We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Spa? Not so much...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Heavenly Spa? Not so much...”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The facility is actually fairly small and limiting for the price. The locker room has a small hot tub and saunas and that's about it. The relaxation room was anything but, as it was filled with loud guests and therapists hollering out for their scheduled guest every few minutes. Then there were the treatments. My husband and I both had 50 minute massages and their coconut bath. The massage was little more than a glorified lotion application which only added insult to the fact that we had requested male therapists and were assigned women who immediately informed us that the massages were light pressure (asked for deep tissue) then it was on to the coconut bath which was to include a scalp massage...uh, I really do not even know if the lady touched my head at all. She used such a light touch that I could barely tell if my hair moved. Over all it was a very disappointing experience especially for the cost which was over $500, and the fact that I happen to spa often enough to know what the services should be. This was nothing more than a fancy rip off. We walked away, feeling taken advantage of and with stiff muscles too. Had to book our regular massage therapist when we got home...who actually knows what a deep tissue massage should be and gives one heck of a scalp treatment too. I will never ever go back to ANY Westin spa and would highly discourage anyone from wasting their money their too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Aloha Sarah E.,

We are extremely disappointed to hear about your experience. Please accept our apologies that left our Heavenly Spa not feeling fulfilled. Please know that this is not representative of our standards. We would be delighted to have our Director of Spa reach out to you to personally to discuss your experience in further detail. I have sent you a private message with information on how we can connect. We greatly appreciate you sharing your experience with us and hope to hear from you soon.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,112
    1,554
    728
    397
    220
See reviews for
1,588
2,202
79
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the westin has been nothing short of phenomenal. The staff was super friendly starting from the moment we arrived by the valet. I read some of the complaints about the construction so I decided to pay for the premium deluxe room in the already renovated tower. Definitely pricier option but incredible view and no construction noise. I did hear some of the drilling, cutting etc in the pool area, but it was relatively unnoticed as I sipped on my mojito and beer as the family enjoyed the pools and ocean. There is also a great water slide that kept my girls entertained. Fun for adults too. The highlight of the trip for my daughters (9 & 12 years old) was meeting "princess tiana". The funny thing is that I saw her name in another review, now I see why the praise. My daughters met her while she was working the water slide and she instantly became their favorite part of the resort. She even won over my wife and I with her excellent service. Awesome cabana service on the beach.. Thanks to Tiana and her other coworker! Anyway, I highly recommend the westin if you have kids and are willing to splurge on the premium deluxe ocean view rooms away from the construction.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gerard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We just returned from a 9 day stay on the beautiful island of Maui. I had a med conference there and belatedly learned that our organizers had been told the construction would be over by our time of arrival. IT WAS NOT. We moved rooms once because of the smell of sewage and construction solvent odors wafting into our room. We should have moved again because the air conditioning unit smelled dank and musty in our new room (in fact when the cover over the unit spontaneously flopped open we saw it was filled with rust, mold and a few puddles of standing water) The island is beautiful and worth many a trip. But, Westin Maui will have to be done with their project and show some big improvement before I consider staying there again.

Room Tip: If you do go before they are done with construction, preview your room for noise, view and odor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WandaNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for providing a less than perfect Westin stay. As we are committed to providing our guests with a renewing experience, we are disappointed to have missed the mark in your case. Please know that this is not representative of our standards and would be grateful for the opportunity to speak with you personally. We have sent you a private message with details on how we can connect. Again, we apologize and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a great trip with Renze Seed. We were treated to the best accomodations and enjoyed some very nice tours all paid for by Renze. A drive around the island was very enjoyable and beautiful followed by a bike ride from the volcano to the beach. Whale watching was very successful and easily accessed from the hotel. The Westin has several pools and waterfalls that create a relaxing environment and we were very close the Whaler's Viilage shops with a variety of dining choices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swilson2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

First impression of this resort is very nice - open-air lobby opening onto a waterfall and koi pond with flamingos, swans, etc. Very beautiful. Also, the pool area and beach are beautiful and very well-maintained. I haven't compared the prices to other nearby resorts (we were booked by our travel agent), but my guess is that the Westin is right in the middle of nearby resorts in terms of price and amenities. We received a free continental breakfast as part of our package, but the upgrade to the (very nice) full breakfast buffet is a VERY steep $17.50 per person over top of the price of the continental breakfast. I thought this was very pricey, even by Maui standards, as other much less expensive options were available nearby. Also, there is a months-long renovation going on with construction happening on several floors. We were very well-warned about this and it didn't affect us much, since we didn't spend much time in our room during the day, but if you want to take a nap in your room during the day, or if you have young children that nap, it probably won't happen. Our room was nice and recently updated -- it took me one day and several phone calls to the front desk to get the AC working properly, though (it ended up needing just a filter change). I also deduct points for the $30 per day "Resort Fee" that they charge. This may very well be a common thing in Maui, but I think it's chincy to nickel-and-dime your customers by placing this additional charge on top of the room rate. If you want to charge this, go ahead and include the $30 in the room rate and be up-front about this from the start. The charge supposedly goes towards your parking (if you have a car) and wifi, both of which are adequate, but then they charge you additional if you want an umbrella or a chair on the beach, which I think takes a lot of gall. They have several cabanas (basically two well-padded side-by-side chairs with a shade and extra towels) available, also, which cost a steep $65 per day. All in all, we had a great time and enjoyed the stay, but unless you have a lot of money to burn for extra amenities, and don't mind the resort fee, you may want to take a good look around to see what else is around.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vikingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Aloha vikingwood,

Thank you very much for your honest and detailed review. Please accept our apologies for providing your with a less than perfect stay. Your comments have been forwarded to our leadership team and have been taken into great consideration. We sincerely appreciate you choosing us as you Maui resort destination, and we are grateful for your feedback that will help us improve our guest experiences. We hope to welcome you back and exceed your Westin Maui expectations in the furture.

Thank you again, for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was a great place to relax with great location and amazing ocean views. Hotel staff was very friendly and gave us great advice on travel itineraries!

Would definitely recommend this hotel for reasonably price/points!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean facing room for some amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pc x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Really great slice of paradise. Westin is being refreshed before spring 2014 but you hardly knew work was being done. Great staff, very attentive to your needs. Lobby winds around man made waterfalls and multiple pools. Part of a planned resort so you are near the Whalers village shops and dining. Dining is pricy but options are close by. Bed was comfortable and room very nice with large bath with good shower. Staff helped arrange some activities that were fun. Relish grill is excellent and breakfast buffet has a variety of food, fish, fruit and omlettes to order.

Room Tip: Ocean view. Some rooms are larger. Side tower has view not obstructed with the courtyard stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing