We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,668)
Filter reviews
5,668 results
Traveler rating
2,411
1,719
833
447
258
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,411
1,719
833
447
258
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach towerwhalers villageadult poolocean viewblack swanself parkingheavenly bedpink flamingosbreakfast buffetour honeymoonhula grillspg pointskoi fishabc storean umbrellafree shuttlean upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
3,175 - 3,180 of 5,668 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great location, very nice facility, serviceable and friendly staff. Near many attractions and with easy access to all kinds of activities. A free shuttle service runs from the resort to other locations nearby. The resort has direct beach access. A reef runs the length of the beach front.

Visited during whale season and you could literally sit at the beach and watch them breach and "teach" their babies the basics! We went during "spring break", we will not be making that mistake again. A sizeable young crowd made for a bit noisy environment poolside.

Room Tip: When reserving or checking in, ask for ocean view. A significant number of rooms do not have it.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for another romantic stay on Maui. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Second time in this place though years in between. Still love the place with possibility to swim with the whales mating between Maui and Lanai as in the pool not out of this world for a hotel. In a way feels like such a waste with just a wonderful beach just a few steps away. Though traveling as a couple, the place would be great for kids also. The easter brunch was just overwhelming and gave a whalesome feeling. Felt big like a whale afterwards ( own fault, you can quit in time ) and a great finish of the previous fast-period.Just literally as we really do not fast like that anymore. Really great things with this place are the whales, pool area and the brunch. Overall rating a very strong four star!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Mahalo for your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed The Westin Maui Resort & Spa. Until your next visit during whale season, stay well. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My family just returned from 2 spectacular weeks in Maui! We spent our first week at The Westin Maui and had a blast. The hotel, pool, restaurants, staff and beach were fantastic - it was the trip of a lifetime. The staff was polite and very accommodating throughout our stay. The pool is awesome and the beach is only steps away. Definitely a hotel we'll return to - great resort for families.

Room Tip: Go with the ocean view, you won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Mahalo for your glowing review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our services and amenities. We look forward to your next family island vacation. Malama pono (take care)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived for check in on 3/27/13 at 10:05 pm to find 1 person working the desk and 4 people in line. I am not kidding when I tell you it was 10:40 pm when we finally got to the desk…. WHY was there only 1 person there? Surely you are aware the flights that arrive from the east coast come in Every night between 8-10 pm. I understand about cutting costs or people calling in sick, but there should be a button for the person at the desk to call for assistance when they have more than 2 people in line… oh and just so you know, there were still 4 people behind us when we went up to our room finally. Also, I went to the desk 2 other days when I was there and the wait time/level of service was no different than when I checked in (seriously… 30 minutes in the gold/platinum line)… that desk needs serious overhaul.
The room was ok, nothing special… Bed is standard heavenly bed which was very comfortable. Bathroom was a nice size with a great shower (huge waterfall type head). I will say the housekeeping was outstanding the whole time we were there. The pool is WAY to crowded and not enough chairs. We also enjoyed our massage’s at the spa, the seaweed wrap though was way to rushed…it needs to stay on for at least 20-30 minutes in order to get benefit from it…mine was on only about 10 minutes (yes, I checked the clock …mainly because the person doing it seemed rushed and I wanted to see what I was getting). Ate at the 'OnO Bar & Grill several times (breakfast and dinner) and the food and service was always top notch, loved the drink specials as well. Used the Westin Shuttle several times and it was great…always on time. The activities offered were a nice touch too. We did the scuba resort dive (99/person) and Loved it. Did not do their luau but honestly…you can see it from the boardwalk, its just right there as you walk along. Honestly…next time we go we’ll try somewhere else. Hyatt and Marriott are properties that are close by but have a much more spread out layout which makes it feel less crowded.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elphie1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we are thrilled you enjoyed much of our resort amenities, we are disappointed to hear of some of your less than exceptional experiences. Rest assured they have been shared with our team for improvements. We look forward to creating a true renewing experience when you return. Aloha and stay well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were there over spring break and it was obviously VERY busy. The pools were crowded as was the beach and it took the valet 25 minutes to bring our bags up to the room. My biggest problem with this hotel was the room location. We had a mountain view, which was really a parking lot view directly over the bell stand. We didn't get much sleep as the noise from the people arriving/parking all night was very loud. You could hear every door slam, every bag rolling in, every conversation from those arriving. Most irritating,though, was the constant rolling of the towel bins and garbage bins back and forth beneath the room all night. The room itself was very average. We were there with 2 kids and were tripping all over each other. The bathroom are is very small, and the entire room needs an update. The pros are the beautiful common areas with waterfalls, flamingos and swans. The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful and very nice walking path. The gym was also quite nice. The food is good, but expectedly, overpriced. I feel there are better hotel's in the same price bracket on Kaanapali.

Room Tip: I would only choose an ocean view at this location. If its a mountain(parking lot)view, make sure it is on a high floor as to avoid the noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwoww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Mahalo for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continuously fine tune our services. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to provide a renewing and relaxing vacation in the future. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews