We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and wonderful stay”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

After reading previous reviews I was quite worried about staying at the Westin. We arrived to a lei greeting and a nice reception from the front desk. The room was an ocean view in the beach tower and very clean. I have a family of 5 and we booked a connecting room which worked out well. The pools were fantastic and after visiting other hotels and condos along the beach decided the Westin had the best beach and was the best location. Whaler's village is right next door, there are several restaurants which are right next to the Westin which are really good. We especially liked Tropica and Leilani's. Relish at the hotel is good but service is a bit slow and very pricey. my kids would get a cheaper breakfast at Nikki's in Whaler's village. There is also a Subway and Yogurtland in Whaler's village which is great for kids. The Westin was the best place for us and I would return in a heartbeat. The only complaint I have is that the staff is not that friendly, do not recognize faces or really care to be that warm to their guests. The exception was Jason near the pool area who was friendly and went out of his way to please. The luau was great as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucylu210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,072
    1,528
    713
    391
    215
See reviews for
1,543
2,165
78
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Park, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were here for 10 nights in August 2013. The resort is absolutely stunning! Our room was modern and clean with a beautiful view from the balcony over Whaler's Village with a view of the ocean and the sunset. The location was perfect for us - my husband and I got married during the week and we had 10 family members with us for the first 6 nights, so it was nice to be next to lots of food options and the accessibility to Lahaina. We also had breakfast included in our rate, which was easy and delicious with a made-to-order omelet station at the buffet.

We booked this trip almost a year in advance and found out in July that the hotel was going to be under construction. My room was in the other tower, but the rest of our party stayed in the wing where the construction was ongoing and had some issues. The hotel tried to make the construction as hassle-free as possible by only working 9-5, but in our case, our wedding took place at sunrise at Haleakala and upon our return to the hotel at noon, the rest of our family had a lot of trouble napping with the loud construction noises above them. It also eliminated the possibility of any afternoon siestas in the hotel rooms, or sleeping in late. The walls are thin, in particular the ceilings, and even though we weren't dealing with construction, we could hear all the movements of the people staying upstairs.

The major thing I did not like was the $30 resort fee. I am not sure if that is standard in Hawaii, but it is a charge I have not come across before at other resorts. The fee includes wi-fi (sort-of: you have to register each device and re-register each time you log on, eg: every time you open an app on your phone. They have an option to register for multiple days but they charge you extra for that), 2 bottles of water per day (which were not always left in the room for us, we had to ask on multiple occasions for them to be left), and a complimentary photo (which you must made an appointment to take - we skipped this because of the inconvenience). It does NOT include the use of any spa facilities, including the sauna. I'm still not exactly clear how 2 bottles of water could cost $30 per day. [I should interject that I hate feeling nickeled and dimed. Lump it with the room price and I probably wouldn't have noticed, but try to justify extra cost that is clearly not worth the $$ and it bothers me a lot.] Note that staying at the hotel, you only receive 1 towel card per person for the pool, but you can exchange it as many times as you like.

Because of the construction, even when the hotel was "at capacity" it was still not as full as it could be. I can't imagine having many more people staying there and using the facilities. As it was, self-parking was a challenge. The spaces are tiny and visitors clearly have issues squeezing their rental mustangs and jeeps into them. When returning after dinner, we would often have to valet, which was fine, just slightly more inconvenient. There was little option to relax by the pool if you wanted shade and could not get there at the crack of dawn to claim your chairs. The chairs with shade were always taken. There was the option to purchase a cabana for 2 ($65/day) or 4 ($110/day) if they were available. We chose not to since we spent most of our day exploring the island and snorkeling and minimal time by the pool.

There were a lot of families with young children staying here, so the pool areas tended to be quite rowdy. The adult pool is small and was often crowded with folks trying to escape the screaming and splashing. The staff was fairly good about asking children to leave the area.

All-in-all it was a great hotel, but a bit pricey for what you get included in the room rate and the resort fee, which is why I rated it 3 stars instead of 4.

Room Tip: Ask if there is construction going on and request to be in the other tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for honest remarks. We sincerely apologize that your family was impacted by our Guestroom Refresh project. We also apologize for any shortcomings in service that you experienced. Your review has been forwarded to our team for follow up. We are grateful for your feedback and thank you for choosing us as your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The location of hotel is excellent. Closer to shopping area and activities. The hotel provide the shuttle to drop off and pick up in different location. That make very convenient for us since we didn't rent a car. We went there for our 8th Anniversary. Upon check-in, we received the complimentary champagne and chocolate deliver to our room. It's really surprise us. Our 5 yrs old son really enjoy pool. There are big pools and a big slide even us we love to slide down from slide since it's quite fast and fun. There are many activities for kids to enjoy and best part is there are many kids around the pools so my son always has some little friends to play with. The hotel service is excellent. All staffs are so friendly. We really enjoy our stay. We definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruongFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Westin Maui Resort and Spa is a GREAT beach side location. Great for couples and families with children. We recently stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed our stay. A very warm welcome by the reception with a shell lei greeting which was very nice, however room was not ready for us when we arrived so we were offered complimentary drinks at the bar while we waited. The deluxe ocean view room we had was view of the beach and mountains. Our room was near the elevator so during the night we found it was too noisy, we asked to be moved to another room and they happily moved us 2 rooms along the following day. The entrance/lobby area with the grand waterfall, Flamingos, Coi Carp and swan is stunning, really great to sit and relax if you want to. Lovely pool area, my kids had a great time using the water slide but they really need more parasols by the pool for shade. Breakfast buffet is ok though $28 is a bit expensive, you can either sit pool side for breakfast or chose the ocean view seating at the Tropica Island Grill, we loved the ocean view, its beautiful in the morning. Staff were always very friendly and efficient. Hire of two beach chairs and a parasol $40 ...hmmmm ? Ka'anapali beach is lovely and the front of the hotel with the manicured golf course and beautiful mountain view is quite spectacular. We took advantage of the spa facilities and indulged in a couples massage which was lovely. I didn't have issue with the cleanliness of our room, it was well kept. Whalers village is right next door to the hotel along with a selection of nice reatuarants.
Yes there was some construction work going on but did not effect us at all. Overall a really enjoyable stay and would happily visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyChick7302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Maui Westin staff appears to do the best they can with what they have. The hotel has high volume and this causes significant use on the rooms and hotel grounds. Without a plan to consistently renew the rooms and facilities, it is easy to understand why they are so worn.

It is good they are renovating rooms in the Ocean tower. They are completely worn out! Again, no fault of the people running the hotel, just the fact that the property has alot of guests.

Giving Westin the benefit of the doubt here, there are some things they could do better. The rooms are not nearly as clean as they could be. Hotel management needs to do a better job here, even if the furnishings are worn. Our room smelled terribly. However, the staff was more than willing to clean the carpet and re-clean the bathroom to help remediate the smell. Even if the furnishings are worn out, the room can still smell fresh and be clean! This is imperative.

Additionally, management should be way more active in ensuring the grounds are as clean as possible. This would mitigate the tiredness of the rooms and help with the overall appearance and feeling of cleanliness.

The staff was very friendly, the prices in line with other hotels of the caliber, the location is perfect.

The fact of the matter is that people who stay here spend alot of money, and thus have certain expectations. I am sure that some guests are terribly disappointed when they arrive and see a worn out, tired, less than spotless room.

Bottom line: if you adjust your expectations accordingly and accept some of these flaws, you will have a great vacation in a beautiful location on a beautiful island!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Aloha Terry D, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review. Your honest and fair remarks are greatly appreciated and have been taken into great consideration, sincerely. We do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to a better, different and special Westin Maui experience in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Reading the reviews prior to arriving made us a little nervous. But we're here now and the place is great. Everyone has been super friendly and accommodating. Our room is clean (we were upgraded for free) and comfortable. We're in the beach tower so maybe that's better. If you're looking for things to complain about, I guess you can find them, but I prefer to sit back, relax and enjoy myself.

Room Tip: Beach tower is better right now as the ocean tower is undergoing renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your kind words. We can't thank you enough for acknowleging our friendly and accomodating staff. We will be sure to share your comments with them. From all of us at The Westin Maui, we wish you a wonderful rest of the summer and look forward to your return. Thank you again for your reveiw.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
245 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Westin is located in a prime location on Kaanapali beach right next to shopping and dining at Whaler's village and across the street from renowned Kaanapali Kai golf course. The lobby is very welcoming with a grand waterfall and flamingo-filled pond. Check-in process was easy and quick albeit not overly helpful or friendly. I was rather disappointed once I got to my room. The hallways and rooms are very dated, dirty and gloomy. They also have a very weird layout with a small bathroom area that isn't very private. This was my least-favorite aspect. I was a little disappointed with the staff throughout the property. With the exception of some, most of the staff members in all areas were not very friendly or willing to help out. Concierge acted as if my questions were a nuisance and the bell staff was just kind of lazy and helpless at times. The pool was nice and the food at the outlets on property was tasty. I think the property needs a revamp and the staff some additional customer service training and they will be on the right track. They have potential but are dragging right now.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEGMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
6.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
23.1 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing