We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Luau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Desert
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Luau”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went to the Westin Maui for the luau, we stayed at another hotel but the luau at the Westin was supposed to be fabulous and it was. The entertainment was great they had all kinds of dancers from all the different Pacific Islands. It was very enjoyable and impressive. The food was great and plenty of it

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank desertrat161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,130
    1,571
    734
    400
    221
See reviews for
1,615
2,213
80
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A wonderful experience allround. Loved eveything about this hotel, especially as you were able to eat out of the hotel restaurants due to the close proximity of other food choices. We always find eating at resorts expensive.The pool and beach were fabulous, keeping my 2 teenagers entertained most of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went to the Westin for my friends wedding and although he arranged for us to have a free upgrade and our room had beautiful views etc... the room itself was dated. They were doing a lot of renovations / construction but apparently hadn't got to our room yet. The prices for drinks and good were just shy of being ridiculous! They actually charged me $4.00 for a Sprite for my daughter with no refills. The $30 per person breakfast buffet was horrible so if you have breakfast go next door near Whalers Village to Miami Fish! Don't waste you time or money eating at the hotel! I will say that the only bright side of our entire stay was the Pool and Activities Staff. We did quite a few activities on the beach and Mike Gentry (Big Mike as we got to know him) always met us with a smile and was always willing to do anything to help! Maybe they should try putting him at the front desk as when we checked in the front desk clerk acted like it was a pain to check us in and was doing us a favor by cutting their $50 per day resort fee to $15! This included the use of things such as their High Speed Internet which never worked once the entire trip! They couldn't even get it to work at the front desk! Anyway, I personally wouldn't go back and stay at the Westin but I would go back to hello to Big Mike!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

It should first be said that the grounds and beach are beautiful. Of all of the hotels along this stretch of Kaanapali, the Westin absolutely has the best pool and pool area.

However, the hotel was under a large renovation when we were there for our honeymoon (September 2013), which we were not made of aware of. When I tried to get our room changed due to the unbearably loud noise coming from directly above us, the woman at the front desk just kept saying that "our website and all travel agencies have information that the hotel is under renovation." I actually had to go to my room, pull up Priceline & the Westin website, and then bring my computer down to show the woman that neither website had any information about the renovation. Again she was not willing to entertain my request. I asked to speak with a manager, and she said to give her my phone number and a manager would call me to speak to me. After 24 hours, when no manager had called, I went back to the front desk to say that a manager hadn't called. The same woman said that a manager would definitely call me within 20 minutes. After ANOTHER 24 hours, I went back to the front desk and said a manager hadn't called for 48 hours. Again, the same woman said that a manger would call me, but I refused to leave until I spoke to a manager in person. She went to the back, and lo and behold, a manager came out to speak with me right away. The manager actually was very kind and resolved the issue to my satisfaction, moving us to a quieter room for no charge. For a hotel that claims to be a "five star resort" however, this was unacceptable customer service.

The noise in our new room was better, though still loud. Relaxing in the room at any point during the day was impossible due to the noise. The $30 per day "resort fee" was an added insult, considering the hassles I experienced, and the ongoing construction. I managed to negotiate away part of the resort fee at the end of the trip.

Additional details--the rooms we experienced (not yet renovated) were 1- or 2- star rooms at best. Small and cramped (no closet, just a dresser drawer that took up too much of the limited floor space). The room door would get stuck on the carpet and wouldn't close without a hard push. The knobs on the sinks would come off at least once a day.

If I could plan our honeymoon again, I would absolutely not consider the Westin. Call ahead and ask if the renovation is complete. If not, I recommend looking for another hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha Howard W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We regret to hear that your Honeymoon experience was affected by our Guestroom Refresh Project and that you were not notified prior to your arrival as well as not getting immediate response from our management team. Please accept our sincere apologies. Your comments have been forwarded to our team and taken into consideration for service improvements as we go through renovation. Thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and share our new and inspiring room product while providing you with a flawless stay. Congratulations on your nuptials and again, we apologize. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked this hotel because we loved it the last time we stayed and because we received a great deal with Pleasant Holidays package. The reason for 3 stars were due to the quality of the rooms being just OK. We were pleasantly greeted upon check-in and given a upgrade to a premium OV room. The room was located in the beach tower 4th floor which is the one not currently being remodeled. The view was obstructed due to the palm tree tops being right in the way! Also, the issues with the room were as follows: the carpet was buckled in several places, I tripped several times, the dresser would not stay closed and we had to prop it back with cardboard boxes under the front legs, there were white liquid stains on the nightstand, the oversized chair left ALOT of lint on our dark clothing. We did mention these issues with front desk, his response was lack-luster and unsympathetic however he did offer to "address these issues". Also, double beds should be changed to queens, two adult cannot sleep comfortably in double beds. The resort itself is beautiful and very well maintained.

Room Tip: 4th floor is right at the line of sight of the tops of most of the palm trees so although we had a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshnLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Maui for our honeymoon and it was amazing. It truly felt like a resort. The bed was so comfortable. We had a garden view which was really pretty. We has a view of the palm trees and waterfall. It was nice to leave our door open and hear the waterfall and birds. The pools were amazing and we never had a problem finding chairs, and the water slide was a ton of fun. The restaurants at this hotel were great and is very close to other restaurants at Whalers Village. Construction was loud from 9-5, but the rooms will be even nicer when this is done. We would love to come back and stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FriendVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Maui is an awesome place to visit! We came to the Westin Kaanapali for our honeymoon after being in Kauai for a week.

CONS: Knowing that we were staying at a Westin, we assumed the resort would have been really nice. We assumed wrong. The room was quite small with a moldy shower. They are also doing construction, which we didn't know about before arriving. (If we knew we would have stayed at the other Westin down the street or even the Sheraton). There is VERY limited parking due to all of the construction. They offer free valet, but who really wants to tip every time you want to drive your car somewhere? The pools are filled with kids (except for the adult pool), and being able to lie under an umbrella is nearly impossible unless you are out there at 6am. Breakfast is extremely expensive at the hotel, and the servers aren't very friendly.

PROS: People at the front desk are extremely friendly and helpful. The pools are AWESOME. There is even a pool for adults only with a bar (the bartenders are very nice). The resort is on the beach with tons of activities to sign up for. We did the standup paddle boarding right outside the hotel and it was a fun/funny experience for my hubby and me. Whalers Village, filled with shops, is located right next to the resort which is very convenient, along with various restaurants overlooking Maui's breathtaking ocean/mountain views. The sunset on the beach and even from the rooms is amazing.

After the construction is finished (Spring 2014), my hubby and I might give this place a second chance. I heard the rooms that are finished (on the 11th floor) are amazing.

This is definitely a family resort, if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
22.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing