We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay, dirty dusty rooms, nice grounds, expensive for what you get in return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just okay, dirty dusty rooms, nice grounds, expensive for what you get in return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The grounds were very beautiful, enjoyed watching the birds and fish around the lobby. Late checkin after a long flight, didn't expect the rude side comments from the girl working the night shift, ha I think theres a reason they schedule her in the night shift when there are no customers, not friendly or knowledgable at all. (forgot her name something like Gatby?, black hair, younger, tattoo on arm, not that there's anything with these things of course, I'm just describing her for hotel mngnt) Oh well, decided not to bother with her after a long trip lol.

View from the ocean view was very nice but the rooms are filthy! So much dust by the phones, clock and wires, very outdated and gross. I had to dust and disinfect everything myself. Doesn't look like the maids do a real cleaning, they just change sheets (hopefully) and give new towels. The resort fee includes 2 bottles of water with that fee per day, but they never replaced them daily! We would have to call and ask for them at the end of the day. Why do they charge for this and then not provide them to you? Weird.

For rooms I would give a 1 star for the dirtiness and small tight room space, and 4.5 stars for the nice grounds. The rooms are very expensive, dirty and small. There is nothing to do after 9pm though like everyone else says, everything closes in the entire area and goes to sleep?!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiisuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinMauiRep, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience. We are truly disappointed to read your comments about cleanliness and hear that your arrival was not a warm and welcome one. This is certainly not to our Westin or Hawaii standards. We care about your experience, and at the very least, are pleased that you enjoyed the surroundings. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,055
    1,518
    710
    389
    212
See reviews for
1,536
2,144
78
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The rooms were very small and the housekeeping staff had a lot of problems during our visit. We found out the reason a few days into our visit - the whole buildings are going to be gutted and re-designed starting in September 2012, so they are just getting by until then. Beware of anyone visiting Sept 2012-spring 2013, there will be major construction at this hotel! When we arrived, we were given a small room overlooking a parking lot that had mold on the ceiling in the bathroom, no ceiling fan, popcorn and kernels all over the floor, a phone that didn't work, a suspicious stain on the chair and cigarette butts on the patio. I am an SPG preferred member, but they didn't seem to care. We finally complained enough to get moved to another room, but it wasn't ready yet. After getting drinks at the bar, we got our new room keys and found that someone else was already in the room. We had to wait another 1/2 hour while this double-booking isssue was taken care of. Throughout the trip, housekeeping did not come until 4-5pm at night and they kept picking the wet towels off of the floor and hanging them behind the bathroom door (again, no bathroom fan, so this was causing moisture issues). There was concrete construction on the side of the pool area that was very loud every day. The pools were open and ok still, but extremely crowded with children, even in the adult-only pools. Also, there was only 1 hot tub that was always full. The two bars were under-staffed and we couldn't even get service most of the time anywhere at the bars or the pool areas.

Room Tip: Mountain view and ocean view rooms are all good, but stay away from 2nd floor rooms that have parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinMauiRep, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Aloha and mahalo for your review. Your comments and loyalty as a Starwood Preferred Guest is very important to us. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced. As we continue to enhance our accommodations we have shared your concerns with our teams to provide an overall guest satisfaction. We value your business to Starwood Hotels and thank you for your loyalty. Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I am currently staying at the Westin Maui and can't help but feel disappointed. I chose this resort for what seemed to be a great collection of 4 large pools and the ocean. I am a Starwwod member and generally very happy with their brands. The resort is old (old towers) but has been well refurbished, so rooms and common areas are nice, but it is visually an eye sore from afar. The lobby of the hotel is gorgeous so are the manicured grounds around the pools. What is disappointing is the size of the pools. From their pictures on the net, they look huge, they are in fact quite small. And boy, they are busy. The lack of clear policy on towels left on chairs and the non-inforcement of the 60 minute rule, means that by 8am all decent shaded chairs are taken. We rent cabanas every day (65$...) but the movable tent is not long enough to cover the entire body.
Just coming back from dinner at the Ritz Carlton, which is superb, I realize that the room charge start at the same level (about 300 a night), but what a difference of worlds. I would choose the Ritz-Carlton over the Westin in a heart beat.
The Tropica restaurant is excellent in both food and service, as is the location and view. But the rest is average at best.
Everyone is very friendly, the spa is very good, but overall it lacks something that would make me come back. And these are not helping: a combination of overcrowding, lack of decent dinner and bar optionS, disappointedly small pools
Would I be back? No, I'll be at the ritz-Carlton!!!!

Room Tip: High floors means beautiful views (assuming you have seafront views and not parking), but elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IAHGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinMauiRep, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Mahalo for your review and kind words regarding our surroundings, customer services and facilities. Your loyalty and experience is very important to us. We have shared your feedback with the team so that we may improve on the concerns mentioned. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the beautiful island of Maui. Stay well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife, sister, brother-in-law, 8 year old daughter and I chose this hotel for its location, amazing pool and positive reviews for kids. The hotel grounds were beautiful and made for great pictures. The rooms were clean, but a bit small and we did have to ask to be moved. We had booked an ocean view, but our room also overlooked the "adult" pool, which wasn't what I wanted my daughter looking at for the week during the brief time we were in the room. I'm not opposed to an adult pool (lots of lovers kissing and hugging), but I didn't want my kid to have to see it all week (nor did I feel like answering questions about what they were doing), so we asked to be moved. That was a bit of a hassle, but ultimately we were moved to a room with an ocean view minus the "adult" pool. I know they were crowded, but would have appreciated the move without the hassle; I told them I had booked indicating I had a kid and that they should have not booked us to a room over the "adult" pool.

Nonetheless, they did move us to an acceptable room and we really had a great time! The hotel is convenient to lots of fun; walking distance to Whaler's Village, not too far from old town Lahaina (lots of shopping and great shaved ice), the road to Hana, Mama's Fish House, and the Gazebo. The pool was crowded, but we were there the first week of August, so not unexpected. Just a tip, you can get down to the pool around 8:30 to stake out a prime spot under some shade and you have an hour before the hotel staff will move your stuff if it's unattended; after 9 AM, all the good spots are taken. You can rent a cabana or chairs and umbrellas for the beach, but I think the hotel should give the chairs for free since you will pay a $25 resort fee daily.

I wouldn't recommend the hotel restaurants; Tropica was overpriced and I think overrated. The breakfast was $28, so we skipped that and had a great breakfast at really half the price with a much better view at the Gazebo; Lahaina Coolers also had a really good and reasonably priced breakfast too. Other than that, we stocked up at the grocery store for a modest breakfast in the room the other days. The hotel does provide a small fridge, which was nice and they also provide a couple of bottles of water each day.

Finally, my sister said that when she stayed at the Sherton down the way, the rooms seemed much nicer, but that was 11 years ago and the grounds of the Westin are much nicer. Oh, the long pool slide is fun and the line moves pretty quick, but it closes at 5 PM. They only have one jacuzzi, which I thought was odd. It's small and right by the adult pool, but we were told by staff that kids are welcome at the adult pool/jacuzzi after sunset. We took advantage of that to warm up in the jacuzzi since my daughter loves swimming even after sunset and the pool can get a bit cold. There's lots of pool inflatables to buy at the hotel and snorkel equipment to rent, so no real need to buy and pack that stuff unless you want to and have the space.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel, especially to families with kids. The staff was friendly and the parking attendants have good info on where to go and eat. Aloha!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The place was very nice, the staff was amazing, especially Joven at check in. We arrived a bit early and understood that we might have to wait a bit, but Joven was so nice and accommodating. He was so easy to talk to and helpful, he treated us like old friends. The westin should reward him for such great service. The rest of the staff was so nice, I never got anything but sincere smiles and helpful service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphycrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

just got back from a great trip in hawaii the last part of our trip we spent in Maui at the Westin, check in was quick and easy and right up to our room to hit the pool ... no problems finding a spot at the pool.. the waterslide is sooo much fun!!! the pool area is great for families and if you want to be away from the families with kids there is an adults only pool...best of both worlds ... the rooms were sort of small but my sister and i had enough room. i had a moutain view on the 11th floor but i also could still see the ocean which made up for the lack of closet space ( i over pack ) all in all in was a great stay ... the beds were comfortable and everyone was super nice and helpful.

Room Tip: if you come back to the hotel after 8pm usually the self park is all filled up and you will have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMJUSTAGIRL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was our 6th stay and our last if major renovations don't happen. For the past 12 years we've stayed here and loved it until this year. The toilet was filthy, sliding glass door full of face and fingerprints, walls filthy, furniture beat up, pictures faded and the room stunk of stale cigarette smoke. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Idklw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinMauiRep, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We truly appreciate your continued loyalty to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa. As your feedback is important to us, we have shared your level of service with our team leaders for immediate follow up. Please accept our sincere apology as the experience you mentioned was not representative of our standards. We hope to welcome you back so we may have an opportunity to restore your faith in us. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
6.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
23.1 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing