We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,676)
Filter reviews
5,677 results
Traveler rating
2,412
1,720
837
448
260
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,412
1,720
837
448
260
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach towerwhalers villageadult poolocean viewblack swanself parkingheavenly bedpink flamingosbreakfast buffetour honeymoonhula grillspg pointskoi fishabc storean umbrellafree shuttlean upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
3,178 - 3,183 of 5,677 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We unfourtanity stayed thinking we had ocean views and could hear the peaceful waves. Whalers Village next door is like living next to an open bar all day and night. We were among a few guests to complain about the loud music and we were told 'this is news to us'.

Just got woken up from a nap from yet another band! The windows and doors are shut and you can still hear the loud music. Don't stay here if you want to relax.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serotonin777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

We certainly appreciate your constructive feedback and will share with the management of the neighboring shopping village. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to create a renewing experience on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have been to Maui 6 times and this is the worst hotel we have stayed in. The lobby is nice but the front desk staff (the only nice person was the younger Japanese woman) were extremely rude. The hotel is tired with worn hallways, carpeting and rooms. You must request shower gel (?) and someone will then have to bring it to your room. Weird. Also, the Westin is undergoing major construction which can be heard throughout the beach tower and also at the pool. This was not mentioned at booking or upon check in. On checkout, we had to dispute a charge that appeared on our final bill for a restaurant on premises. It was easy to know we did not charge anything as we never charge anything to the room and always pay by credit card at the time of purchase. Instead of simply looking to see if they indeed had made an error, the front desk attendant started questioning us asking, "where did you eat last night then." After our questioning and insistence on our part, she checked the bills and sure enough found that the charge was incorrect. The bill was for a family with the first few letters the same but a different last name and room number. She all of the sudden became very friendly and apologetic. Oh, so they can be nice if they have to be. Perhaps if we were locals we would get better treatment as it was obvious that locals were being provided wristbands to use the pool even though they were not staying there - I am not sure if the Westin has a program to allow them to pay for day use or if they were being let in by another local. In addition, the walls were paper thin and you can hear cars in the parking area, people in the halls, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ss77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were here just for vacation. It was really a paradise! The pools (yeah, there are several of them) was the our favorite spot to hang out. You would ask why since there is such gorgeous beach. Well, we like to play in the pool, that includes splashing, playing Marco Polo. Don't get me wrong, the beach at Westinghouse was THE BEST in that area. Cause Hyatt had smallest beach, almost none! So beach was gorgeous, we liked snorkeling (that's right, our own goggles, diving and looking at some small reefs and seeing different fish!). Hotel staff was friendly, we were treated with necklaces :). Gorgeous hotel, have flamingos walking in the huge pond! Koi fish there as well. Every day we seen big parrots that were saying "aloha", lol.
Oh, try the slide too!
Food wise, go outside, because hotel restaurants are way too expensive. Better tip: there is a grocery store less then 10min away, go there, stuff up on snacks, water and some sandwiches, this would save you lots of $$$$$$. If facing the beach, hotel on the back, turn right and again right behind hotel, there will be chain of restaurants you could chose from.
Must: trip to Hana and go eat at Mamas Fish House!
Btw, bring spf30, lots of it. Cause wi 50 you won't get tanned at all. 30 would give you enough protection, but you would need to user often, so bring few. Cause buying it there would cost you about $18.

Room Tip: Don't have room facing the pool, there are too many kids and that might be annoying. But face parking lot, mountain view is gorgeous!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tetyana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

First of all, the Westin is NOT in Lahaina. It's' in the first group of hotels in the Ka'anapali set of resort properties.

It really does have a beautiful set of pools and gardens, including a full pool and spa designated specifically for adults only. It was an easy resort to get around in, and the restaurants were nicely laid out. Warning: the "free" tote bag held by the concierge results in a push to take a time-share tour.

Now about the room. Room 253. If this really has to be sold as a hotel room at the price we paid, at least they could do something about how sloppily the equipment we had to look at was kept. I'm attaching a photo I took from our lanai window - the only window. Not only that, the head of the bed was situated so that this was the view from the bed - nothing else! There was also, to the right and not shown here, a fake "boulder" which would have looked a lot nicer if the bird poop had been cleaned off.

The first afternoon we were there, we went to sit outside, arranging ourselves so we didn't have to see the pipes full on, I went to set my drink down - on bird poop. In the interest of time and not wanting to do housework on the first night of our vacation, I simply put a washcloth out as a table cover. Housekeeping just left it there and left us one fewer washcloth in the bathroom each night! As far as I know, the bird poop is still there.

We stayed here 3 nights, and then 3 nights at the Sheraton. Much better experience there!

Room Tip: Don't accept assignment to room 253!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGaitherHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My daughter and I planned a girl's trip to Hawai'i and being a Starwood preferred guest, we chose the Westin Maui Resort and Spa for our stay. After making our reservation, we started going on trip advisor to see what the reviews were like and were very worried about our choice! According to what we'd read, we were expecting old room (smell and all) and some rude employees, noise from construction and so on.
I don't know where those people stayed but not at THAT Westin!
We couldn't be more satisfied!!!!
Beautiful resort, the staff could not be nicer, special thanks to Shirley at the concierge desk who after only one meeting with us, knew our name and room number by heart and managed to book some wonderful tables for us at our preferred restaurants. Another thanks to Stevie at the American Express activity desk who took care of us for our ''late'' booking for a horse back riding activity
The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are clean(we stayed in the ocean tower on the 6th floor), yes, a bit outdated but do you really need the latest fashion? Absolutely no noise from construction(didn't even see any!) and no noise from the elevators!
The free shuttle to Lahaina is a great way to see the town if you have no car, the adult pool is great if you want quiet time with a good book and the food is just fine!
The Westin sits on the best part of Ka'anapali beach with no rocks and the catamarans excursions just next door.
We would return any day and would love to bring the boys of the family next time!
Of course, there has to be things that we enjoyed a bit less or else people would think we were paid to write this review!
First thing: bring a full wallet! We ended up joking about how much our lunch, dinner or activity bill would be and would laugh our hearts off if a lunch bill was under 50$. No use crying over it!
Second thing: you have to rent your beach chairs! I am not a ''sit on a towel'' person, I hate gettind sand in my short (so does my daughter)and my family likes to call me princess so i was a bit dissapointed that the chairs had to be rented for the day...again, check that wallet! Let's just say we did more pool time which was heavenly too!
Third thing: It is really a family resort, kids everywhere! It is nice to see all those families having a great time but if you are looking for quiet couple time, this is not the place. Being with my daughter (who is all grown up and legal!), it reminded me of those family vacations long ago when she was small with her little brothers and I couldn't help but smile!
Maui is paradise so if you decide to enjoy it at the Westin, you won't be sorry!
In conclusion, great staff, great location, great activities: all worth every penny! Just make sure you don't mind taking that wallet out and you will be fine!
Aloha and Mahalo!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BrigitteCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for recognizing Shirley, Stevie and their teams! In addition, thank you for choosing The Westin Maui Resort & Spa to be a part of your mother-daughter holiday vacation. We look forward to keep this tradition alive and welcome you back soon. Warmest aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews