We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay at Westin Maui Resort and Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay at Westin Maui Resort and Spa”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just returned from a 6-day/5-night stay at the Westin Maui where I had a very pleasant stay in an ocean/pool view room with balcony on the 5th floor of the Ocean Tower. The front desk staff was especially welcoming and prompt with check-in/out and the bell staff was friendly and quick with the luggage.

As noted in some of the other reviews I found the furniture to be chipped and a bit worn, the sink and marble countertop were both cracked, wallpaper in the bathroom was bubbled off the wall, and the overhead bathroom vent had painted over rust which showed the hotels age but did not detract overwhelmingly from my stay at the hotel. The Westin heavenly bed was extraordinarily comfortable with luxurious linens.

Found the food served poolside at the adult area was good and nicely presented with typical resort prices ($11-16). Received outstanding service from Keisha, a 14-year Westin veteran poolside server who hustled endlessly to make sure food was delivered hot and beverages cold. I never ate breakfast at the hotel due to the high price ($28) and limited selection.

The hotel grounds and free form pools are immaculate, access to the beach and Kaanapali boardwalk is terrific, and the resort's location adjacent to the shops and restaurants of Whaler's Village is ideal. The resort has a well equipped gym, there are many walking/running routes just outside the door of the hotel, and the resort is located just across the street from two 18-hole golf courses.

Overall the hotel rooms show their age but the beds are wonderfully comfortable, the staff is friendly and accommodating, and the location is great.

Room Tip: Choose ocean/pool view rooms in the Ocean Tower on the 5th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferry_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,090
    1,540
    718
    394
    219
See reviews for
1,559
2,184
78
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
183 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We needed a place to stay our first night on Maui because we added a night on the front part of our stay, so my husband did a name your own price option for a 5 star place. For $200 we got a clean plain very very very small room. The room itself was no nicer than any Comfort Suite we have stayed in. Any way, the grounds are very pretty, with flamingoes and koi in the front lobby area. The location was good, just on the edge of Lahaina, so lots of restaurants nearby. The room itself was impeccably clean I felt like, however there were some little teeny black bugs that were on the outside door frame we noticed when we returned from dinner. I saw one the next morning near the sink. I kinda would have thought we wouldn't see bugs in a 5 star resort, but I guess so. Also, I don't think this place really qualifies for that rating because the room we stayed in was so plain. The hair dryer was very old. Not that I care, it worked, just again felt these should be updated every so often to stay in keeping with their supposed ratings. The most positive thing I can say about our stay for this one night is that the beds truly are heavenly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhclemrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had the May reviews been available in January when I booked (I know impossible) I would have never booked. Ok, the good news first. The grounds are still so lovely, fun to be close to Lahaina, Matt the concierge was the best, and Michelle was the same, buffet breakfast very tasty (had it as a complimentary gift for what comes next). Went to the spa...Daniella was very good. Spa relaxation room has great view, facilities are a bit sparse. Ok, now the other news. So excited to arrive on a Friday at 1 p.m. Long line to check in, but hey we had sat for many hours on the plane. We get our room, deluxe ocean view, and it is right next to the elevator. I run right back down. Another 1/2 hour and no other rooms available. Really???? Ok, view is great, but room is dirty, sink has a crack right down the middle and clock doesn't work. Ok, we can get another, had to clean it and still didn't work. Ok, who needs a clock in Hawaii. But as the hours wore on the dirt and stickiness was creepy. Next morning...we need to move. How about a "kind of ocean view" overlooking Whaler's. Anything. "no, it's not noisy, you are high up, I like that view". Well, it was clean and roomy and noisy and was over a parking lot...where did the beautiful ocean sound go, drowned out by the parking lot and music until late into the night. Ok, whatever. Then I was locked out, security then engineering had to fix that. Ok, deep breath, how about a shower. Out comes rusty water. I almost screamed but was too tired. Ok, the 6000 gallon water tank was being repaired. Just run the water, it will go away. Get me out of here. So we stood in line again and finally got a nice, clean room with a better ocean view. Too many hours standing in line for keys and help. The check in line is really understaffed at certain times of the day. Apparently, when I was in it. I love the grounds, I love the adult pool, I loved the week we picked, I'm sad the rooms have become so raggedy. But I guess there is construction underway. So, if you are not in the room very much and don't care about view or sound, you might be ok. Loved the pool service.

I just hate to rate low when it was just the first part of the trip, but when it is the 4th day before you are unpacking it is kind of sad.

Room Tip: Don't go over Whalers Village (beach tower, odd numbered rooms). Ocean tower best but rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soozjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I was disappointed with the condition of the hotel's room - tired and in need of renovations. I saw that renos had begun on one part of the hotel but it is going to take a long time! The lamps in our room were chipped, the couch was stained and the corners were worn. It is the first Westin I have been in that has not been up to date with carpets and furnishings.

As a Starwood Platinum member I expected a room with a better view of the ocean, we were on the second floor. The reservation was made almost 5 months in advance.

The food is expensive but very good.

The grounds are wonderful - pools, waterfalls and access to the beach are great! The walk between hotels on the beach makes for a great evening walk. There are many different places to eat along the walk.

The conceirge, Kathy, was excellent - very helpful helping us find places to eat and things to do.

Room Tip: I suspect this hotel's best rooms are booked on a yearly basis by the same people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Mahalo for your continued loyalty as a valued Platinum guest. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to delighting you with our new enhancements in the near future. Malama pono (take care)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel grounds are absolutely fantastic pink flamingos, black swan, koi fish, slide, waterfalls everywhere. The rooms are very plush, bedding of high quality and a most thrilling heavenly shower location perfect we had a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreyes1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We love this hotel. Took my daughter and wife there for vacation. Little bit of a drive from the airport. But great beach and amazing water slide aNd pool. Nice pool view balcony rooms. You would want a rental car here as there is lots to see but you need a car.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank www_prodev_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Westins are usually great but this was disappointing. They checked us into a room with double beds although a king was promised. Bad carpet in the hallways and room. Bathrooms in the room must have been at least a hundred years old. The price of the rooms, food, for an umbrella on the beach, a bottle of water, etc was outrageous but this of course was Maui. They could have eased on at least one or two prices or provided some kind of amenity to offset it. Great service overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solomon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge the services you enjoyed during your stay with us. Your constructive comments will definitely assist us in our efforts to continuously improve and exceed guest expectations. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,988 reviews
6.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing