermostat at night. The bathrooms showed its age and although it was clean it didn't shine like a newly renovated bathroom. Also, our room was on the 10th ( of 11) floor looking toward back rock but right next to Whaler's village. Even on floor 10 we were able to hear the noises down below of the recycling/trash pickup and the food delivery trucks in the early hours (maybe they will install better sliding doors when the rooms are renovated to keep out more noise). The good aspects of the room was the ocean/mountain view and a great bed with several pillows to choose from (there's nothing like lying in bed and watching the waves hit the beach).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dad_from_denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for one night (3 hotels in 3 days:) and this was our favourite! Loved the convenience of the pools, the beach access and the rooms! Excellent hotel for families. We have a teenager and she loved every minute too. Check out the Whalers Village next door, and Lahaina! In Lahaina there is no need to stop at Moose McGillicuddys! Bartender appeared intoxicated and food was not great! Don't forget to see the Banyon Tree! Ultimately... Great Resort!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DirtyGirlQB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We recently spent 5 nights at the Westin and we had a great time. Our room was just renovated and was a good size. We only had a garden view room which looked over the waterfall and pond and we could see a glimpse of the ocean but we didn't care as we didn't spend much time in the room. The pool area is good and the location was good too right next to Whalers Village. The free shuttle bus was handy as well. The food at Relish was nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allycat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,215 reviews
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $354 - $881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing