We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view, great location”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a friend's wedding and had a wonderful time. When the front desk found out it was our first time in Hawaii they upgraded us to a gorgeous ocean view room. The staff was very helpful and friendly throughout. The location is great, we went snorkeling at Black Rock almost every morning and there were lots of great restaurants around. Just a short drive into Lahaina and if we go again we might try to rent bikes for the week so we could bike into Lahaina. Loved the walking path out front of the hotels to walk up and down the beach, check out the other hotels and restaurants. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    342
    73
    42
    17
See reviews for
313
565
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked through Aston and could only reserve a 1 bedroom, 2 bath for our family. Upon arriving we asked if any 2 bedrooms had become available. Several had. We were able to walk through each and compare. All were nicely appointed, just a matter of location. We upgraded to a courtside oceanview on the 7th floor of Tower 2. What a pleasure to stay in. Views of Ka'anapali Beach and the mountainside. Huge bedrooms, fully supplied & updated kitchen, daily housekeeping, spacious wraparound lanai to watch sunrises & sunsets. The grounds are well kept. A landscaper was maintaining the large koi pond almost every morning we were there. Pool is small compared to nearby hotels but the beach is only steps away. We shopped for groceries at Safeway just down the road and ate at restaurants in the Whaler's Village next to the Aston. The Village gets loud & lively with music echoing through the evening. Tower 2 is far enough away we weren't bothered by it. During the day our condo area was quiet and low-key. We had the good fortune of a week of lovely weather after a cloudy & rainy during stay in Oahu. Highly recommend the Whaler for beach, location and quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha nui,
When you reserve a room with Aston, one of the best features is flexibility. Everyone seems to have a favorite location within the two towers. We appreciate your great review as you summed up the property well: great beach, perfect location and quality units.
Come back soon for another memorable visit.
Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We attended a family wedding in Maui after visiting 6 other places if which other familiy members stayed at by far the Whaler was the nicest. My sister paid 50% more than we did for a unit that was a total dump. The whaler is very modern and classy

Room Tip: 661 great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terralee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Wow, what an awesome condo! We have two couples staying in unit #1152; absolutely gorgeous!! This is a two bedroom, two bathroom condo with a fully equipped open kitchen, dining-room and living-room. It is an oceanfront condo which wraps around with a mountain view also, and looks toward Black Rock. It has sliding doors to the wrap around lanai from all rooms; the dining-room, two from the living-room, and one from each bedroom. The lanai has two small tables, with 8 chairs, 2 stools, and two lounge chairs. There are also beach chairs and boogie boards on the deck for use by the occupants. The unit has a washer and dryer in the master bathroom, which has come in handy. We have enjoyed watching whales right from the lanai throughout every day. We also had a school of dolphins playing right in front where we were able to get pictures. Words just do not describe the true beauty of this place. This is our fourth trip to Maui, staying at the Westin, the Sheraton and Royal Laihaina the past three times, but any future trip we will definitely request this unit. To us it is much more beautiful than any we have stayed in, and all were ocean view or oceanfront. The Whaler has two buildings, I believe all units are individually owned and rented out; I found ours via VRBO. There is a pool and hot tub, as well as a concierge on site, an exercise room, and you are directly on Kaanapali Beach. We girls had massages at their spa, which is an Aveda spa. It is a small intimate spa on the bottom floor of building 2. The therapists we had were absolutely wonderful. It was recommended that we use the Hyatt's Spa, but decided to try the one here, and we're glad we did. We all highly recommend staying at the Whaler (based on the condo we have), and also using their spa facilities.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank RoxieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Recently stayed in a studio unit at The Whaler on Ka'anapali Beach. While paying for an *ocean view* unit, in reality the view was of a tiny -- and I mean TINY -- slip of ocean. Located on the north side of the north building, the unit's lanai opened to a small expanse of grass, while down toward the beach were located stainless steel barbecue grills. To see the ocean, I had to literally walk outside off the lanai and onto the grass and then turn to face the ocean. Definitely felt that what I paid was not as advertised. The unit itself was nicely furnished, with a comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. The kitchen was well-appointed. An odd little room off the kitchen contained opened cans of paint, beach chairs and various odds and ends. I should have returned to the front desk and complained, but our stay was brief so we just made the best of it.

Room Tip: Be careful when booking an *ocean view* room. There is a big difference between ocean view and ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pilotgirl310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have visiting Maui and staying at The Whaler for more than 20 years! It is just perfect in so many ways. The condos are huge! The beach is right in front of the condos. It is so easy to walk up and down the broadwalk to great restaurants. The prices for the condos are just a steal!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the courtyard with ocean view or ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ottawa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha Kakou,
The Whaler owners and guests are some of the most loyal groups I have ever seen. Yes the condos are great and the location unmatched; but it is truly the great staff and wonderful owners and guests who make the difference.
A hui hou,
Hal
Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

First 2 weeks of March at the Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, Maui. We've stayed here many times over the years. We usually rent through Aston but this year they didn't have available any of the rooms we like so we rented from owner. It is less expensive but with Aston you get daily maid service and a little more attention from management. Sit on the lanai (veranda) and watch the humpbacks sport in the ocean in front of the condos. Place is getting a little dated but the owners keep the maintenence up. A wonderful place to spend a few weeks. I didn't want to come home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank west21high
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha,
The whales are one of the many reasons that make Maui and The Whaler are so special. I was sad to hear that Aston did not have a unit available for you, but glad to know you found alternative accommodations. Although Aston might be a little more in price, I hope you will find the cleaning and management team were there to support your visit. Please come back next year to see more whales and improvements. The next project is the new furniture and décor for the lobby.
Mahalo,
Hal
Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,512 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,004 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Property: Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing