We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kaanapali Alii(Lahaina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (5,431)
Filter reviews
5,431 results
Traveler rating
2,301
1,668
800
426
236
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,301
1,668
800
426
236
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach towerwhalers villageadult poolblack swanocean viewself parkingheavenly bedpink flamingosbreakfast buffetour honeymoonhula grillspg pointskoi fishan umbrellaabc storekaanapali beachfree shuttle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,076 - 3,081 of 5,431 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This resort is in a great location on Maui. It is perfectly situated near lots of shops and restaurants with Whaler's Village right next door and is a very short drive to Lahaina's shopping area. The hotel itself has BEAUTIFUL grounds, the landscaping is gorgeous. The rooms are nice and comfortable and clean. Nothing too fancy but very nice and you don't spend much time in them anyway. I would suggest to request a room above the 7th floor as some of the palm trees can block your view and if you have a view it is beautiful. The pool is amazing with multiple levels and slides and "rivers" connecting them. There is one very large slide that my kids loved. The pool can get very crowded and it can be hard to find open chairs which was a pain. They do have waitresses that come around and take drink and food orders at the pool which is very convenient. The resort is also right on the ocean with a nice beach and you can rent boogie boards, surf boards, etc. The on-site restaurants are actually very good although expensive but really not anymore expensive than anywhere else in Hawaii. Overall I thought the hotel was very nice and would have no problem staying there again.

Room Tip: Request above the 7th floor so you can see above the palm trees!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just returned from our annual trip to the Westin. We are owners at the Villas, which we love, and always end our trip up with a few days at the hotel. The rooms are a little small and getting older, but always perfectly clean and new fresh linens. Most rooms have great views. You don't spend much time in your room anyhow. The grounds and pool areas are great. Best beach!!! Great walking path. Close to everything. Free shuttle to town. Restaurant has great selection of health conscious foods. The staff is always friendly and helpful, especially our friend Ronzi the bellman. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TahoeVista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Mahalo for sharing your island vacation with us on Tripadvisor. We sincerely appreciate your comments and would be happy to share them with Ronzi and our team. We look forward to your next visit to Maui. Me ke aloha pumehana (warmest aloha) from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel grounds were beautiful. The hotel rooms were good. The guest bathrooms were pathetic. We were on our honeymoon and paid for a "Deluxe Ocean View" and it was one of the crummiest bathrooms I've ever seen. We're very tall (over 6') and couldn't fit our head under the shower head. It's designed for short people. The counter space and vanity were outside the room but the light was so bright it was hard to use it for make-up. It's definitely in need of a renovation. Even the ceilings in the hallways were low. It did not feel fancy or high end.

There were a LOT Of children at this resort. Not something we wanted on our honeymoon. But a good place if you have kids. The pools were beautiful and the beach is right out front. That was great. It was next door to the whalers village wich was a great palce to shop and eat. There was an adult only pool, but there were lots of kids going into the hot tub (loacted in that area) and no staff to tell them to leave.

Good for families, not couples.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kapricca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Congratulations on your union! As we strive to create unforgettable memories for our guests, especially to those who are celebrating a special occasion, your review and experience is very important to us. Mahalo for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back. We wish you all the best. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Not sure why there is so much negative feedback? The Westin was great! Only negative is high price if food (which I expected so no surprise) and having to pay for umbrella and chair rental on the beach! Shade should be free! Otherwise beautiful beach, great hotel, excellent food and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Beach tower room was large
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cloudyday2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The lobby is absolutely stunning with the LIVE pink flamingos and black swan swimming in the pond that resembles a rain forest. The water slides & rock waterfalls lend a wonderful ambiance to the ocean side pools. Service here is phenomenal on all fronts and we enjoyed the Starbucks cafe each morning. Unlike the Westin Princeville who only offers a $10 voucher for their Greening Program ( you can opt out of maid service for a day) the Westin Maui offers 500 Starwood points for opting out! Much greater incentive than a restrictive $10 voucher that can onlybe used for breakfast (which was already provided in our stay----voucher had to be used same day, could not be used for items in the market or alcohol) Thank you Westin Maui for you flexiblity!
This hotel gives you great access to the beach walk that connects all the Kaanapali beach hotels & the Whaler Mall & restaurants!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Aloha! We sincerely appreciate your comments. We are delighted to know you took advantage of our Make a Green Choice Program and enjoyed our prime location. We eagerly await your next visit. Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews