We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel was a great choice. I went to Maui with my mother in November and we had some specific needs for our hotel choice ( lots of space/full kitchen/good location). The Whaler met all of them. This property has a very homey feel to it seeing as how it's also a condo and many call it home.

Its location is wonderful. Only about a half hour drive from the airport and right in the middle of "resort row" I like to call it. You are right beside Whalers village which is perfect for picking up little things you might need and some great food choices. There's excellent, higher end shopping and free shows at the mall pretty much every night. You're also right in the middle of a beach walk that'll take you all the way up Kaanapali beach.

The property itself is lovely, beautifully maintained and clean. The two towers are very well kept and quick elevators I might add.

We had room 419, a one bedroom suite with a FANTASTIC view of both the courtyard and the beach. It has a huge balcony with a lounger and multiple tables/chairs. The suite itself was very clean and well furnished. We loved having a full kitchen so we could prepare some of our own meals and save a little money.

Staff was very friendly although there was a concern. On two different occasions returning to the room and discovering my key didn't work, I headed for the front desk. Both employees (whom I had never interacted with before) just handed over a key without asking for ID or any information besides my room number. I work in a hotel and we have safety procedures around issuing new keys. I found it a little concerning that someone could potentially gain access to my room simply by asking for a key. It's a small thing but something that did bother me a little.

Lastly, it was great to have a little beach hut on the property where you can get beach umbrellas/loungers/chairs etc.. I was a little disappointed at how much it was just to rent a piece of equipment for a couple hours.

Overall though, great trip! Friendly staff, beautiful property and fantastic location! Would definitely return.

Room Tip: rooms facing courtyard are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krista D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    343
    73
    42
    17
See reviews for
315
567
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were in a two bedroom suite on the ground floor. The kids had a lot more space to play in the morning, with 5 lanais that all connect and lead out to a big grass area. Every morning at 8:30am, the kids got to participate in the Koi feeding right outside our unit. We were also right next door to Whalers Village shopping center, which was very convenient. We were also very walking distance to Black Rock, where I took the kids snorkeling every day. Our unit was perfect. It was "fully loaded" with all the comforts of home, including washer/dryer in the unit, and a full kitchen. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffreyvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed on the 10th floor in tower 2 - a studio. It wasn't the most recently refurbished unit, but it was comfortable, and oh so close to the ocean! I never closed the lanai doors the entire 6 days I was there. The kitchen was fully equipped, and a problem (no hot water, actually no water at all) was fixed within 10 minutes of my call. I would definitely return to the Aston at the Whaler!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view, IMHO!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sk888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome , until you walk around the other hotels. Their rooms are great like apartment with an kitchen, bedroom, and living room sort, and their pool is about the size of 10 cars. The beach is right next to the hotel so you can just walk over there, I would suggest going down the beach if you want to surf or bogie board. There are two towers and beach towel cards that you redeem for beach towels and when you are done with it you give it to front desk or the booth next to the swimming pool. It also is next to a golf course, so if you like golfing go there! And if you don't like noisy waves when you sleep, this is the perfect place for you.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Funpercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is wonderful. We are in room 464 and have a lovely view of the ocean and the courtyard. The room has been very nicely renovated and is comfortable for the 2 of us. Pool, hot tub area, and grounds are well kept. There are two BBQ areas and they are fantastic.

Downsides, the housekeeping service could be a bit better. We left a couple notes regarding coffee and sugar in the room but they were not acted on. They Missed cleaning our room one day and left a note under the door indicating service is between 10-330. Although we were out of the room by noon that day.

Otherwise the stay has been great. We would return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank McAnthony25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights after reading positive Trip Advisor reviews. We were given a 1 bdrm condo on the 2nd floor in tower 1 (condo 219).
It was located right next to the lifts so we heard the lifts going up and down all day and most of the night. The condo was very overpriced for what it was given the condition. Stained carpets & curtains that really need replacing, terrible sofa bed, cuboard full of clutter, broken light fixtures and wardrobe doors, wiring hanging out of the airconditioning and hot water coming out of the cold tap in the bathroom.
The condo's are advertised as luxury condo's and the pictures on the website show a nicely furnished, updated condo. Our condo certainly was no where near this standard and I have added some photos to show this.
We were also charged $12 per day to park our hire car which was the only place we stayed that charged this.
Don't hire the snorkel equipment here as it is a rip off. (you are paying for the convienience) We hired 2 sets of snorkel equipment from The Snorkel Store at the Fairway shops a couple of minutes away. The equipment was much better quality with great service including advice and maps for the best snorkelling at half the price.
If you want to hire a paddle board, there is a place between the Sheraton and The Whaler which is $10 cheaper per hour than the Whaler charges.
On the positive side, the staff are lovely, the gardens are well manicured, the property is well located next to Whalers Village and we had a great view to the ocean from the lanai/balcony despite booking a garden view. We were also given a delicious pinapple and cakes on the second day which was a very nice gesture.
Kaanapali Beach is beautiful and we snorkelled by Black Rock each day seeing sea turles and many different fish.
If you have a car, it is definately worth a drive to Napilli Beach for lunch at the Seahouse Restaurant and Merrimans a bit further along near the Ritz Carlton is also amazing!
This place certainly has positives, but it is very overpriced for what it is and being a special trip for my 40th birthday I was quite dissapointed.
We stayed in superior condo's both in Oahu and Kauai that were on the beach with ocean views and half the price of the Whaler, so I think better value for money could be found elsewhere or pay a little extra and stay at the Ritz Carlton

Room Tip: Ask to view your condo first to ensure you are happy with what you are paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jloPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at The Whaler for 5 days and loved it. The view from the condo was amazing, and gardens were very well kept. The resorts along Kaanapali Beach have been very well designed and spaced out, so we did not feel cramped at all.

The condo was clean, well stocked, balcony was large overlooking the ocean, and was also spacious with kitchen, bedroom, living room and 2 bathrooms. The hotel has a pool - this is not large, but is adequate. The hotel does not have a restaurant or room service, however it is located next to Whalers Village where there are plenty of great restaurants and an ABC store for some groceries.The public bus is also available to Lahania which is a lovely place to explore. The staff were also very helpful.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Depending if you want sun shining into your condo, select an apartment accordingly. As we had a youn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,074 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#15 of 32 in Lahaina
2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,030 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Property: Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing