We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a major disappointment this time!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“What a major disappointment this time!!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

WOW - what a disappointment the Westin was this time. I stayed here about 10 years ago for a week and it was so great! This time, we were here for just one night and it was such a bummer - the Westin has really gone downhill.
I used Starwood points for the stay and we were "upgraded" to an "ocean view" room on the second floor. Our "upgraded" room (#270) was directly next to the elevator, with our bed on the wall adjacent to the elevator. It was so loud and the elevator ran all night, so needless to say we didn't get any sleep. Our "ocean view" was of the roof and a slight view of the ocean.
The lanai was filthy as was the room. We had to wear shoes in the bathroom because the tile was disgusting. The tub has a gross grime on it that could have easily been scrubbed clean. There were dead cockroaches in the room by the sliding door to the lanai. All of the surfaces of the furniture were so dirty - the room looked like it had not been cleaned in some time. The lock on our room door was broken so all someone would have to do was push the door open to enter the room (no key necessary!). I really could go on and on about how bad the room was.
We called down the next morning for a late check out and they gave us until 2:00 pm. Then at noon someone from the front desk called us wanting to know what time we were leaving as supposedly the next guest was already waiting for the room. When I explained that we were given a late checkout, the front desk demanded to know who I spoke with to get it (and it was of course someone there at the front desk).
We had the breakfast buffet, which was so-so and left a lot to be desired, especially at $30 per person.
When we checked out and the front desk person asked how our stay was, I told him about our experience and he replied, "yes, well we are in the process of renovations right now..."
It was almost unbearable for just one night - I can't imagine if we were staying any longer than that. And to think that people actually pay for these rooms! There are so many better options in Maui now. I was hoping to return to the Westin next year with family but there is no way I will ever stay here again. They've definitely lost a customer!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
16 Thank TheRealMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your comments. We are disappointed to read about your experience. Please accept our apologies and know that this is not representative of our standards. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss with your personally more details of your stay. I have sent your a private message requesting for your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Your review has been forwarded to our team leaders for follow up. Again, we apologize and look forward to hearing from you soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,072
    1,528
    714
    391
    215
See reviews for
1,544
2,165
78
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rosemont, Il
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed at the Westin from Oct 21st-27th. The property is the perfect location on the beach and next to the Whaler Village. Everything is walking distance. The hotel is being renovated but the construction wasn't horrible. The only compliant was the continuous "beeping" from a truck that could be heard on the beach - but I understand safety first.
Back to the hotel. My room was a Ocean view which was very nice. The housekeeping dept was consistent. The staff at the pool for towels and drink service were very attentive. I have to mention the employees who stood out. First the bellman I want to say his name may be Will or Bill (he is from Ohio) was an awesome person to first meet upon check in. He gave us ideas for locations to see, dinner & ect. And the 2 bartenders in the Relish bar in the afternoon - Hilarious. They had the hotels guests laughing and both were very attentive. There is a Starbucks in the lobby area.
We booked the Gemini sunset cruise on a catamaran that pulled up to the beach of the hotel. I highly recommend to do this excursion---great crew and views from the water. The hotel is next to the Whaler Village which is shops and restaurants. This is so convenient. It also has an ABC store which sells food, sunscreen, liquor and souvenirs with decent prices for being a tourist area.
You can walk along the walkway to see the cliff divers at the Sheraton and other properties. The Hula Grill & Leilani's are 2 places on the water to do for dinner. I would also suggest Maui Fish for a breakfast--very good. This a great location for the town of Lahaina. And if you go there. You have to see Warren & Annabelle’s which is a comedy and magician show. The show was incredible. And of course Cheeseburgers in Paradise. I would suggest this property....it is a perfect location!! I

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate60018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

What a relaxing stay at the Westin. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a premium Ocean View room in the beach tower. The room was nothing special but who needs that with a view and a playground just steps away. Construction was going on in the other tower but we barely heard any noise at all. The best part of this resort is the pool area. Lounging up in the adult pool area with a drink in hand is something I can do everyday there. The only advice I would give folks is to skip the food at the resort, and get some good food a mile away or so. You will save money and get better food. Can't wait to come back again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdgaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Aloha pdgaffer,

We are happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay in paradise. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We can't wait to welcome you back again next year. Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home. See you soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We couldn't have stayed in a nicer location. The Westin Hotel is located where all the great restaurants are. It is right next to the beach, shopping, bars and within walking distance to Black Rock!

The Hotel is going through some construction right now but it's not too bothersome. Our room was right next to the noise and it wasn't that bad. The pool and views of the ocean were fabulous. The restaurant at the hotel served great food as well.

Everyone was so gracious.
I would highly recommend the Westin for your vacation destination. We were pleasantly surprised at what a perfect spot we found. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms above the 4th floor for a better view. Ocean views obviously are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofheim Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our second stay at this property was for 6 nights with our 17 yr old on a deal through a discount website. I would say that under $200 a night this hotel is a good value. It has Great Pool for the younger crowd to socialize. Directly on a nice beach(great for Long walks) with easy access to restaurants & shops. The hotel Restaurant here has gone WAY downhill though. Used to be the Tropica - Elegant with tablecloths and Cloth napkins but now it is a Bar & Grill with a College Bar type atmosphere, too bad really. Breakfast location is still TOP but the Buffet is uninspired. The room was adequate but small, Bathroom good enough. Heavenly beds were exactly that:) one my BIG criteria, and probably the reason we did like Westin brand. We reserved the Pool Cabanas months prior and glad we did. It was worth the $$ to avoid the morning towel games with chairs. We were able to sleep in and still have some shade by the pool. It is a pity this now comes as an extra cost at a 4 star beach resort though.
NOW for the NOT SO GOOD. For the third time in as many stays I have returned from our summer holidays only to start the seemingly endless job of correcting incorrect Westin charges on my Chargecard. After weeks of emails each time they were finally corrected but the experiences have left me with a desire to avoid the Westin Properties.
This was a good stay for us but not at +$400 a night and I would NOT recommend it for Honeymooners - just TOOOOOOOO many unattended kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hofheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 15 to 22 Oct 2013 and loved every minute. The staff are welcoming at all times the house keeper staff a credt to the resort. Relish restaurant staff always made up feel special and food was yummy. We will have wonderful memories for a long time. Until we visit Hawaii again Thankyou from Queensland Australia

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOLDCOASTERAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We were given an upgrade of an old room over the air conditioning ducts. Nice view, but very noisy if you wanted to sit outside. They have renovated rooms which is why some reviews are satisfied. Our bed was trashed and bath dirty and worn. Pools are very soiled on bottom. Overall the place is just rundown!!! Would never stay again . It isn't worth what they charge for sure. Ask to see your room before you check in. We came a long way and were very disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1973sherilewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
6.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
23.1 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing