We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, poor service!”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

After 11 hours of flying, a 45 min ride to get here.....check in was not very smooth...we requested a higher floor so had to give up a king bed for 2 full...not happy!!
However, our 7th floor oceanfront view (room #789) was awesome! We saw numerous whales, spinner dolphins, and even a shark! Cannot imagine a better view! The location is wonderful, with Whalers Village shopping center next door! Also have a great hotel bus to excellent shopping in Lahaina. The grounds and beach are great too...BUT...the room was rather worn, the service poor (no washcloths for 2 days, room not made till very late! no shampoo refills etc. Choose this hotel for the views NOT for service or comfort. If you don't mind worn out carpeting
Or terrible furniture this will be okay. The desk chair had worn out padding so it hurt to sit on, the reading chair had no lighting available, but there were enough places to plug in chargers. In the rooms favor, it was quiet and peaceful. We are hopeful that management will take note of this and move toward better service as we would consider a return visit.

Room Tip: Oceanfront room is worth the upgrade for the view! Higher floor, better view. Be aware this hotel ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,087
    1,540
    718
    394
    218
See reviews for
1,556
2,183
78
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We received a recently renovated room on the island side and it was very good. There is some minor noise between 8am and 5pm, but we were headed to the beach at 8 so we didn't care. Service, in general, gets a B grade. Food options at the resort a C. Good news though, there are many great and more affordable restaurants located next door in Whalers Village.

The pool and beach areas were great. Hotel provides beach chairs and umbrellas for a reasonable rate for use all day. We would definitely go back and recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Okie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood cli
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights second week of December. The grounds and landscaping is gorgeous. Pink flamingoes, black swan, beautiful koi pond, parrots, very nice and clean pool with a cool water slide and best of all the most gorgeous beach right outside of it. There is also a mall right next door. There were construction but it didn't effect us since we were in another building. We had a suit with 4 balconies over looking the beach on one side and mountain and pool on the other side. The only reason for 4 stars is the breakfast at their RELISH restaurant. There is a hot or cold option. We had cold breakfast which we were very disappointed with. Overpriced with very few choices. To upgrade to hot buffet, you have to pay another $15 per person. I think $30 for breakfast is not reasonable at all. Other than that, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arezu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We've stayed here x2 in the past year. Once as a couple and recently with our 2 teens. Great location, pools and beach. Rooms small but ok nicely renovated. Really nice feel to the resort. Disappointed in the gym on the second visit since they have reduced the size by removing the outdoor gym area. Cardio equipment is in need of replacement…..touch buttons don't work and certain machines grind and whine. Food pricey but here's a good tip……walk to Whalers Village in the food court there is a great little spot called Nikkis. Don't be deceived by the low key look. Great food and very reasonable priced. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My family had a discounted trip to Maui and we decided to jump for the Westin. It was completely worth the money we spent. The beach was clean and not overcrowded. They had awesome activities like paddle boarding and we also got to see several pods of dolphins on their beach. Their facilities were beautiful and the restaurants were okay. It was truly an unforgettable trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Service here is terrible. First night I was sick after eating in the RELISH restaurant. The next morning needed to move rooms due to construction noise. Front desk made a bi deal about how accommodating they were being. At check in asked for late check out. Was told yes, but then they decided day prior to departure I could only do 1pm. This despite the promise at check in of 3pm. I was told "things change". So went to RELISH again to use my coupons accumulated during trip. Waited hour for veggie burger- no cheese. Came with cheese IN burger, but apparently not even the waitress or manager knew. This explains why I was sick the first night! Asked for some vegetarian options with no cheese. Was told I could have noodles with marinara from the kids menu. Way to go Westin. Classy.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Aloha David G,

We sincerely apologize about the negative occurrences that you experienced during your stay. Please know that this is not representative of our standards. Your comments have been forwarded to our Front Desk and Food & Beverage team for immediate follow up. We would be grateful to contact you personally and gain further details so that we may ensure that this does not happen again in the future. We have sent you a private message requesting for your contact information so that we may reach out to you. Thank you again for brining this to our attention and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Nicely appointed and updated property. Very friendly and attentive staff. Lots of amenities, and a great swimming pool arrangement Superb on-premise restaurants with excellent food. Unbeatable location (both to beach and to Whaler's Village). Expected Westin experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
6.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing