We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation...would go again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Vacation...would go again!”
Reviewed January 25, 2004

My wife and I went to Maui with another couple in September 2003. We decided to stay at the Westin after many, many hours of reading.
Although we were not given a king bed the first night, we were moved the next morning to a king bed. The lobby, waterfall, and pool area is simply beautiful. Like others have stated, the heavenly beds are very comfortable. The rooms are on the small side, but you really do not spend much time in the room. The beach and water was really nice the first two days, but then high tides and strong winds churned up the water and made for some slight body sandblasting. All in all, we had a woderful time and would stay at the Westin again if visiting Maui.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,130
    1,568
    734
    399
    221
See reviews for
1,613
2,213
80
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2004

We stayed at the Westin from 11/6 to 11/16 with our three kids, 7, 5 and 16 months. Our kids loved the Keiki Kamp programs and also enjoyed the swimming pool and water slide. The service was excellent and everyone on the staff was very good with our children. The Lahina area is our favorite area in Maui for both views and activities. This hotel is not inexpensive but we enjoyed every day we were there, and previous stays at the Sheridan and seeing other Hotels in the Kaanapali strip we would still return to the Westin.

Helpful?
1 Thank macdec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 22, 2004

We stayed at the Westin Maui in August of 2003 for our honeymoon. The hotel itself is beautiful but we found everything to be way overpriced. It is impossible to afford any food at the restaurants ($9.00 for a bowl of chicken soup) or the snack bar by the pool. One thing to be careful about if you use this hotel is, the service bar refridgerator. We opened up the refrig and found beer, soda and candy in the refrig when we arrived. We saw the prices to use this stuff and went to Safeway to buy our own. We asked at the front desk how to handle using the refrig.- they said just take the stuff from the hotel out and put your stuff in and leave a note for the maid. We left a note and got a note back that if the original stuff was removed we would be charged for the whole contents. We had to check our bill everyday at the front desk to check if we were being charged. They were very nice about it and any charges were reversed but you have to watch out. They also charged us for parking when they wren't supposed to. Again they were nice about reversing the charges but again it is a pain to have to keep checking the bill. So watch that. I also had an incident where I fell in the shower they don't have bath mats and I guess the sunscreen made the floor slippery. They had an EMT come up to the room- very nice and caring. They also gave us big blankets to use on the Road to Hana. Overall, we are going back to Maui in July but would pick a more reasonably priced hotel. It just wasn't our type of place- we felt we couldn't enjoy much of what the hotel had to offer b/c of the prices.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 18, 2004

We just returned from the Westin in Maui and I have to disagree with some of the reviews that are posted, we had a wonderful time, our room was a Deluxe Ocean View and we had views of the resorts pools plus the Ocean view. The room was great plenty of room and the Heavenly bed and Bath are to die for!!!, we had the buffet breakfast every morning and it was excellent, the omelet bar is great, everyone that worked at the hotel was helpful and friendly, after reading some of the reviews before we went I was really worried but didn't need to be, when you walk into the lobby there are beautiful waterfalls, flamingo's, ducks and parrots, the landscaping is the best I have seen.

It is very kid friendly, there are water slides and waterfalls to play in and the pool is excellent, for restaurants we went to whalers village and down town great food and excellent service, we recommend a sunset meal at the Plantation house it was amazing and the food was awesome. we also travelled to other beaches that were better than at the resorts and had a great time, I would recommend this resort to anyone in fact we are going to return in July with our family, can't wait!!!

we also checked out all the hotels in the resort and this was definetely the best .

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 3, 2004

We LOVE this hotel!!!!!!! in fact we are coming bak spring break 2004 for some partying. the hotel is really cool and lots of fun! if u know any sexy singles between the ages of 15-17, male, bring them along for this week that will be unforgettable...we kno how to show u a good time!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2004

Very disappointed in the "ocean view"... we were overlooking the roof of Whaler's Village next door and had to lean out the small balcony to actually see the water. Weather was not good. Most days were cloudy, cool and a couple downright rainy. Beach, as all other reviewers mention, was terrible. Very rough and not attractive... just a small strip of sand. Nothing to do at night for entertainment at the hotel.
Best thing we did was hire a tour guide, his name was Neil. He took us in a Lincoln Navigator all around the island... to Hana and back. He had just spent a week taking care of Ted Turner. He was a local guy- absolutely fascinating. Food was very, very, very expensive which would be just fine if it was worth it but unfortunately it wasn't. Not going back to Maui. Booked for Aruba in March.

Helpful?
2 Thank lw87netl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 30, 2003

Our family spent 10-days in December at the Westin Maui and our trip couldn't have been more perfect. You can really tell the difference between high season and low season as our stay spanned both. The service was excellent and the Hotel was beautiful. The heavenly beds were nicer than other hotel beds. Our room was near the waterfalls and we found the sound to be more soothing than irritating. Our children loved the pool. Great hotel for kids, not so good for honeymooners.
They have enough pool chairs for everyone, but do not enforce any kind of use-it-or-lose-it policy. People go down and reserve a group of chairs by placing a towel or personal item on them early in the morning and they remain unused for much of the day (high season, nobody did this the previous week). I sat for 2 hours on a group of 13 "reserved" chairs for 2 hours one morning and not one person came to claim them.
Other reviewers have stated the hotel does not provide enough pool chairs. I'm here to tell you--there ARE enough chairs if people would only use them while they are at the pool. That is my only complaint, the hotel staff were great at I felt they catered to our every need.
The beach is a bit steep and the winter waves are pretty strong but we knew of this going in. We will stay at the Westin Maui again.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,030 reviews
22.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing