We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here in February 2012 and had a fabulous time!!! Would stay here again!!! The staff were awesome! The spa was great!!! Nothing like having a pedicure done with the ocean right out the window! The breakfast buffet was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cordelia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,112
    1,554
    728
    397
    220
See reviews for
1,588
2,202
79
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Squamish, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is located on the north area of Maui approximately 40 minutes from the airport. There is construction on the road leading north so it is possible it may take longer. Unless you plan to spend all your time at the hotel, I would recommend renting a car. On that note the westin parking lot has one of the narrowest stalls I have encountered. Don't rent a big car unless you plan to valet it. Parking was almost always an issue. Hotel has two buildings. One aligns east-west. So your view is either going to be ocean to the north, or pool/ocean area to the south. The other building is aligned north-south. So your view will either be of the ocean, or....of the parking lot. Ok this isn't quite true. You can see the mountains, and if you are on the north end of the building you won't see the parking lot. I think it's worth getting the ocean view if it isn't too much more, or at least asking to upgraded if possible (no fee?). The staff were all friendly, and I would say most the people on the island were. Pool area is very child friendly, you might loose them in one of the many pools they have but that's another issue. The beach in front of the property has great sand. The ocean has a sandy bottom that goes out quite a distance so swimming there is great. If you are a runner like myself, you can head north on the boardwalk for a 2.5 mile run(5 mile return) all on the board walk. If you head south you can run on boardwalk, beach trail, road, and sidewalk for as long as you want. The town south of Lahaina is 3.5 miles south(center area). There is water along the way if you don't want to run with it. Overall the hotel is quite nice, it does require a car, and Whales village next door won't keep you occupied enough for your entire trip. I think Maui requires exploring. There are so many nice beachs to check out. One issue I have with the set up is that they are actively trying to sell you time shares. We got a message on our phone saying that the concierge had a free gift for us. Well turned out to be a 50 cent bag with the westin name on it. They then tried to get us to sign up for a timeshare presentation. We did and that was three hours of my life I'll never get back. If you have the time to kill why not, but don't buy anything. They aren't super high sales but still, take your time to sleep on it before you make a decision. They did allow us that and after looking at it all it didn't make sense for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sakology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our kids loved playing in their pool and the slide. It has a good beach in front of it so they visit both often. The rooms are a bit dated. However, they are currently undergoing a remodel. Watch out for the sell on the vacation club. The concierge their kept trying to get us to sign up to visit their vacation club models.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Problemchild2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The grounds are absolutely beautiful and well cared for. The rooms on the other hand are well worn, but clean and comfortable. Check in took an extremely long time (5 hours) as their system stopped working. Sitting around waiting for a room took up a lot of our "beach time". The restaurants that are in walking distance are all wonderful. The staff is so friendly and nice and always willing to help with anything you need. Overall I will definitely be back to the Westin!! Well worth every $$. Thanks for the great memories and a very fun vacation.

Room Tip: The garden view is very pretty if you don't want to spend the $$ on a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just returned from the Westin and had a good stay. I was worried about all the negative comments before arrival, though my experience was better than expected.
Check in was a breeze, no waiting at all because there were 3 people working on the front desk. I did see a line from time to time when there was only one person working.
I got a room across from the elevator despite asking for a quiet room, though I was not bothered by any noice during the stay, maybe because it was after the Spring break. The room was on 5th floor w a nice mountain view. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Housekeeping runs late during the weekends. I called the front desk about where to weight my luggage, and they sent a scale! I called the front about microwave, and they sent one within 10 minutes! Room had a mini-fridge, and there was a microwave next to the Starbucks coffee shop as well.
I loved the double showerhead w good water pressure, the best!
Parking space was not as small as I imagined. I had a minivan and was able to find good parking durng the day, though if you return at night you might not find one (they do valet park for free if you cannot find a space).
Best part of the resort was the grand lobby and the wonderful pools! My kids had a blast, they refused to play on the beach, and stayed by the pool all day. Plenty of kids having a good time around the pool area, perfect for families w young kids.
Resort is next to Whaler Village and beachwalk, nice for evening walk, watching sunset, good eats, and my kids visited Yogurtland (Whaler Village) daily.
The resort is undergoing renovation, and they better be, because their "disney" like water feasures and gardens might have met a match by the opening of Disney Aulani. Several of the conferences which used to take place in Westin had switched to Disney Aulani this year.
Overall we had a great experience and would return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrannosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This is the second year in row that my husband and I have stayed at the Westin Kaanapali. We had a wonderful time, once again. The one suggestion that I would like to make is if you really want to relax, upgrade from the studio to one bedroom. The lanai is much larger and you have more room to spread out.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

we just stayed at Westin Resort and Spa for 8 days. it was beautiful. everyone is SO FRIENDLY. and I mean everyone - and it's not a fake customer service thing, it's just how they are. We originally booked a "mountain view" room - this is truly just a parking lot view with mountains in the background. After 3 nights we upgraded to ocean view. We were in 621 and if you want true ocean view without looking through palm trees, you should be above 7th floor, but our view was still amazing. the property itself is so beautiful, amazing flora everywhere, waterfalls, 5 pools, flamingos and koi and a black swan in the lobby area. We walked the beach boardwalk that runs in front of all of the resorts along ka'anapali parkway and this was the nicest pool/lobby area that we saw. Hyatt was nice too (second) but this was better. SOME TIPS: go to the store there are a couple of grocery stores and a walgreens in Lahaina, buy bottled water for your room if you drink more than 2 bottles per day (they give you 2 free bottles per day), and we also bought snacks for around the pool (granola bars, apples etc). We also bought a little cooler and ice packs to take with us on excursions or even for the pool area. Alcoholic drinks at the pool are $7.75 for the daily special drink, or $10 for regular drinks (not huge either). bottled water is $3.50, bags of chips $2.75, hot dogs $6. O'no's and Tropica the on-site restaurants have very similar food, but are both good - expensive though. Breakfast buffet is $28.95 per person - it's a big buffet though. There is also a little area to buy oatmeal and such which is a bit cheaper, or there's a McDonalds in lahaina. The resort is next door to Whaler's village, a great shopping area and also has some nice restaurants as well - also a subway, which we ate lunch at a lot. We saved our money for dinners. Go into Lahaina, there are several cool restaurants and tons of shopping along front street. Park in public parking area at the end and just walk, it's very nice. You can also walk to Black rock from the resort and jump off the cliff, but there are HUGE sea turtles there too, just off the beach which was really cool. great snorkeling in that area. If you do'nt care about getting daily housekeeping and you put the tag on your door, you get a $5 voucher to use pool side or at Ono's or Tropica - we saved ours the whole week and used $35 for breakfast buffet. If you do'nt get housekeeping you can still get your water or coffee packets from the housekeeper. there is a daily resort fee of $30 (very average for the area) but it's great that it covers self parking for free and internet in the rooms or the lobby area. We also saw a lot of whales right off the beach at the resort or while we were driving into lahaina. Oh, and the BEDS were amazing too!! Overall I have so much to say, it was a GREAT resort, super friendly staff and we had a WONDERFUL time.

Room Tip: The oceanview rooms are the best - noisier than parking lot/mountain view only because you hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing