We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
home
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 23, 2007

The Whaler is in a central location to everything we wanted to do. Beautiful beach and activities write in front of condo. Great for families. Ask for an upgraded condo by calling the hotel directly a few days in advance of reservation. We had 1 bedroom, 1 bath for the two of us and it was quite spacious.
We golfed at Kaanapali, Maui Lani and Wailea. The Emerald course in Wailea is by far the best. Good value. Kapalua is extreemely expensive and Wailea is by far a nicer course.

Parking at the whaler is not ideal, but we usually found underground parking. Stop at costco or Safeway on the way and load up on snacks and drinks to be used while at the condo.

The Gazebo in Napili is the best breakfast in town.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank marypeterson614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    336
    72
    41
    16
See reviews for
303
547
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

My family and I first stayed at The Whaler in the summer of 2005. We had such a great stay. The room was a gorgeous ocean front suite on the second floor. We had a wrap around lanai over looking the pool and courtyard and just about 20 feet away from the beach. Now the room decor depends on who actually owns the room but I did take a little tour of a few of the rooms when we got there and they are all range from nice and comfortable to absolutely gorgeous.

The hotel is located on the best beach in Maui (Kaanapali beach). And the hotel is right next to Whaler's Village which is a convenient little open air shopping center. Now don't go to the Rusty Anchor for dinner. Lunch is okay and so is breakfast. They do have two happy hours and do make good drinks. Right across the way is Leilani's (sp?) Great great great! There is also a food court in the Village and an ABC store which is great to grab things like milk or snacks.

Oh, and keep in mind the hotel itself doesn't have a restaurant or anything (like most of the condo hotels) so being next to Whaler's Village is great. But do make a trip to Vons or something cause you have a full kitchen in the room (which is always helpful when you're on a budget!)

The hotel is just a short walk to Black Rock which is perfect to go snorkeling. Rent your gear in the Whaler's village and do it for the week (or more). It's like $25 and it's so worth it. Swimming with sea turtles is an amazing experience. And the fish and coral are so vibrant. A lot of fun.

We enjoyed our stay at The Whaler so much we went again this last January ('07). And we look forward to going back very soon!

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank JupiterCalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

I came to the Whaler on August 14th. The Whaler is a convenient location in Kaanapali beach. It is right next to Whaler's Village, which is in walking distance of the hotel. It has tons of great shops and a couple of fun restaurants. There is so much to do (beach activities, fine shopping, restaurants, beach bars) within walking distance from the Whaler. There is also a laundry room in the hotel. The description of the hotel says ocean view rooms but my room, unit 961 only had a partial view of the ocean. So the view wasn't that terrific either. The room had a dish washer; iron with ironing board, stove, refrigerator and a couple of beach chairs that were already in the room that you can take on the beach with you if preferred. That would probably be preferable considering the expense of the rental chairs and cabanas on the beach. The cabanas went as high as $40.00 for the whole day until 5:00. There was also a guest book in the hotel for visitors to sign and write about who they were and why they came to Maui. In our refrigerator, there was a fresh cut pineapple waiting for us, compliments of The Whaler.

I found the hotel to be clean and quiet. The only complaint I had was that housekeeping didn’t clean our room after our first night. After a complaint, the room was cleaned. The hotel desk staff was very accommodating and tried to keep us happy. They weren’t as friendly as other hotel desk clerks that I’ve encountered, but again, they did their best to please us.

The Whaler has a long stretch of beautiful beaches. I can’t understand why everyone was cramped by the pool when there was a beautiful beach that was so warm and inviting! In my opinion, the pool wasn’t that big and had way too many adults and kids in it.

There weren’t any bars or restaurants on premise but as I spoke of earlier, they’re right next door in the Whaler Village, it’s walking distance. I would definitely come back to Maui and stay in Kaanapali, there is so much to do and see for everyone. Do venture out and explore all the different beaches. It will not disappoint.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank drafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2007

We booked two rooms and stayed at the Whaler last year in Tower I and had a fabulous stay. The rooms were clean and fresh and the room journal had entries from many other satisfied renters.
When we made reservations this year, we assumed all the rooms were this way...big mistake. Room 770 was dirty looking (Carpet was discolored) and smelled dank and mildewy, as did the entire hall, but less so. It took a day to "acclimate" to the smell, and so long as the AC was full blast, it kept it at bay. The smell was characteristic of washing clothes and then forgetting about it in the washer for a day or two. All your clothes smelled of this when you left the room.

The next huge problem was the elevator...it was located directly behind the headboard of the bed. All day long and through most of the night it sounded as if a grocery cart was being rolled up and down the wall. I would assume all the rooms on each floor located adjacent to the elevator had this problem, but when I brought it up to the manager she acted as if this were the first time it was ever brought up. This noise and vibration is way too loud to act as if nobody else has ever mentioned it. She acted surprised. We were there for 6 nights and it never relented.

The last problem was the mysterious bites we would wake up with. They didnt look like mosquito bites and we didnt have them before we went to sleep. They itch like crazy and look like little dots...not raised like a mosquito. I got mine mostly on my belly and butt...kinda odd to get bit through clothing.

Overall, we still managed to have a great time in Maui...we love kaanapali and would even recommend staying at the Whaler. Just dont be naive like us and assume all rooms are the same. Do your homework as we will next time if we stay there again. I did a search on google when we got back and noticed 770 was on sale. Perhaps the new owner will do something about the cleanliness, bugs, smell and sound.
Will and family

  • Liked — The Whaler has many great rooms...room 770 in tower 2 happend to be horrible
  • Disliked — The very strong mildew smell, the noise and the bug bites
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank profitness1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Just returned from our honeymoon stay at The Whaler (unit 661). What a wonderful experience! The studio unit was exactly what we wanted - romantic! The room was lovely and had everything we could possible hope for. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the view was to die for! The surrounding areas were stunning, exactly the tropical paradise you would expect from Maui. Excellent outdoor restaurants and shopping were within walking distance. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank jen1detroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Dr. Fall owns the unit #1252 and you can book directly with him at gfall@hotmail.com. His rate was cheaper than booking with an agent. The unit was spacious and very clean. It was very homey and very well equipped. We could look out over the wrap around porch and see the sunset on the beach. Dr. Fall was very gracious and returned our cleaning deposit promptly. We met other people at the Whaler and they were very unhappy with their units. The problem is some units were very dated but unit #1252 was very updated. Dr. Fall was very accomodating when we indicated that we had a late night flight out and wanted to spend the day at the condo. I would highly recommend this unit for an excellent Maui vacation.

  • Liked — Spaciousness, updatedness, view, well equipped
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank mizj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Ca
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We stayed at the Whaler the last week of July, 2007. We had booked an oceanview studio (we are a family of three, two adults and one small child), but after we checked in and saw the studio I realized that I would really want more space to enjoy my vacation. Also, the studio looked out over the hotel next door, and it did have a view of the ocean, but only if you looked sideways off the balcony.

The front desk was very accommodating, and gave me the keys to a couple of empty units so I could check them out before I upgraded. We ended up upgrading to a beautiful 1 br/2 bath unit on the 11th floor, that had just be upgraded and had a wonderful view. We did have to pay a little more, but that's only fair. This particular unit was really wonderful, very new and clean. We stayed there a few nights, then had to move to a different unit because the first unit was booked at the end of our stay. The second unit (a 1 br unit overlooking Whaler's Village) was also very nice, but much older than the first unit (but it was also cheaper).

A word about placement: The first unit was in tower 1, with a view of Black Rock. This tower and view is much quieter than the unit in tower 2, which overlooked Whaler's village. In the unit overlooking Whaler's village we could smell the cooking from the Hula Grill, and heard music from below (we were on the 11th floor too), sometimes from 3 in the afternoon to 9 at night. For a few nights that was fun as kind of atmospheric (and it was Hawaiian music, so that was great too), but it started to bug me after a while. If you are sensitive to ambient noise, just be aware of this. We tended to keep the doors shut so the condo didn't end up smelling like food. On the other hand, we did have some really nice dinners on the balcony under the full moon, listening to the music below.

My little one really enjoyed the pool, which seems quite warm for a condo pool. I've stayed at a few condos in Kaanapali, and this one has the warmest pool I've experienced - the sea was 78 degrees, and the pool was warmer than that.

The front desk staff were very accommodating about finding us a condo that we liked. They did everything they did to make us happy. When we moved rooms, the staff moved our bags and all of our food for us, while we went out sightseeing. We didn't really need to do anything (except pack bags).

These units are all privately owned, so they are all in a slightly different state of upgrade. My recommendation is that if you don't like what you have when you check in, ask the front desk to help you. Even in the high season, they tend to have different rooms they can offer up.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank lillycoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Property: Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - Any new reservations booked for travel June 1, 2017 and beyond, will be subject to a resort fee of $20.00 plus tax per day. - Any reservations booked prior to April 1, 2017 will be honored at the existing resort fee of $16.00 plus tax per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing