We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a place for relaxation!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2008

After leaving the Fairmont Kea Lani in Wailea (5 nights), we decided to spend 2 nights at this end of the island for the snorkeling close by. In the end, we didn't get a chance to snorkel, and in retrospect, I should have just stayed in Wailea.
Check in was fast and we were able to get into our room rather quickly. We changed our clothes and went to the pool. The landscaping was very nice and the pool layout was nice, however we were unable to find any place to sit. We finally found a chaise by the beach area and had to climb onto the chair as they were wedged together everywhere. I have never seen so many people. The pool was packed and did not look very clean.
Everywhere we went, we saw time share sales. This was on the beach as well as on the property. We did not see anything like this in Wailea.
If you're looking for a fun family place, this is it. If you are looking for a relaxing, romantic vacation, look elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Exodus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,408 - 4,414 of 5,276 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2008

can't beat the location, right on the beach with the boardwalk connecting to the neighboring properties including the whaler's village right next door. the interconnecting pools with waterfalls, slide and grotto are fantastic. the hot tub is ridiculously small for the size of the resort. rooms were good, not great. views were fantastic. staff was cheery and helpful. we booked our boating activites at a vendor next door (for the same boat) for a better price.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redsox999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We didn't take advantage of the amenities because we kept an eye on our budget.

There are "free" gifts from the hotel and associated vendors, but they lead to a hard sell for other goods/services (such as timeshare presentations, photography services, etc).

There are "accommodation fees" that include parking, wi-fi, etc. $25/day for non-valet parking. $35/day for valet parking.

The rooms were nice, we had the "deluxe golf mountain view" which overlooks the parking lot THEN to the golf course and the mountain in the background.

Service is very friendly, but I got wary of the different goods/services each person would pitch.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bbk3e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Friendly staff, great location. Sit in a cabana and zone out while the waves roll in.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank guitarcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

My family and I just returned from Maui. We had a great time in spite of some of the disappointments the Westin provided.
I was expecting after reading other reviews for the staff to be terrible but I only encountered one rude staff member at the front desk. She could have been the token one. All the pool staff was very friendly and the maid service was excellant. As I write this I realize anyone working for a tip was friendly!
My biggest issues was the price I paid for my ocean view room and was not offered an upgrade and was given a room with a view of the roof. If you stay in the ocean tower stay in the upper floors (above 6). Do not be on an end room because the sun beats into the room and the air conditioning has a hard time keeping it cool. Also the electricity would shut off if we had the tv and the hair dryer going at the same time. The rooms are rather small and there is no closets in the ocean tower. However we only need the room to sleep so it was fine. Also a problem I had read about was the crowded pool. It was definately crowded. The only way to get a seat is to get up early. Alot of people save seats. I was not going to do this but after 4 days of being in the sun I needed shade so my son saved me a spot at 7 am, and trust me most were taken already. There is not enough shade offered around the pools.
If you want to have a pleasant stay and a nice room stay in the Beach Tower my friends were upgraded for free, they arrived two days before me, also plan on getting up early for a seat by the pool. This was my fourth vacation to Maui, I definately recommend the Sheraton or the Hyatt over the Westin.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JSASanClemente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

This was our family's first trip to Maui. We chose the Westin after researching many resorts and talking to friends. We were not disappointed! Upon check-in we were greeted by a very friendly staff member who upgraded us to a corner suite that overlooked both the ocean and the pool area. The 1300 square foot upgraded suite was more than we had ever bargained for. Our family( my husband, 22 year old, 19 year old and myself) were really able to relax in luxury. The Heavenly Beds are truly heavenly! The Westin has two wonderful restaurants that we enjoyed. The happy hour from 3-5 pm was a great break from the sun and sand, and the 8-10 pm happy hour was a great way to end the day. We enjoyed the pool area and the unlimited use of towels. Never had a problem getting a lounge chair. The proximityy to the Whaler Village was a real plus for browsing or catching necessities at the ABC store. We would go back to the Westin anytime.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ineedavacation4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We were not huge fans of the Westin Maui. We had really great expectations after reading some of the reviews here, but all in all we were very disappointed with the hotel.

From the moment we checked in we ran into multiple problems and rude staff. We are Gold SPG members and had hoped for an upgrade, but were not given one. There were 3 in our party, but they did not have a room with doubles so they had to give us a king room and then move us the next day. It would have been nice to unpack the first day vs having to move rooms. Plus, they told us our old keys would work on our new room - my husband dropped us off while he ran an errand and when I discovered my key did not work I went to the front desk to have them correct the problem and they would not give me another key since I did not have my drivers license with me. I appreciate their attentiveness to security and all, but they left my son and me stranded in the lobby until my husband came back because they gave me wrong information about the key working vs giving me a new key to begin with. I told them I could give them any other kind of proof, but they would not accept anything except my DL. This hotel is so caught up in their "rules" that they put that before helping a guest.

The rooms are some of the smallest rooms I've ever stayed in! There are no closets either so with three people, luggage all over the place, and no closet to put things in it was very cramped to say the least.

The pool was always over crowded and we had lots of trouble finding chairs.

The Good: The slides and pool itself were nice. The restaurants seemed to be pretty good. The location and proximity to Whalers Village was wonderful.

We have stayed at the Marriott and the Sheraton on Kaanapaili Beach before and would pick either of those over the Westin any day. See my review for the Sheraton Maui that I recently posted.

From what I can see, this hotel sells the package deals and they have 100's of families in and out of the hotel all the time on the cheaper packages vs the Sheraton does not have that going for them so the customer service was much much better down there. If you are a SPG member I would highly recommend the Sheraton any day!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank oneterrificshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,284 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
22.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $382 - $831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing