We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Whaler - We love you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huntington Beach Ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Whaler - We love you”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had never stayed at this property before and was not sure what to expect. My husband and I were delighted by the staff. A special thank you goes out to the general manager for having the true Aloha spirit. We couldn't tear ourselves away from Maui this trip and I extended our stay another 8 days. The hotel was totally booked and the manager went out of his way to try to find a room for the extra days we were to stay. The staff is wonderful and I feel they reflect the managers pride in the hotel/condo. From the bellman, pool people to the front desk they were all wonderful. All I asked for was a lanai to watch whales from and good weather and Hal gave us a great place to call home for our visit. Can't say enough about our visit here. We shopped till we dropped next door at the Whaler Village shopping center, went whale watching every other day and in between we went to the beach. Won't stay any other place except here for all future visits. Thank you so much - you know who you are : )

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view, great beach and shopping next door. Who could ask for more?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebZisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha Nui,
In Hawaii, “ohana” means “family” and one of the first values kamaaina (locals) understand is appreciation. Maui is one of the most special places in the world because of people, culture and beauty and when you make an effort to connect with others with shared values you become a part of our ohana. Thank you for recognizing how much we appreciate our guests; your review is a wonderful gift.
A hui hou!
Hal
Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    332
    72
    41
    16
See reviews for
302
539
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Craig, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I just returned from possibly the best 9 nights of our life spent at the Whaler. We absolutely loved the unit we got. We booked from Travelocity, so you never know what you will get. But our unit was remodeled and very modern with SS appliances and a great bed. By booking with Travelocity, we got daily maid service which was real nice.

One of the best parts of the Whaler is the people. Amy is so kind behind the front desk, as our the bellboys and girls at the beach hut. Everyone seems to enjoy their job. Upper management seems to be doing a GREAT job.
The weight room is bigger than most hotel gyms and worked fine for the week. The recent remodel is really nice and the courtyard is beautiful. This is the second time we have stayed here and everything has really improved.
But location is the number one reason we stay here. Great restaurants next door, Whalers Village, Black rock to snorkel, a nice beackwalk path.. We just love it and we are planning a trip back to the Whaler for next year.

The recent remodel is really nice and the courtyard is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1coloradodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha!
I always envision the Whaler as a home away from home. Home because of the spirit of service. The units are charming and location amazing; but as you said, it is the people who make the difference. Can’t wait to see you – come home soon!
Mahalo,
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my husbands and my first trip to Hawaii. We were impresses with the location and the room was beautiful and updated. We had mentioned that it was our anniversary when booking and were greated with sparkling wine and treats! Very good service and a two for one luau ticket. The pool is very simple and the hot tub was not working the last couple days which were the cooler cloudy days, so would have been nice. But it did not hamper our visit to the Whaler, we loved our room and the staff are excellent! We are ocean people and spent our time in there. Great restaurants and shopping near by, close to excursions and the housekeeping is excellent. We would go back and would want that room again!!

Room Tip: Ocean view or partial ocean view. Higher the floor more to see whales etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha,
We recognize our guests have the options to stay anywhere. Thank you for your great review. Your kind words inspire my team and I to strive to become the best we can be and in turn, we hope you leave inspired too.
Safe travels!
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We booked a 1 bedroom apartment with a garden view at the Whaler and thought that that is what we would get. Instead we got a room on the ground floor facing the back and some trees. The room was very tired looking and needed refurbishment and because of the trees and the position it faced was in darkness all day long. One goes to Hawaii to get a bit of sun but this room didnt receive any sunlight all day long. We had to turn on the lights if we came in even in the middle of the day. I had booked this 3 months previously so it wasnt a last minute booking and having to take whatever room was still available.
When we complained to the desk the receptionist there was not very helpful and all she could say was that it was fully booked and that was that.
we were offered a room a couple of floors higher but were told that we would have to pay $150 a day extra, which we declined. we asked a number of times if we could change but were always given the same answer.
As for the other amenities, the position was great just next to the other hotels and cafes and next to the Whalers shopping plaza. However, the amenities could have been better, the pool was small and crowded especially compared to the other hotels nearby and nit very welcoming, and there was no cafe or bar there that could serve anything , we had to leave the premises to get something.
I would not recommend this as an ideal place to stay in this part of the island

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jokerana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha,
We recognize our guests have the options to stay anywhere. Thank you for your great review. Your kind words inspire my team and I to strive to become the best we can be and in turn, we hope you leave inspired too.
Safe travels!
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently stayed at unit 359 in the Aston at the Whaler for 9 nights This is our 3rd stay here since 2007 but the first time since they became an Aston Hotel. We love the location especially being so close to many great restaurants and a really nice beach and the beach walk. It is also one of the few hotels in this area that have condo units with full kitchens. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. We did find a couple of things that we didn't like and the major one was the bed. We had a one bedroom unit with a king size bed. After the first night we realized that we were not going to get much sleep on it as it was like sleeping on cement. We asked at the front desk if we could get a mattress topper to help soften it up and they had one on the bed within a couple of hours. This helped somewhat but the bed was still really hard. We have slept in a lot of hotel rooms and I have to say this was one of the worst beds I have had in a very long time! The other thing that was disappointing was how long it took to get any hot water in the bathroom sink. I don't like to waste water but sometimes it took several minutes of running the water before the water even turned warm. For the most part our stay was enjoyable and if there was improvement in the beds I would certainly not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Whaler. Your comments are valued. Here is what we are doing to improve the areas mentioned above: mattress options need to be available. If we cannot move you to another room and the mattress does not work for you then I will find a way to get a new mattress to you. Second, through research, I learned the older building did not accommodate for plumbing recirculation pumps. Therefore, we have to wait for hot water. We are reviewing to see if this can be changed. A great vacation experience should not be compromised at the expense of a good night sleep. Please come visit us again so we can show you our improvements.
Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice low key experience. Have been coming back to the Whaler for the past 10 years. The best location on Maui with little rain (Kapalua seems to have alot of rain) less wind than Kapalua and the best beach on Maui. If you are looking for a grand hotel experience then this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a nice, clean, and low key stay then this is the place. Great location,condo living is great (can stay in and cook your own meal and sit out on the lanai under the stars and have a great diner. Nothing is better than that) We have been coming to Maui for over 20 years and you do get tired of all of the restaurant food. New grounds look nice, new facelift of the buildings look nice, pool is small but adequate. I would rather be in the ocean surfing anyway. Staff has always been friendly and helpful. The Whaler shopping center is right next door, for a quick bite to eat or some shopping. We will be coming back until we are no longer traveling to the islands, because we will be living here.

Room Tip: all rooms are different, so you have to be careful. Some rooms do need to be upgraded. West tower is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noreway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for the great review! Everything you said is true. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic holiday (8 days) at the Whaler. The property and room did not disappoint. Initially was worried about booking a studio but found it more than spacious enough for my husband and myself. Comfortable king-size bed and more than adequate and updated full kitchen/bathroom. Wonderful ocean view from room and balcony unlike some properties who promise this but you need binoculars to see! Bex at check-in was extremely pleasant and efficient and everything went smoothly. My only complaint is the guests at all resorts, the Whaler's guests being no exception, who selfishly put out towels on limited chairs by the pool then leave them unused for hours. I think all hotels should regulate this, including the Whaler. All in all, a fantastic get-a-way. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCTravels4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha,
We are so happy to hear you loved the Whaler. Our staff strives to provide exceptional experience. Your comment on the pool chair availability resulted in hiring someone to help monitor guidelines at the pool. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Property: Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - Any new reservations booked for travel June 1, 2017 and beyond, will be subject to a resort fee of $20.00 plus tax per day. - Any reservations booked prior to April 1, 2017 will be honored at the existing resort fee of $16.00 plus tax per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing