We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 23, 2005

My husband and I just returned from Maui yesterday. Our original room at The Whaler was on the ground floor - We found it smelly, loud, and very out-dated. Thankfully, the second day we were able to move to a room higher up in the tower which was equally outdated, but wasn't quite as stinky. The weather in Maui during our vacation was horrific - windy, rainy, and very cloudy. The Whaler has a gorgeous piece of property right in the middle of lots of restaurants and shopping. It was so windy there, however, we were unable to swim in the ocean (high surf) or sit on the beach (pelted by sand). The pool at the Whaler is very small and we found it to be overtaken by people of "The Association" otherwise known as condo owners. We found Maui in general to be very expensive - we are going to stick with the Caribbean because its sunny, fun and cheap!!

13  Thank BritSwims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

6/21/14

Aloha guests,

We want to acknowledge every past guest opinion & review.
Please note the date on the review; as outdated reviews may not apply any longer. In 2012, The Whaler completed over $30 million dollars and years of renovation. Our resort is in great shape and looks beautiful not to mention the perfect location.

Further, the use of interior room standards based upon AAA – 3 to 5 diamond guidelines, Aston at The Whaler recently earned a 3 diamond rating. This means the “in-house” rental program for the property maintains a level of consistency with cleanliness, interior quality, and guest service. In 2013, our internal guest satisfaction score was an annual average of 94.2% completely satisfied, and our rating on tripadvisor went from #26 to #8.

We realize that you have a choice in accommodations, and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Mahalo nui loa, Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
1-866-321-2799

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2005

We stayed at the Whaler December 17th thru the 27th. I had done a lot of research and decided this was the place for us. We have two children 7 and 9 and the location was perfect. We booked a one bedroom two bath.This was through Pleasant Holidays so we weren't sure what room we were getting so, I called ahead of time and requested a mid level room as close to the beach as possible and a king bed in the bedroom. (as opposed to two doubles). When we checked in we were taken to our room and it was perfect just what we wanted. (even playstation and dvds for the kids!) We were on the 6th floor one room away from being ocean front and the views were amazing. They looked like they had just remodeled the hallways, new carpets etc. We stayed in tower 2 and it is all finished. I read someone else had a lot of construction going on during their visit. We did over hear that they will be overhauling the parking garage this year. I have to say that we drove all over the island and checked out various other hotels, the Whaler has the best location and the best beach you simply couldn't ask for more. This website was so very helpful in our booking the Whaler I had to write my own review. We will definitly go back to the Whaler.

9  Thank tracya270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2005

My boyfriend and I returned from a trip in Maui in October. Hawaii was wonderful and we had a great time. It was beautiful weather, but the Whaler was pretty dissappointing. I looked and searched for a hotel for months. And I used this website. We got there and no one helped us with our bags. The condo was being remodeled and no where, were there signs of the remodeling. The staff also failed to mention it. We woudln't of been so surprised if we were notified. We parked in the underneath parking which was pretty croweded during our stay. We had to put our luggage in a shopping cart and push it to our room. It was actually pretty funny and made a great picture. As we got upstairs we were greeted with torn out lighting fixtures and cans of paint lying in the hallways. There was dust everywhere from the sanding of the walls. The room was spacious, though we weren't greeted with the pineapple in our fridge. We tried getting a new room to no avail. Two days after our stay we were able to change rooms, that room had the pineapple and was a lot better. The next day as we were going out we found out the jeep we had rented and parked in the Whalers' parking structure was overflowing with water. We left the top of on our jeep and the pipeing had leeked into the jeep. Fortunately, for us the weather was hot enough and we parked the jeep outside the structure and it dried pretty fast. The Whaler is a convienient place to stay at if you want to be by the big resorts and the Whaler Village(a shopping mall) made up of great stores. Its also in close proximity to Lahaina where there are great restaurants and shopping as well. I recommend the trip to HANA! That is made the whole trip worth it! Hana is gorgeous. I would recommend for anybody to buy a book to familiarize yourself with the island and available activities. Hawaii is a wonderful gettaway!

11  Thank MyrnaD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

6/21/14

Aloha guests,

We want to acknowledge every past guest opinion & review.
Please note the date on the review; as outdated reviews may not apply any longer. In 2012, The Whaler completed over $30 million dollars and years of renovation. Our resort is in great shape and looks beautiful not to mention the perfect location.

Further, the use of interior room standards based upon AAA – 3 to 5 diamond guidelines, Aston at The Whaler recently earned a 3 diamond rating. This means the “in-house” rental program for the property maintains a level of consistency with cleanliness, interior quality, and guest service. In 2013, our internal guest satisfaction score was an annual average of 94.2% completely satisfied, and our rating on tripadvisor went from #26 to #8.

We realize that you have a choice in accommodations, and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Mahalo nui loa, Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
1-866-321-2799

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
314
Reviewed January 12, 2005

After hours of research on the web, we chose Whaler for our honeymoon (July 2004) and it was perfect!
We requested for the highest floor possible and was given exactly what we asked for. We have noted that this trip was our honeymoon trip on our reservation and we were surprised with champagne, chocolate, and Hawaii pineapple, free, in our fridge!
We saved A LOT of money by having breakfast and cooking some meals in our studio.
Our studio was a little bit dated but very clean. The maid had done a great job cleaning it (especially all the dishes we left behind after breakfast/lunch) every day.
The Whaler is so close to the beach that we could hear the sound of the wave each night and that was just so relaxing...
The only complaint we had was, after paying $7 per day for the parking, we found the parking full one night when we came back around 9-10pm. Luckily, the hotel staff said we could park at the guest parking (there are about 5 right outside of the hotel lobby) and there was 1 left.
We are very looking forward to go back to Maui again and will definitely stay in the Whaler for sure.
By the way, remember to stop by Walmart and purchase all the water and basic stuff you need. It's quite expensive elsewhere. For food, Safeway is cheaper.
One more thing, buy the Maui Revealed book, it will help you A LOT on planning your trip (except the dining section which is not too helpful)!

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Springfield, Ohio
213
Reviewed December 30, 2004

We stayed at the Whaler for the 2nd half of our honeymoon from December 16-22nd. We were in Tower 2, and booked through AAA/Pleasant Holidays. The first room they had us in was fairly outdated so we simply asked if they had any more updated rooms and they showed us a room on the 8th floor. It was a studio, completely re-done with a King-size Murphy bed in the wall, sofa, chair, and all the comforts of home. We had plenty of space for the 2 of us, they did offer us an upgrade to a 1 bed/bath for an extra 100/day, but seeing that is more of a hike than their original ticket price, we decided the studio was the perfect fit. We overlooked Whaler's village, but also had a view of the ocean and mountains and the perfect sunsets (the same view all units have). We stopped at k-mart by the airport and got breakfast and lunch food and went out for dinner each night. The beach area right out in front of the Whaler was great as well, it never seemed as crowded as the areas in front of the large resorts. It was a honeymoon to remember and we would definitely stay at the Whaler again.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2004

6  Thank OhioCrnQun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Stockton, CA
15
Reviewed December 18, 2004

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $305 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing