We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good not Great”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

A bit expensive for the quality.

Good beach location, easy access to lots of things to do, including some very respectable restaurants. There is good shopping nearby too.

The room was older than I expected, and not really value for the money.

The service was excellent - everyone was very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,051
    1,517
    709
    389
    212
See reviews for
1,535
2,140
77
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I have been to Mau'i at least fifteen times and ALWAYS stay at the Westin Mau'i located on beautiful Ka'anapali Beach. This stylish hotel is warm, friendly and defines the Spirit of Aloha to me. All of the other hotels in the area are either mega-monstrosities which are better suited to Vegas, in need of renovation or totally lacking in island feel--stay at the Fresno Holiday Inn if that's what you're looking for. I'm a world traveller, if I may modestly state, and not a "tourist." That is a major difference in travel attitude. I go to soak up and experience what is LOCAL and unique to the destination; a tourist longs for toilets to flush as they do back in Des Moines. Trust me, there IS nowhere other than the Westin Mau'i to stay on this treasured isle. Carlito in food service, alone, will make you realize that he, and the Westin, welcome you and yearn for your inevitable return. Yes, Toto, "there is no place like home" . . . Unless, of course, it's the Westin Mau'i.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertoKappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Westin Maui resort for the second time in three years for 5 nights in Dec 2012. This second stay confirmed two things Ka'anapali is the best place to stay if you have kids/teenagers, and the Westin is in the best location, with the best pools (all five). The second thing that is confirmed is that the rooms need renovating, and while they are not bad, the wall paper and paint is aged and the beds are not Sheraton Sweet Sleepers. Having said that, the ground are A+ and the beach out the front and towards Black Rock is excellent, wide and with lot's of entertainment options. The pools as mentioned are unbeatable (except at Disney Aulani), a waterside, volley ball, waterfalls etc, first class. Part of the location is Blackrock approx. 10 min walk down the beach. A large volcanic formation you can snorkel around and jump off if you are keen. The water is clear and the fish very good + we got inches from a sea turtle for the second time just off the beach. Worth every cent to stay near by. The rooms are really overpriced, but they know the location is hard to beat. Plenty of food options near by, including the 'picture perfect' beach town of Front St, Lahaina. Spend the money and enjoy everything outside.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, Ocean front is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TmanSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Westin Maui Resort & Spa. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our surroundings and facilities. We hope to welcome you and your family back for another rejuvenating vacation. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Maui Resort and Spa over Christmas week with our two adult daughters, aged 20 and 23 and had a great time. We splurged for a suite that sleeps 4 (bedroom, foldout couch, dining table, living area) and got an extra rollaway bed. We were very happy with the room and sleeping arrangements. The views were beautiful from all windows, the service was excellent and the location was fantastic-in West Maui where there are numerous fine restaurants, beautiful beaches and a lot of fun activities. We were glad we had a car-it enabled us to drive the road to Hana as well as the West and North Maui coastline. We also went whale watching which was the highlight of the trip, arranged by the concierge at the hotel, which picks up directly on the Westin beach. The concierge was fantastic-I called a couple of weeks ahead of time to book restaurants and some activities, and my husband asked for their help in booking golf. They had excellent suggestions and were so helpful. There were two things I wasn't crazy about-one was that the hotel requires advance reservations for beach chairs and charges for using them-despite this, they ran out of chairs by 11 am so we couldn't rent them in any event. The second is that we bought the package deal that had breakfast included but it turned out that what was included was only part of the buffet and not the full buffet. We paid an upcharge to have the whole buffet which seemed like nickel and diming to me. That being said, I would stay here again. We had a great vacation.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie3158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

i like the starwood brand and this westin was no exception. Maui is definitely expenisve and the westin was no different. but i have to admit that the quality and service is just outstanding. The westin also has wondeful waterslides for kids which is big bonus. one negative of pools is that there is no good pool option for toddler. The buffet breakfast while expensive was again really good with so many good options and i loved the fresh pineapples!! we just woke up late and enjoyed the breakfast every day as a brunch!! rooms were nice too with good standard beds and shower. my baby loved talking to the parrot near the pools.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We just stayed at the Westin and have to say it is a great place to say and recommend it.

The hotel has an incredible and dramatic resort lobby, with flamingos, black swans, koi fish, and parrots.
The service is great, the guy at the checkin counter was courteous and helped us plan our itinerary over the weekend.
He gave us an upgrade, to an ocean facing room, but the upgrade wasnt enough to get us a 'deluxe' room - a room in the building which has the better ocean views.

The room is modern and very well appointed. It has the Westin Heavenly bed which is a really nice perk to return to after a long day of driving and touring the island.
They gave us a nice welcome gift, of a reusable insulated tote bag and some chocolate macadamia nut cookies and berries - nice touch to start the trip.

The room had a view of the ocean but its not a direct view the way the Sheraton down the street had (check out our review on that page for more comparisons).
The room service was great - we had picked up some takeout so I had them send up cutlery and some glasses and they arrived promptly.

We caught the hot tub sauna just before it closed at 10pm and it was a real treat. Since the Westin is a large resort, they have a separate general pool and an adult pool that is atop the others. So when we got there, we had the pool and the hot tub to ourselves for about 20 mins which was an awesome time to just gaze at the stars and not be annoyed by any shrill kiddle shrieks.

The Westin does not have a strong ocean presence. They don't have a lot of beach front as compared to the Sheraton, the resort is designed to keep people inside the enclosure, plying them with tons of pool-related activities and shops and stores. Part of the beachfront is occupied with art-fair style stands selling handicrafts. It was a great place for me to get a last minute gift for family but I would have rather had an unhindered view of the surf.

As an SPG Platinum, the perks the Westin gives aren't as good as the Sheraton's. As I mentioned earlier, the complimentary upgrade didn't get us a view as good as the one in the Sheraton. While the Sheraton gives free Valet parking, the Westin just gave us free parking. The parking is very close by so its not a big deal parking yourself but I have to say that the stalls themselves are suuper small, making me worry if I am going to have to pay for damages on my rental at the end of the stay.

Another perk is the free continental breakfast. When you go for breakfast, ask to be seated on the ocean side. The table they put us at was quite amazing - right next to the beach! While the seating was great, the breakfast wasn't. As with the Sheraton, the continental breakfast gave us access to any 'cold' item, and we had to upgrade to get the full breakfast that included 'hot' items like a make-your-own omelette stand - fair enough. The cost of upgrading was quite high at the Westin ($15/person vs $7 at Sheraton). So we stuck with the continental and found that the # of options were narrow. No cheeses, no salad, fewer fruit options and no lox like the Sheraton. Nonetheless, it was quite filling.

The Westin does feel like a true 5-star hotel, about 1 star greater than the Sheraton. The service, the quality of the rooms and the lobby and the sheer over-the-top luxury of having all these pools and these exotic animals swimming around the hotel make it a top notch place. The crowd at the Westin did show that, with more Prada and LV being flashed around designer bikinis than anywhere else in the island.

However, as a couple making their first trip to Hawaii, we felt that this is more suited for families that want to have a luxe resort experience than someone who wants to feel the Ohana spirit of Hawaii and fall in love with the island.
But either way, its an amazing resort and even more amazing with you use the SPG cash and points deal to get a $130/night room!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kangaru2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I'm a SPG Platinum member and have come to expect a certain level of class/amenities/style from a Westin Hotel. Booked 2 rooms on a recent family vacation - one room with points and the other through the rates. From a points perspective, the hotel is solid and I would book again. From a rates perspective, the hotel isn't worth the price and I would look else where.

Pro: the hotel location is ideal to activities and beach. 5-10 minutes north of the restaurants/stores of Lahaina, in the middle of the other resorts, and next to Whalers Village (perfect place for post-dinner strolls). Pool area is large with plenty of lounge chairs. The Westin Workout room is 24 hours and has an outdoor/indoor area. Staff was very pleasant and friendly.

Con: the hotel charges a $30 per day resort fee. The rooms are worn-down and not heavenly beds. Each day I would find that either the room or pool towels were stained or dirty.

If I can find great price rates or if the point-category remains the same, I would return.If not, I would explore other hotels in western Maui.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flab19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Mahalo for your review and your loyalty to Starwood Hotels & Resorts. Although you found value in our services and facilities we are sorry to read that you may not have taken full advantage of our amenities that were included in our resort charge. Rest assured that your comments were shared with our team for improvements. We hope to restore your faith upon your return to Maui. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,874 reviews
6.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
23.1 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing