We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Westin Maui Resort and Spa is a GREAT beach side location. Great for couples and families with children. We recently stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed our stay. A very warm welcome by the reception with a shell lei greeting which was very nice, however room was not ready for us when we arrived so we were offered complimentary drinks at the bar while we waited. The deluxe ocean view room we had was view of the beach and mountains. Our room was near the elevator so during the night we found it was too noisy, we asked to be moved to another room and they happily moved us 2 rooms along the following day. The entrance/lobby area with the grand waterfall, Flamingos, Coi Carp and swan is stunning, really great to sit and relax if you want to. Lovely pool area, my kids had a great time using the water slide but they really need more parasols by the pool for shade. Breakfast buffet is ok though $28 is a bit expensive, you can either sit pool side for breakfast or chose the ocean view seating at the Tropica Island Grill, we loved the ocean view, its beautiful in the morning. Staff were always very friendly and efficient. Hire of two beach chairs and a parasol $40 ...hmmmm ? Ka'anapali beach is lovely and the front of the hotel with the manicured golf course and beautiful mountain view is quite spectacular. We took advantage of the spa facilities and indulged in a couples massage which was lovely. I didn't have issue with the cleanliness of our room, it was well kept. Whalers village is right next door to the hotel along with a selection of nice reatuarants.
Yes there was some construction work going on but did not effect us at all. Overall a really enjoyable stay and would happily visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyChick7302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,130
    1,569
    734
    399
    221
See reviews for
1,613
2,213
80
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Maui Westin staff appears to do the best they can with what they have. The hotel has high volume and this causes significant use on the rooms and hotel grounds. Without a plan to consistently renew the rooms and facilities, it is easy to understand why they are so worn.

It is good they are renovating rooms in the Ocean tower. They are completely worn out! Again, no fault of the people running the hotel, just the fact that the property has alot of guests.

Giving Westin the benefit of the doubt here, there are some things they could do better. The rooms are not nearly as clean as they could be. Hotel management needs to do a better job here, even if the furnishings are worn. Our room smelled terribly. However, the staff was more than willing to clean the carpet and re-clean the bathroom to help remediate the smell. Even if the furnishings are worn out, the room can still smell fresh and be clean! This is imperative.

Additionally, management should be way more active in ensuring the grounds are as clean as possible. This would mitigate the tiredness of the rooms and help with the overall appearance and feeling of cleanliness.

The staff was very friendly, the prices in line with other hotels of the caliber, the location is perfect.

The fact of the matter is that people who stay here spend alot of money, and thus have certain expectations. I am sure that some guests are terribly disappointed when they arrive and see a worn out, tired, less than spotless room.

Bottom line: if you adjust your expectations accordingly and accept some of these flaws, you will have a great vacation in a beautiful location on a beautiful island!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Aloha Terry D, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review. Your honest and fair remarks are greatly appreciated and have been taken into great consideration, sincerely. We do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to a better, different and special Westin Maui experience in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Reading the reviews prior to arriving made us a little nervous. But we're here now and the place is great. Everyone has been super friendly and accommodating. Our room is clean (we were upgraded for free) and comfortable. We're in the beach tower so maybe that's better. If you're looking for things to complain about, I guess you can find them, but I prefer to sit back, relax and enjoy myself.

Room Tip: Beach tower is better right now as the ocean tower is undergoing renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your kind words. We can't thank you enough for acknowleging our friendly and accomodating staff. We will be sure to share your comments with them. From all of us at The Westin Maui, we wish you a wonderful rest of the summer and look forward to your return. Thank you again for your reveiw.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Westin is located in a prime location on Kaanapali beach right next to shopping and dining at Whaler's village and across the street from renowned Kaanapali Kai golf course. The lobby is very welcoming with a grand waterfall and flamingo-filled pond. Check-in process was easy and quick albeit not overly helpful or friendly. I was rather disappointed once I got to my room. The hallways and rooms are very dated, dirty and gloomy. They also have a very weird layout with a small bathroom area that isn't very private. This was my least-favorite aspect. I was a little disappointed with the staff throughout the property. With the exception of some, most of the staff members in all areas were not very friendly or willing to help out. Concierge acted as if my questions were a nuisance and the bell staff was just kind of lazy and helpless at times. The pool was nice and the food at the outlets on property was tasty. I think the property needs a revamp and the staff some additional customer service training and they will be on the right track. They have potential but are dragging right now.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEGMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for 6 days. The rooms were very nice, your typical King bed room you know with a bedroom. We had a mountain side view which was beautiful to wake up to in the morning. The bed was amazing I slept like a baby every night. Unfortunately the time that my wife and I did spend in the room was a little unpleasant due to them doing some renovations close to us. So I would call and make sure that they give you a room away from the renovations. Although the room wasn't anything special, the property and staff were! One of the nights my wife and I decided to pop open a bottle of wine;I called room service to bring up a corkscrew and within 5 minutes they were at my door knocking. Another occurence happened right before we left, we needed to weigh our bags for the flight; they didnt hesitate to bring a scale up to my room. The Consierge services let us know about all cool spots to hit especially when we decided to do The Road to Hana. They also hooked us up with a free tote for anykind of groceries as well as a free box of chocolates, all you have to do is ask. Although we did not spend much time at the property, the time that we did it was beautiful, especially the beach walk. I hope this helps anybody who is willing to read it. Thank You.

Room Tip: Room away from renovations and towards the mountain side. Less morning noise from the guest arriving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We recognize that renovation may have impacted some of our guests, and we are happy to hear that our staff was on point and provided you with exceptional service. Thank you for sharing this with us and for choosing us as your Maui resort destination. We hope to welcome you back again and hear more about your island adventures. Have a wonderful rest of the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We've stayed in Westin resorts and hotels all over the world, but this was the worst experience we've ever had. The location is great. The lobby/pool area is quite nice. We had a suite that was at the end of the building closest to the beach that partially faced the pool and then also was beachfront. It was very spacious and had a great layout. The big problem with our room was that between holes in the carpet (which looked very old/worn), stains on the walls and the moldy shower that looked like a science experiment gone wrong. We couldn't really open the curtains to see our grand views because it made the room so incredibly hot and the air conditioner just didn't do a good enough job to be able to keep up. I realize that this hotel is going through a major renovation, and it is very necessary. Yes, I did see that info on their website. That did not prepare me for the condition of our room. It was on par with a 2 star Sheraton.
We had a total of 4 rooms (including our suite) because we were there for my in-law's 50th anniversary. Their room happened to be down the hall from ours. In our 24 hours in this hotel they had someone come try to fix their ac three times. They ended up saying that it just couldn't get any cooler in their room (might have gotten down to 75 - but the hall was around 68). The other 2 rooms we had were in the building with construction. We were told that every other day between 9-3 or 4, those rooms would have no water. We had family pictures on an "off water" day, so it was going to be very difficult to get half of our group ready.
The ONLY bright spot was meeting Jeff, a manager there. We ended up moving down to the Hyatt the next day. Jeff made it possible for us all to get out of our reservation and refunded the deposits made. Had I booked the Hyatt when I booked the Westin, we probably could've gotten nicer/bigger rooms, but we were just happy to go with clean rooms with good ac.
I'm sure that, once their renovation is done, this will be a great resort. I'm not sure that I would've been happy to pay $200/night for our oceanfront suite in the condition it was in.
People on here complain about not being able to get a chair by the pool unless you go early. That is true, but it is also true for almost any resort like this. I don't like it, and I didn't get a chair here (or at the Hyatt) unless I went to the pool around 8:30.

Room Tip: Choose a room that has been updated - until then, stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherriLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Aloha SherriLR, Mahalo for your sharing the details of your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the condition of your room as well as the issue you experienced with your air conditioning. We recognize that we were not able to meet your basic expectations. Our team has investigated your comments to fix the deficiencies that you reported. We are happy that Jeff was able to assist with making the rest of your Maui stay comfortable. However, we are disappointed that it lead to your departure. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with a dramatically improved experience. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for about 8 days. Rooms are OK but nothing special. Cleaning staff did not go out of their way to do anything extra. Bathroom floor was not swept during our whole stay nor was the carpet vacuumed. Beds were terrible... so uncomfortable and the blankets always slipped off and fell to the floor. Worse thing about our stay is that the hotel is remodeling so the one day when Flossie rolled threw we had to stay and listen to the extremely loud noises from the construction. Called management to complain and was directed to an answering machine...needless to say no one addressed our concerns.
With all that said the location is awesome. Lahaina is awesome. Maui is awesome. But will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenhouse515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,030 reviews
22.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing