We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake Arrowhead, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Great location on Kaanapali Beach, one of the top rated beaches in the world. Helpful, friendly staff. Walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. Fantastic views. Comfortable, well decorated condos. Many beach activities, snorkeling at Black Rock, surfing, paddle boarding. The Whaler is our favorite place away from home.

Room Tip: We come and visit once a year. We prefer the inner courtyard area. The beach views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    330
    71
    40
    16
See reviews for
299
531
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at The Whaler from March 22-29. It was not our first visit to Maui--or to Kaanapali Beach--but we thought it would be nice to rent a condo in a location we loved. And it was. The Whaler is located next to the Whalers Village shopping/dining mecca, and it was an easy walk whenever we decided we needed something from the ABC convenience store or if we wanted to dine out instead of cooking in our unit or at one of the Whalers outdoor grills. An early morning walk was a great way to start the day, and we could easily snorkel from the beach just beyond the walkway (we walked down to Black Rock to really get up-close and personal with the fishes and sea turtles).

When we arrived at the condo we were told we'd been given and upgrade, and we were beyond thrilled to find a lovely studio condo with gorgeous finishes in Tower 1. Our condo overlooked the courtyard with its koi pond and lovely manicured lawn. We also had a perfect view of the ocean for watching whales.

Our condo featured granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances and a gorgeous tiled shower. I think my favorite feature was the walk-in closet. There was plenty of room for all of our clothing and beach gear to easily keep the condo tidy.

The Whaler condo was very quiet--we did not hear any noise from the units around us, and we did not notice if there was any noise from the pool area.

The housekeeping staff did a beautiful job and promptly responded to any request we had throughout the week.

We began talking about our return trip to Maui (and The Whaler) before we had even checked out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bee_and_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

March 24th- March 31st
The Hotel/Condo:The grounds were imaculate, the front desk people and concierge were very helpful and made us feel at home. This place was situated in prime location, near everything you need to enjoy your trip. I found it extremely quiet, would recommend it for seniors, people with small children and people who enjoy the quietness and aren't there to party.Ireally Loved the pathway that took us to Whaler's Village and all the other hotels and Starbuck's. Such a great location.
Rooms: On the first night we were placed in room 370, which although it was big and had a great murphy bed for the kids, was very outdated. I had written them with requests and at that point none were met. However, the second night we were moved to the top floor 1274. This room was renovated, had a great wrap around balcony, we could see the ocean, golf course and Whaler's village, beautiful! The kitchen had all the amenities and everything worked perfectly. The pull out couch was a little uncomfortable as to be expected..the bed was also quite firm. We had a cot brought in and some sponges for the beds.
The Ocean: Beautiful sandy beaches, the water was fabulous. The waves were farely small on the first few days, but got pretty big on the last couple days. Actually had to get an ambulance to take someone who dislocated his shoulder on a big wave..
Shopping: We took the bus from Whaler's village, which came every hour on the hour and took it to the safeway about a 10 min. bus ride to Lahaina. We had a vehicle for a few days and just drove there for our bigger shops.
Excursions or things to do: We went to the Old Lahaina Lu'au, amazing would totally recommend this Lu'au. Very Authentic. We were on a waiting list and were called the next day to take someone's spot. My daughters did surfing lessons with Maui Surfer Girls, they loved it and the trainers were fabulous. We went up to the volcanoe, which was not a great idea as it rained and was foggy, so we didn't see too much. Check the weather up there before driving up the long and winding road...otherwise it's a waist of time.
Negatives: We needed the room for an extra 6 hours and were charged 200.00, initially were going to charge us $260.00. Everything in Maui is pricey..Besides that everything else was great!
All in all, fabulous trip, loved the restaurants and would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Up high with a wrap around balcony. Building 2 facing the garden was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, IL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Our family of four stayed at The Whaler for spring break in 2014. We had a one bedroom, two bath unit. There was a king size bed in the bedroom, and a pullout couch in the living area of the condo. There was a full kitchen in the condo, which was great for making occasional meals to help save money vs. going out to eat. We bought some groceries at the Safeway in Lahaina and having a full size refrigerator came in handy (note; bring our Safeway savers card on your trip to save some significant money there). The condo (474) was located on the 4th floor in Tower II (the south tower closer to Whalers Village) and looked out over the courtyard area between the two towers. Our unit was furthest away from the ocean, but the view from our lanai was still great, providing views of the ocean and the mountains.

On the plus side:
1. The buildings, while a little older, were recently renovated on the outside, and everything was in very good shape. Our unit itself was in good shape, the kitchen and bathrooms were recently renovated.
2. Having two bathrooms, which were identical, was great for a family of four. No fighting over one bathroom.
3. Very nice kitchen facility.
4. The king size bed in the bedroom was comfortable.
5. The air conditioning system worked well for sleeping at night.
6. There was not much noise coming from any of the other units, generally very quiet.
7. The pool, hot tub, and other outside areas were very nice.
8. The lanai was very large, and since we had an end unit, wrapped around the outside of the building. Very nice to sit out there and eat breakfast or just read a book.
9. Two televisions in the unit, although we didn't watch them much (hey, you're in Hawaii).
10. Two tennis courts, with complementary rackets and balls available at the front desk. Courts were in nice shape and had a fence between them to cut down on chasing balls all over.
11. Daily maid service. As a condo, you normally don't get this service, but since this rental was handled by Aston, this was provided and it was always nice to come back to a clean condo.
12. Service: Everyone we ran into from the Aston was nice and helpful. We had an issue with one of the TVs working, and someone came up in five minutes and fixed the problem quickly and with a great attitude.

On the downside:
1. The kids weren't thrilled to have to sleep on the sleeper sofa. One ended up sleeping on the couch (without the bed pulled out) and the other slept on the floor on some foam pads we ended up buying. They didn't complain too much (hey, you're in Hawaii).
2. The parking lot under the buildings filled up quickly at night. During the day you can find parking, but at night it would get full. There were a couple of other outdoor parking lots about a 3-5 minute walk away from the building, not a big deal.

The plusses definitely outweighed the minuses and we had so much more room to spread out and relax vs. a hotel. We booked the Whaler as part of an American Airlines package, and as such this seemed to save a significant amount of money vs. booking direct with Aston.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisleFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

This was our third trip to the Whaler and as always our accommodations were perfect! Friendly staff, the Koi pond,
Whale watching on the lanai was a highlight this trip. Location could not be better just perfect!
Love everything about it! Mahalo!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pchez65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
381 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just got back yesterday from my 23rd trip to Maui, and I fell very fortunate for that. Hawaii is a magical place, most of the hotels and resorts try to create their own magic that isn't Hawaiian, but their take on it. The Whaler is Hawaiian, I think it's 80% owned, and 20% rental hotel units. The best units are owned by either Interval owners or full ownership. Both rent out the units, and having stayed here multiple times Tower 2, facing the pool/gardens/coy ponds, and black rock is the best spot to be.

They put in new grills this year, the grills work a little better, but don't have a thermostat so you have to work a little harder to get your meat cooked just right.

This is one of the few locations in all of Maui where you can do and experience just about everything and you won't need a car! If you have done the road to Hana and Haleakalā, skip the car. Inexpensive bus to both the Cannery Mall (Safeway grocery store), and downtown Lahaina. You can walk to everything else you will need to do. Snorkeling at Black Rock is amazing, two years in a row of seeing lots of Sea Turtles, and I always see lots of great Hawaiian reef fish. Good shopping next door at the Whalers Village, plenty of restaurants up and down the beach, golf across the street, and easy to get to Lahaina by bus for all of the other things you may want to do. Sunsets are amazing from this location, and you can easily ride the bus to town center.

When I have stayed at other locations, they aren't relaxing, to many new people that have never been to Hawaii, to pretentious, to caught up in trying to show off, or be something they aren't. I'd visit LA or New York if that was what I wanted in a vacation. I want to relax, and the Whaler on Kaanapali Beach is the best place to do that. Family friendly, nice pool, and great beach location.

Only negative is that I contacted the unit owner I was in this year about renting the same unit for next year, and it's booked up already.

Best time to visit: Last two weeks of March (The rainy season has just ended, and the Whales are still around).

Room Tip: Tower II facing Black Rock, it's worth the extra $$$$ if you are going to be in your unit much o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mspreh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

As a long time owner of a month at The Whaler (40 years), I hate that Aston has inserted their name and have marketed my favourite place in the world as a 'hotel'.

That being said, The Whaler is one of the most gorgeous and spectacular locations in the world.

Upgrades have been awesome and the buildings are in tip top shape.

P.S. You're welcome Aston. My condo fees helped pay for it all. Never got a thank you card and you certainly treat us time-share owners as more of a nuisance these days. Tried to rent a few weeks out this year and you were less than helpful. Actually, worse. Wouldn't even try.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Property: Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Vacatia, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing