We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Home Base for Maui Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I have to remind myself that this is not a review for Maui, but rather a review for the Whaler. :) Maui is obviously amazing and would score off the charts if I could give the island a review. The Whaler proved to be a wonderful home base for my husband and I, as we explored the island of Maui. The service staff we encountered was always very friendly, the grounds were immaculate, and the pool was well tended. While the pool is small, my husband and I enjoyed the fact that it is literally right on the beach. We felt like our personal items were nice and safe in the enclosed area of the pool while we went in the ocean or down the path to lunch.

We stayed in 1170, which had an ocean view as well as a great view of the mountains. I thoroughly enjoyed the over-sized porch we had. After each daily adventure, it was nice to sit on the porch, watching the daylight hours wind down on one side and almost always a rainbow shining through the clouds on the other. Our room was a 1 bed, 2 bath condo. We rented directly from the owner as he is a family friend. The rooms were spacious, had all the supplies we needed, and very immaculate. I will say that the bathrooms and kitchen were a bit dated, but that did not affect the functionality in any way. Honestly, we spent most of our time outdoors, enjoying the island, so a little datedness did not bother us. We also appreciated the in-unit washer and dryer. I'm not sure if this is a feature all the units have.

We also felt that the Whaler provided a nice central location, not only on Kaanapali, but for everything else in Maui as well. We spent many nights in Lahaina or Kapalua, both of which are just a short drive down the highway. Getting to the airport and the Pa'ia area only took us 35 minutes.

Overall, Kaanapali beach is a great place to stay while in Maui and the Whaler is a great deal for such a prime location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahbean108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2010

Stayed at The Whaler 9-3 through 9-10. We had an absolutely fabulous time. We were on the 9th floor (915), and we had an excellent oceanview room, not to be mistaken with ocean front, but you were in Maui so it was still really really nice!.. Had a great time at the hot tub and pool area. This condo is situated really close to the beach so you can do both. Great Sunsets, go to Hula grill for 3-5pm happy hour, mai tais were excellent and they have music. We snorkeled at the local Sherton black rock which was within walking distance. Loved Maui, Would definitely book at The Whaler again! oh please note that upon our departure we were told they were going to start renovating the condos, so call them up to see when they are finished. I'm told they will be starting heavy construction on all the planter areas soon! The other downside was they charged $12.00 a day for parking but I guess all Hawaii Hotels do the same.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank really4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

After searching for bargains in this expensive area we were pleased with our rental condo in The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. The location was 5 Star, right on the main strip, between the Whaler Village shopping center and the Kaanapali Beach Hotel. Great views of Black Rock. We turned a large one BR into an adequate 2 BR by utilizing the owner's murphy bed & rollaway for our teenage sons. There are great grills and tables directly adjacent to the beach. Lot's of restaurants just a few steps away. Pool & spa at these twin buildings are a bit small but alright. (shhh, we tried the Hyatt's pool/spa once.) There was one other condo building called Kaanapali Alii which appears newer just 2 buildings away. We found the rentals on the VRBO website. I think many of the owners will work with you on price too. Enjoy Hawaii!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimNewtownSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Suite 802 has a fabulous ocean front position right next to Kaanapali beach. The suite itself is spacious, well provisioned and very comfortable. We spent some days at the beach (snorkeling near the black rock), had a great day with the Pacific Whale Foundation snorkeling at Molokini crater and Turtle town and enjoyed a day exploring the island. No negatives to report. We just had a great time in Maui and suite 802 in particular.

Stayed: August 2010
Thank Sojourner007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We made an impulse trip to Maui and found a great deal at the Whaler. Checking in was a breeze and we were given a choice of three rooms (one of them an upgrade). We chose 857 and it was excellent and the room was huge. Nice view of the beach and renovated kitchen and bathrooms. I did notice a difference in the service with the checkin staff but the one who initially checked us in (Helen) was fabulous.
The hotel is on the beachfront and next door to Whalers village so overall the location is excellent.
A couple of tips
1. Make sure you see your room before checking in. There is a difference in quality of the individual rooms
2. Tower 2 is adjacent to the village and has some noise. It didnt bother us but it might bother if you're sensitive to noise.
3. There is a big variance in the ocean view condos. Some of them (like 857) have wonderful views, others not as much

If you're a little careful with the room choice then this place will work out just great

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I just returned from a week atThe Whaler on Kaanapali Beach on Maui and what a disappointment. Check- in was a nightmare, Rod, the clerk was rude, hostile, and refused to book us into the room we had held a reservation for for nearly 3 months . Rod insisted we could not have made the reservation , even though I had a confirmation number and we were listed in his computer as arriving that day. After much hasseling, Rod finally gave us a room after we agreed to an "upgrade". First he wanted $150. a night but when I fussed and flatly refused somehow he immediately dropped the price to $ 25. a night The room did have an ocean view, but was dirty, worn, frayed, and badly in need of an face lift..The toilet roon was was very dirty and had not been painted or updated in 15 years +++ The kitchen area had ants on the counter top every day. "When we initially arrived in the room following the disasterous check in, there were no towels or linen in the room. I returned to the desk to ask that some be brought to us and Rod asked me if I had pulled the bed cover back to see if we had any sheets on our ''upgraded" bed. I was shocked. Rod really gave our trip a negative starthe was just mean and hostile. but we made the most of it and Hawaii just can't be beat. The beaches are great. I would never tell anyone to go toThe Whaler unless they are ready to be gouged and ripped off which I think is clearly a way of business there. Too bad, as it is in such a great spot, service was non existant. If you go there be sure and check your room before you accept any ''upgrades

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jewrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonGM, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2010

Aloha and Mahalo for your comments. We appreciated being able to contact you via email to express our apology for your experiences at The Whaler on Ka'anapali Beach. We are very sorry that we did not have an opportunity to resolve the situation during your stay to overcome the shortfall in our delivery of superior service and facility. Please be assured that we are working with our team to overcome these concerns in the future, and look forward to demonstrating that follow through with your next visit.

General Manager, Aston Hotels & Resorts
The Whaler on Ka'anapali Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This condo is fabulous. Gorgeous views, beautifully decorated, well-equipped, well maintained, extremely comfortable beds, and the best of all, the owners are wonderful to work with. Best unit we have ever stayed in and we can't wait to return some day soon!
The location is the best also - great beach right in front with terrific snorkleing close by.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gber2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.9 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,329 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $309 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing