We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whaler 661-Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Whaler 661-Wonderful!”
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Just returned from our honeymoon stay at The Whaler (unit 661). What a wonderful experience! The studio unit was exactly what we wanted - romantic! The room was lovely and had everything we could possible hope for. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the view was to die for! The surrounding areas were stunning, exactly the tropical paradise you would expect from Maui. Excellent outdoor restaurants and shopping were within walking distance. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank jen1detroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    343
    73
    42
    17
See reviews for
315
567
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Dr. Fall owns the unit #1252 and you can book directly with him at gfall@hotmail.com. His rate was cheaper than booking with an agent. The unit was spacious and very clean. It was very homey and very well equipped. We could look out over the wrap around porch and see the sunset on the beach. Dr. Fall was very gracious and returned our cleaning deposit promptly. We met other people at the Whaler and they were very unhappy with their units. The problem is some units were very dated but unit #1252 was very updated. Dr. Fall was very accomodating when we indicated that we had a late night flight out and wanted to spend the day at the condo. I would highly recommend this unit for an excellent Maui vacation.

  • Liked — Spaciousness, updatedness, view, well equipped
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank mizj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We stayed at the Whaler the last week of July, 2007. We had booked an oceanview studio (we are a family of three, two adults and one small child), but after we checked in and saw the studio I realized that I would really want more space to enjoy my vacation. Also, the studio looked out over the hotel next door, and it did have a view of the ocean, but only if you looked sideways off the balcony.

The front desk was very accommodating, and gave me the keys to a couple of empty units so I could check them out before I upgraded. We ended up upgrading to a beautiful 1 br/2 bath unit on the 11th floor, that had just be upgraded and had a wonderful view. We did have to pay a little more, but that's only fair. This particular unit was really wonderful, very new and clean. We stayed there a few nights, then had to move to a different unit because the first unit was booked at the end of our stay. The second unit (a 1 br unit overlooking Whaler's Village) was also very nice, but much older than the first unit (but it was also cheaper).

A word about placement: The first unit was in tower 1, with a view of Black Rock. This tower and view is much quieter than the unit in tower 2, which overlooked Whaler's village. In the unit overlooking Whaler's village we could smell the cooking from the Hula Grill, and heard music from below (we were on the 11th floor too), sometimes from 3 in the afternoon to 9 at night. For a few nights that was fun as kind of atmospheric (and it was Hawaiian music, so that was great too), but it started to bug me after a while. If you are sensitive to ambient noise, just be aware of this. We tended to keep the doors shut so the condo didn't end up smelling like food. On the other hand, we did have some really nice dinners on the balcony under the full moon, listening to the music below.

My little one really enjoyed the pool, which seems quite warm for a condo pool. I've stayed at a few condos in Kaanapali, and this one has the warmest pool I've experienced - the sea was 78 degrees, and the pool was warmer than that.

The front desk staff were very accommodating about finding us a condo that we liked. They did everything they did to make us happy. When we moved rooms, the staff moved our bags and all of our food for us, while we went out sightseeing. We didn't really need to do anything (except pack bags).

These units are all privately owned, so they are all in a slightly different state of upgrade. My recommendation is that if you don't like what you have when you check in, ask the front desk to help you. Even in the high season, they tend to have different rooms they can offer up.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank lillycoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2007

We stayed at The Whaler July 16th through the 20th. What a great place! We had booked through our travel agent, and the studio sized condo we stayed in (Tower 1, #718) was nicely appointed with a very comfortable king sized bed. There was a guest book left by the owners, welcoming you to their home, and inviting you to leave them a message. With it being a condo, we were able to at least eat breakfast in the room each day, which is a savings. There was even a pre-sliced pineapple left the in the refrigerator as a welcoming gift. The beach is just beautiful, we spent a couple of days just sitting at the beach. The surf was rather strong during our stay, but the water was warm and just as clear and blue as a swimming pool. The view from the beach is of two of the other islands. We saw rainbows every day we were there. We didn’t have a lot of interaction with the staff, but they were polite and helpful when we did. I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2007

We had a bad experience here. We booked our trip through the management company Resortquest. We originally were booked into a oceanfront room on the 10th floor, it was a beautiful room, gorgeous, unfortunately the smell from the restaurants below were so horrendous that we were forced to stay inside for 3 nights, I then asked to be moved and was moved to a oceanfront room above the pool that was NOISEY and the room was in terrible shape except for the kitchen - which we didn't use. The bathrooms had old urine stains around the toilets. It was a very expensive mistake. The beach is beautiful This was just like Nags Head for 3K which is really sad. Black Rock is down by the Sheraton unfortunately this beach is so overbuilt that the water is starting to become cloudy from overuse (suntan lotion etc). In all my travels I have never seen so many people use a pool (that is falling apart) when there is a beautiful beach right outside their door. There were many many cigarette butts on the beach. The condo/hotel is falling apart - the garage is 50% closed due to falling concrete - the garage is under the facility. Our first unit - 1013 had a deck that sloped and from looking at it from the road it is certainly leaning. I would avoid this unit - unless you can tolerate the constant and never ending smell of 3 restaurants below your window, there is NO clear air smell. Amy at the front desk was nice. If I ever go to Maul again I would avoid this place and the whole kaanpoli beach area and look for something quieter, if you want Nags Head, then spend half the money and go there. It's very expensive - we spent 3K just on the condo. I was extremely disappointed in teh Whaler, it really needs to be torn down and redone, it really is falling apart. We drove around Maui and there are quieter places, in better shape to the south. We spent 4 days on the big Island a 7 in Maul and I would head to the big Island before going to this island and this hotel/condo.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — the smell in the first unit and the unclean bathrooms in the second.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank crusinKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

The condo was GREAT! It’s a studio with a beautiful canopy bed and full kitchen. The view of the ocean was also great. They had everything that you will need to cook (pots, pans, coffee pot, glasses, plates, silverware, etc.) plus extra toilet paper, paper towels, all sizes of bath towels, a fan, iron and ironing board, books, tv, vcr, dvd player. I loved that there was a kitchen, it saved so much money. I don’t know how people can afford to go to Maui and eat out all of the time. There are also onsite laundry facilities if needed; we didn’t use them although we thought we may have to because we almost ran out of towels.

One of the best things about the condo is it’s proximity to the beach! The condo is right on Ka’anapali Beach (one of the best) and it’s a short walk to Black Rock (very good snorkeling). The pool is pretty small but who goes to Maui for a pool? Beach towels are available when you go to the beach or pool.

Note: this unit (661) was not booked directly through the Whaler property; it was booked through an owner directly from Hawaiian Luxury Condominiums [--] - . Because of this we had to pay an additional resort fee which really wasn’t that expensive ($50 first day, $5 a day after). We paid $199 a night and I noticed at the front desk that the room we got was going for $255-$330 depending on what they classified #661 as (ocean or garden). There is a mandatory $12 parking fee for all guests and I am pretty sure that no matter where you stay on Maui a parking fee will be added on somehow. The only negative about the property, and this has nothing to do with the unit itself, is the parking garage. They've closed some of it for renovations, so there aren't enough spaces and we ended up parking in the overflow lot several times. Not really a huge deal, but it was the only negative.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank suzanne65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2007

Great beach for swimming (calm water) and wonderful snorkeling just walking distance to black rock. My husband and I stayed at the whaler in unit #251. It was an ok room but what was great was the view...ocean front. Amazing sunsets and the smell of the restaurant next door was fabulous. We booked this room through vrbo (vacation rental by owner) so we knew which room we would have. Our friends were very disappointed in their studio unit so be careful how you book.

Book an excursion! The best one we booked was the snuba dive adventure to Molokini on "The Pride of Maui" a large boat (did not get sea sick) that serves a hot lunch...hamburger, chicken burger, veggie burger. If you go rent the 5 mp underwater camera. It was worth it. Also do the Old Lahina Luau. Food was ok, show was great, and all you can drink the whole time.

  • Liked — The beach at the hotel
  • Disliked — Price was a little high for accommodations
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank sunset_dip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,074 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#15 of 32 in Lahaina
2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,030 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Property: Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing