We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Going down hill in a hurry!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Going down hill in a hurry!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is the third visit to this hotel in four years. We have always requested ocean view, and Had rooms on the ninth floor on the first two visits. And they were quite satisfactory with an excellent few of the ocean and sunset .But on the last visit we were given rooms on the sixth floor, When I expressed my concern about the view
I was assurred that the view would be equal. We'll nothing could be further from the truth. I returned to the lobby to express my displeasure and was told that that was all that was available. I then asked for the manager and a nice young lady came out to help me and the next day we were moved to another building that had the view I requested and paid for.We traveled from Boston and if push came to shove we would have stayed at another Hotel.

This Hotel was a 5 star is now a 4 and on the way to a three. The breakfast Buffet was always excellant, very pricey, but not this trip. There were no eggs benedict on the buffet but were available of the menu for three dollars, the birds were always a problem but the waitstaff kept them in check but this trip the birds were able to help themselves to sausage and home fries. I love Maui but comming from Boston I will consider other Hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your honest review and loyalty to the Westin Maui Resort & Spa. Rest assured that we have shared your experience with our team for follow up. We hope to have another opportunity for you to find renewal on Maui. Warmest aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,845
    1,384
    645
    362
    196
See reviews for
1,374
1,916
72
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great service at this Westin..... Make sure you get an ocean view room as its really great at sunsets... As a side bonus, if you get one overlooking to pools, you get a ringside seat for the luau show.. no food, but great view of the show!

No real complaints, but the fridge in the room was a bit cranky, and we couldnt adjust temp very well.

Front desk, concierge and staff were really, really good - helpful, conversational, and friendly. Talked to one worker there who'd been there for nearly 37 years... wow..

Got a package deal, so we had drink coupons as well as continental breakfast coupons. The upsell to the regular buffet was $17.50 per person.. bit stiff.....

We intend to come back...

Room Tip: Lot of running water in pools area - fountains, waterfalls, etc... so if you need to sleep - get a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sergeik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had a great family vacation at the Westin for the Maui Invitational. Pools and beach were fabulous. We want to extend a special thanks to our server on Thanksgiving evening at the Buffet at Ono, Barbara, she went above and beyond and was a pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marycobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Came for Maui Invitational and paid a bundle (about 2K for 5 nights) for the room. Arranged by Oahu Travel. Got mountainview, room dusty, smells of diesel fuel, dirty table on lanai, small bathroom. One nice feature is adult pool and hot tub at the pool. Cheap, worn dirty furnishings in the room. Breakfast buffet nice but pricey.

Room Tip: Pay for ocean view if you stay here but would advise to go elsewhere. Will not book with Oahu Trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Westin the last week in October while I attended a conference there. The property is beautiful with lush green space, multiple pools, and a broad sandy beach. The rooms are typical, average sized hotel rooms with a tiny balcony. We asked for a King bed but got 2 doubles...one of which became a repository for clothes, hats, and miscellaneous. Not perfect, but acceptable. As others have mentioned, we took advantage of the green initiative and used our vouchers for snacks at the restaurant. Be aware that if you choose this option, maids will not enter the room even to empty the garbage. They might consider garbage removal and a quick bathroom cleaning which doesn't interfere with the "green" approach.

Flamingos, ducks, and swans wade in the pond with waterfalls and huge koi. There is a waterslide and basketball net in the pool. There is also a hidden pool with jets under the waterfall passage to the next pool. Not heated, but fun. The beach had moderately high waves with a strong undertow when we were there so we stuck to the pools. Also, while lounges and shade are provided at the pool, You have to pay over $30 a day for lounges and umbrellas at the beach...kind of chintzy if you ask me.

Whaler's Village is right next door for shopping and restaurants. Happy Hour at Leilani's, $4 margaritas and appetizers...I strongly recommend the fish tacos. The shuttle into Lahaina was free and convenient. It drops you off at Hilo Hatties...one end of Front street, the main drag for galleries, shopping, and dining. Make sure you duck inside Hilo Hatties for your free shell lei.

All in all, a very positive experience at the Westin.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms face the mountain and the golf course. The views even from there are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

J ust got home from 5 days at the Westin Maui resort. Our stay was realxing and very enjoyable. First of all the grounds were spectaular and the pools a perfect temp. Lots of loungers available.
I was pleased when it was noticed that I was a platinum memeber and that the front desk tried so very hard to upgrade me but the resort was packed full. They later contacted me and said they could get me an ocean front room for the last 3 days so we took it. The efforts were appreciated. The rooms are on the small side but clean and efficient with a great Heavenly Bed. It's not a new Hotel and I understand they are also renovating now. I am a huge Westin fan as well as a Westin owner and SPG is the best points program by far. The location is perfect as its near everything but still very quiet. We will return

Room Tip: Higher Floors and Ocean view is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I'm a SPG Platinum member, so we got an upgrade to an oceanview room, but I have to concur with other reviewers... The rooms are smallish in size.

Facilities:
You can tell this place may have been really hot about 20-30 years ago. It's been refurbished extensively, but there's only so much you can do. The pools are multiple and extensive. The shuttle to Lahaina is very convenient if you don't have a vehicle. The coffee in the room is terrible. My wife loved Bob, the dancing parrot.

Staff:
The staff is very accomodating and helpful. We had a personal concierge, Moni, who was very helpful, even though we didn't use any of his services. He even called me on my cell a week before our trip to introduce himself. He had a "welcome gift" for us and roped us to a "Facilities Tour" which turns out to be a Timeshare Presentation for SPG.

In-Room Experience:
Being a Westin property I would have thought they would have Starbucks or Seattle's Best in the room, but instead it was some Kona Hawaiian Roasted no name brand. Really nasty stuff. Balcony was kind of small and we had cigarette smoke waft in our room from a balcony below us.

Beach:
Very nice... The shoreline further north is littered with bolders which make the wave action dangerous when you are swimming.

Bonus:
This property has a "going green" program. If you skip room service, they give you 5 dollars in food and beverage or 500 SPG points. Very good idea.

Room Tip: Be a Gold/Platinum member. They are very accomodating and ask for an upgrade when you're at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sinner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Mahalo for sharing your experiences. We regret the room coffee was not to your liking as our visitors often request for local coffee. However, Colonnade Café by the resort’s koi pond gardens serves Starbucks specialty coffees for die-hard fans. Do take advantage of our suites with varied categories on your next visit as these come with larger living areas. We look forward to delighting you with our new upgrades upon your return. Warmest aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
5.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing